We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Kingsway, Cardiff CF10 3HH Wales
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Hilton Honors Discount
Hotels.com
$149
View deal
Booking.com
$148
View deal
Trip.com
$198
$106
View deal
Expedia.com$149
Lol.travel
ZenHotels.com$198
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (907)
Room & Suite (414)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 07/21/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hilton Cardiff
Updated 07/21/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#15 of 75 hotels in Cardiff
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Hilton Cardiff is an excellent choice for travelers visiting Cardiff, offering a luxury environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay. The Hilton Cardiff Hotel offers guests an array of room amenities including a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a refrigerator, and free internet access. The hotel offers a 24 hour front desk, a concierge, and room service, to make your visit even more pleasant. The property also features a pool, health club and a lounge. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to parking. Nearby landmarks such as Motorpoint Arena Cardiff and Swalec Stadium make Cardiff Hilton a great place to stay when visiting Cardiff. Many of the popular attractions within walking distance from the hotel. Families can follow the dedicated trail at Cardiff Castle and meet some of the characters that have made the 2,000-year-old castle their home or head to the National Museum to witness historical beings. Then, catch an exciting pantomime show at The New Theatre before retiring to the comfort of our large family rooms. Host your wedding, birthday, baby shower or other social event with us and our moment makers will make sure it’s one to remember. Whatever your purpose for visiting is… we look forward to welcoming you!
Read more
Room & Suite (414)414
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Nightclub / DJ
Kids stay free
Business Center with Internet Access
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Iron
Laptop safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian
Hotel links
Special Offer:Hilton Honors Discount
4096Reviews48Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,954
  • 1,222
  • 547
  • 228
  • 145
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
a a wrote a review Jun 20
1 contribution
On the face of it, it was reasonable - clean bathroom, adequate bed, breakfast ok; but scratch below the surface and you can see that Hilton are using "covid" as an excuse to cut corners and save money, without any reduction of your bill. Let's start however with parking - you have to pay a criminal £23 a day to park your car in the tiny car park around the corner. My friend who checked in the same weekend, was charged £15; they couldn't explain why when I found out and asked for a refund of the difference which was refused. Then it came to check-in, and I had to tell them in advance, exactly what time I wanted to check in for breakfast for the following three days; I'm on holiday so would rather come down when it suits me, not have to stick to schedule like I'm at school. Then when you're in (my friend was told off like a child for being 30 mins late), they had a pathetic system where you had to queue up for 10 mins to get someone to pass you a piece of fruit or a glass of juice, all dressed up as covid protocols. Ridiculous and unnecessary. Let's go back to the room. First, they tell us they weren't going to clean our rooms of give us fresh towels unless we ask. All for our own safety of course. Nothing to do with them saving money. And in the room, no complimentary bottle of water (the tap water is not cold enough to want to drink), no notepaper...nothing of the little things that for the price and status of a Hilton should be non-negotiable. The TV had a really poor quality (blurry screen on BBC1); the same for all our group across 8 different rooms so it wasn't just us - and only 5 channels which in this day age is very poor. The wifi only worked half the time we were there (4 days), just turning itself off at random. Used the gym facilities; again adequate on the face of it, but little things like the water in the showers being cold combined with having to pre-book slots (for covid, obviously!) made it unenjoyable. I was asked to get out of the pool after 50 minutes despite it being completely empty otherwise. Another thing that was most disappointing was the decision to shut the bar at midnight; since we were a large group on a reunion, we wanted to have a drink after we'd been out to dinner. There is no law saying they have to shut at midnight, so yet another made up covid rule (for our safety again I presume), that they've implemented to help hinder their own pandemic recovery. It felt at times like a prison with rules and schedules to follow, more than an expensive hotel chain. If they are going to cut services, and combine that with inventing, implementing & enforcing these needless covid rules & protocols that are not compulsory by law or government, they have to offer some sort of reduction in the price, or advertise pre-booking. Just by making our stay less enjoyable, comfortable or convenient under the guise that they are making all these cuts and savings "for our own health and safety" is an insult, and I would not recommend anyone use this hotel until such time as they go back to the pre-pandemic levels of service and comfort that one should expect from Hilton.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Marie Fagan , General Manager at Hilton Cardiff
