We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The St. David's Hotel

Show Prices
#17 of 75 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The St. David\\
The St. David's Hotel
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,492 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 3,464: English reviews
Treorchy, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

My daughter bought me a stay and spa day last week. First time for us to stay in this hotel. What a wounderful hotel, from the time we checked in until we left! The room we had was a suit which was fabulous with excellent views and Maldives's balcony. with a bath and walk in shower which I had requested...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise T
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Having stayed here on the 17/2/17 in any deluxe suite this was very poor state the carpets were stained shower was like a pool as water everywhere? Hotel has really gone down hill and needs major up dating ? Won't be returning at this cost of £300 per night

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fisherpro
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Don't get me wrong, it is a nice hotel in a fantastic area with lots to do very nearby. Not far from Cardiff bay train station at all. Even on the first floor the views are lovely. But I have to agree with the reviews on here. Incredibly dated and tired in my room. Broken tiles on the bathroom floor....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carly251016
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Have stayed here several times and now out of the hotels in Cardiff I have stayed in Cardiff (we have stayed at Park Plaza, Marriott, Jolyon’s Number 10,Jurys Inn, the Royal over the last few years) this would be our preferred choice. Rooms are comfortable (although not huge), and it is nice to be away from the main mayhem of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IncognitoJones
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I had great hopes for this hotel, and the view from the room was definitely met. Absolutely lovely view from the big windows, you cannot beat that. The location is nice, close to some restaurants and interesting buildings such as the parliament. Other than that, this is not really a five star hotel. Our room was spacious but run down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
London
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Pushing two single beds together and calling it a King room? I don't think so. To make matters worse, the inefficient AirCon meant I was unable to get temp below23c overnight - way too hot. Not worth the money.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gar1952
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I had heard that this was Wales' first 5* hotel, and had also read some reviews that suggested it had lost its way a little. Objectively, I decided to attend with an open mind. I'd stay again, and would consider paying ~£80 per night but don't agree this is a 5* property. It is however well located, with much to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jonathan H
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan H Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Your valuable feedback has been shared with the Front Office Manager to ensure that all trainees are supported at all times. I am sorry that the hotel did not quite meet your expectations and I would like to offer you my sincere apologies for your disappointment in...

Penpedairheol
Reviewed 1 week ago

Over priced bar, did not think it was as polished as some other luxury hotels. cheaper to walk to bars in the nearby bay as suggested by one member of staff. So we did. But didnt feel we got the luxury hotel experience by doing this. lovely views across the bay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kwieca
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kwieca Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry that you found our bar drinks to be expensive and that the hotel was not a luxurious as you would have liked, please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointment. I do hope you will not be deterred from returning to the hotel in the...

Cornwall
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely hotel with fantastic location. Great food selection in the restaurant. we had lovely weather so were able to eat out side overlooking the water. Rooms are large with huge windows to take in the view. Would totally recommend and will happily return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank afrobella
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear afrobella Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you are happy to recommend us. I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on another occasion. Kind regards Graeme Barclay General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hotel has changed much since I was there last. Staff very welcoming and smiley. Car park fee was a surprise..£15 on top of staying, unusual as car park is with the hotel. On top of a lovely day spent elsewhere having lunch and taking in the opera we got back fairly early about 8.30. Cocktail in a quiet bar at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria W
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Victoria W Thank you for your review. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfall in cleanliness you experienced and also the wait for breakfast your comments have been shared with the housekeeping and restaurant departments to action accordingly. On a more positive note I am very pleased that you found my team to be welcoming and that you...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,423 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1169)
Viewed
View from Room (138)
Viewed
Room/Suite (197)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (191)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (570)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (248)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Bedroom (48)
Viewed
Executive Master Suite (72)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.6 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 75 in Cardiff
2,073 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 75 in Cardiff
2,811 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.2 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The St. David's Hotel is situated on the waterfront of Cardiff Bay. Dynamic and contemporary in style, the hotel incorporates an impressive floor-to-ceiling, glass-backed atrium that provides a vision of space and natural light. All bedrooms have private balconies and waterfront views. Just five minutes from the centre of Cardiff, St David's Hotel is adjacent to Mermaid Quay with a wide range of entertainment including The Wales Millennium Centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The St. David's Hotel

Address: Havannah Street, Cardiff CF10 5SD, Wales (Formerly The St. David's Hotel & Spa)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Price Range: $108 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. David's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The St. David's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel Cardiff
St Davids Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff St Davids Hotel
St Davids Cardiff
The St. David's Hotel Cardiff, Wales
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#21 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The St. David's Hotel staff and other travelers.
37 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (37)

Questions? Get answers from The St. David's Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We stayed in room 401 which was a suit excellent views and facilities”
 of 5 bubbles 940deniset, yesterday | Read review
“Stay away from lift area”
 of 5 bubbles IncognitoJones, 3 days ago | Read review
“Request a bay view”
 of 5 bubbles jonathanh929, 6 days ago | Read review
“Higher floors for the best views. Not sure if all rooms have a bay view.”
 of 5 bubbles MikeRB186265, 1 week ago | Read review
“just ask for the view of Cardiff Bay”
  • View from room 209
 of 5 bubbles Alicearmy, 1 week ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question