Responded today
Dear Sir or Madam, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. I do sincerely appreciate your feedback and I am so very sorry you were unhappy with your visit on this occasion. I will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience and thank you for bringing this to our attention. I do hope you will consider staying with us in the future. Kind regards Marie Fagan General Manager
Read more
Martin wrote a review Nov 2020
Whitland, United Kingdom412 contributions184 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Have stayed many times over the years, and as a gold member, have never failed to be treated well and upgraded each time. The hotel is in a great location for Cardiff, and I’ve always found to be great value for myself and family whenever we’ve stayed. This review is for last week, staying under the strict covid rules in place, and that curtailed a lot of normal services. Hence I was a little Anxious to see how safe the hotel would be in such times, but I was reassured completely by the segregation throughout, adherence to masks and hand sanitisation throughout public areas, and the cleaning regime in each room, including the seal on a fresh room. The usual help yourself breakfast buffet replaced with a served breakfast, naturally to minimise contact by guests. I’d have no hesitation recommending a stay during such troublesome times, the compliance is excellent in trying to prevent any spread of Covid, or other such nasties! Have to close with a note. Just read a comical review from someone who stayed also recently and apparently rang switchboard for 4 hours. Assuming this to be correct (they’ve answered within minutes anytime I’ve called from the room!) I cannot fathom what level of awkward customer you have to be to wait 4 hours to speak on the phone to reception, when it’s just a minutes elevator ride away?
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marie Fagan , General Manager at Hilton Cardiff
Responded Nov 25, 2020
Dear Mr Howells, Thank you so much for your wonderful review and our pleasure to welcome you back as a Gold Hilton Honor member. A big thank you for your recommendation of the hotel and I am delighted you had another great visit. Please do come back again soon. Kind regards Marie Fagan General Manager
Read more
MrHandBaggageOnly wrote a review Jun 20
Stroud, United Kingdom429 contributions205 helpful votes
I’ve heard many good things about the Cardiff Hilton but this was the first time I had stayed here myself. Check-in was smooth and our status recognised and complimentary water handed over to use at that point. Our room was on the third floor and had no view to speak of (although we weren’t there for the view), but it was a decent size which had plenty of space around the bed. The bathroom was also a very good size with a separate bath and (good) shower. The hotel location is also very good, as you’re just steps away from the centre of town. Unfortunately that means parking is at a premium and expensive if you use the hotel’s option. We managed to find parking for £8 through Your Parking Space about a five minute walk away, so not too bad at all. My biggest problem was sound-proofing. Sometime after 2am the people in the neighbouring room returned and talked at such a volume it woke Mrs HBO up, then at 7am their phone alarm started going off, but given they must have been very tired it went off for several minutes, proving more effective at waking us up than the person it was intended for. Unfortunately the owner only snoozed the alarm so it then went off another three or four times for extended periods. Very frustrating, especially in a hotel that I consider to be ‘premium’ and therefore should have better sound-proofing between rooms. Given the cost of rooms at the Hilton it would not be my first choice of places to stay next time I was in Cardiff. If you’re fortunate enough to not have a noisy neighbour, I expect you’d have a very pleasant stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Marie Fagan , General Manager at Hilton Cardiff
Responded today
Dear Sir or Madam, Thank you for your review. I would like to say how very sorry I am for the noise disturbance during your stay and for the inconvenience caused. I do hope that you will consider visiting with us again in the future and please do not hesitate to contact us before your stay and we can update your reservation with your preference for a quiet bedroom. Please do come back again soon. Kind regards Marie Fagan General Manager
Read more
Pablo17 wrote a review Jun 20
England421 contributions108 helpful votes
Let me begin by saying that the hotel is in a great location at what I think is the better side of the city centre. However, this hotel is definitely not up to Hilton standards, as a diamond member it takes at least 30 stays or 60nights a year to qualify and having done that you do expect the loyalty to be reciprocated. Instead, you are told at check-in to pay your bill in full immediately and if you want to charge anything to your room you would have to re-open your card on account. I don't understand why this hotel is so different to others that just simply use the secured booking against your card that already exists and settle the car park and room charges on checkout as any decent hotel would? Then you are informed the lounge and the complementary nightly happy hour is no longer available and instead you are offered a miserly (house product only) single drink at the bar for the duration of your stay. They then try to justify their penurious attitude by suggesting that the room rates have been adjusted to reflect the reduced amenities. We now move on to the room, we were fortunate to have a junior suite but unfortunately this room has no storage space if you wished to unpack non hanging items, face towels are no longer provided so you need to bring your own as squirting the miniature shower gel into your hand during a shower is not what you expect to have to do in a 4-star hotel, also the quantity of gel is so small it does not last for 1 shower (I tried). The customary bath robe and slippers were not present, the pillows were so worn that when you placed your head in the middle the sides rose up and tried to smother you, finally there are only 5 Freeview channels on the tv and they occasionally loose signal. Now for the Breakfast, due to covid 19 things will have obviously changed so do not expect pancakes anymore nor should you expect a hot breakfast, the best it seems to hope for is a lukewarm full english and a hot cuppa. I foolishly ordered an omelette and the result was inedible, we used a local café on the 2nd day instead. The staff are polite and try to be accommodating but are limited to working within the constraints of what seems to be in my humble opinion an impoverished business. All in all, a thoroughly unpleasant experience from a brand we have come to love and respect.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: The premium for castle view rooms do not seem worthwhile
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Marie Fagan , General Manager at Hilton Cardiff
Responded today
Dear Sir or Madam, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your visit to Cardiff. It was very disappointing to read your comments and I am so very sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. This is certainly not indicative of our normal high standards of service and your feedback will be shared with the team. I do hope that you will consider visiting us again soon. Kind regards Marie Fagan General Manager
Read more
Richard K wrote a review Jun 19
57 contributions42 helpful votes
We stayed here for 2 nights last weeks. The location is so close to plenty of bars and restaurants and our room had a lovely view of the castle. The room itself was smart with an extremely comfy bed. I had a text a few times from the staff asking if they could do anything else to improve my stay. Not quite as good as the Waldorf Astoria in Edinburgh as they do that before you even check in, but a very nice touch nevertheless. The swimming pool was very nice and all managed in a covid safe way. We managed to book our slot online before we checked in. The breakfast was served by staff in a Buffett format which seems to be the norm at the moment. Plenty of choice and food very tasty. The bar on an evening had a very relaxed atmsophere, and on both evenings, although different staff, all of them were very welcoming and were a credit to the hotel and the Hilton brand. I would just like to express slight disappointment that the executive lounge wasn’t open, but that a side I couldn’t really fault this hotel. When other hotels are bumping their prices up, and the service has a lot a lot to be desired, the Hilton Cardiff seems to be certainly upholding there standards. Would certainly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Marie Fagan , General Manager at Hilton Cardiff
Responded today
Dear Richard, A big thank you for your review. I am delighted to read your wonderful feedback following your visit to Cardiff and I will share your wonderful comments with the team. Please do come back again soon. Kind regards Marie Fagan General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$115 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hilton cardiff hotel cardiff, hilton international cardiff, cardiff hilton international, cardiff hilton hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouth WalesCardiffCity Centre
NUMBER OF ROOMS
197
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hilton Cardiff
Which popular attractions are close to Hilton Cardiff?
Nearby attractions include Escape Reality (0.1 miles), The Bootlegger (0.2 miles), and Escape Rooms Cardiff (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hilton Cardiff?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hilton Cardiff?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hilton Cardiff?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Hilton Cardiff?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hilton Cardiff?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bigmoose Coffee Company, Brodies Coffee Co, and Pasture Cardiff.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hilton Cardiff?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Hilton Cardiff located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Cardiff.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hilton Cardiff?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hilton Cardiff offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hilton Cardiff?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Italian.