We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Sport Wales National Centre

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cardiff
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Sport Wales National Centre
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

13 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 13: English reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2016

I appreciate that this is first and foremost a sports centre (and badminton, table tennis facilities etc. are good), but the gym leaves a lot to be desired. Clearly the size is an issue - it is tiny, but that in itself doesn't bother me. However, there seems to be absolutely no maintenance or monitoring of it. For example, supplies...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Los247
DCNicholas, Assistant Customer Services Manager at Sport Wales National Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. While we appreciate our gym facility is small in comparison to other operators this is taken into account in our pricing policy. As the National Centre for Wales the development of facilities is based on our national governing body requirements. The Cardio and Free Weights Gyms were refurbished last year with the Cardio Gym having...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 14, 2016

Very basic amenities but very clean. The staff are outstanding. The single rooms are very small. Some of the rooms have been refurbished in the last year - the new arrangement lacks bedside reading lights which is a real pity as the overheads are fluorescent and too bright for nighttime reading. However, the staff compensate for these minor issues.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Saira M
DCNicholas, Assistant Customer Services Manager at Sport Wales National Centre, responded to this review

Hi Saira Many thanks for your feedback and for your comments re provision of a reading light. As you are aware, we are currently undergoing a programme of refurbishment for our bedrooms and there are bedside lights in all the most recently refurbished rooms. This also now forms part of the basic specification for future refurbishments. many thanks, Denise

UK
Reviewed November 15, 2015

Ideal for groups and individuals. This sporting centre has an arrange of training, sports, events and facilities. Good value for money and breakfast, WIFI included. Always recommended as first choice in Cardiff. Right in Bute park which is an outstanding public park with plenty of biking routes. 20 mins walk from the bus station and rail station. 'Situated on three...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank jh6056
Owen29, Assistant Customer Services Manager at Sport Wales National Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is great to receive such positive feedback.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 8, 2015

To be honest this isn't the sort of place I would ever stay but friends had booked for a rugby World Cup game and we just went along with it. Have to say I was pleasantly surprised. Very central location, reception staff extremely friendly and right across the road from a reasonable pub. Rooms very basic but clean. If you...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Suemas2014
Owen29, Assistant Customer Services Manager at Sport Wales National Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is good to receive such positive feedback, particularly regarding the friendliness of our staff.

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 16, 2015 via mobile

The accommodation here is brilliant for the price. En suit room with a tv, very basic but it does the job. The rooms are the hottest rooms I've ever stayed in, even with the window open. The free WiFi also does not work in the accommodation, it's just out of range so that's slightly annoying. Great place to stay if...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nicola W
Owen29, Front Office Manager at Sport Wales National Centre, responded to this review

Hi Nicola Thank you for your review. It's great to have such positive feedback. Your comments regarding the food we provide have been passed onto our Catering Team.

Wales
Reviewed June 2, 2015 via mobile

Considering it's a National Centre, WIS lacks pizzazz! Very small, pretty cramped gym and a poor selection of exercise classes. Dance Studio is dated too and could do with a full size mirror. Please inject some money and life into the centre to make it a bit more attractive for members!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Taff55
Owen29, Manager at Sport Wales National Centre, responded to this review

It is appreciated that the gym facility is smaller in comparison to other operators and that there are a limited number of group exercise classes available and this is taken into account in our pricing policy. As the National Centre for Wales the development of facilities is based on our national governing body requirements. The Dance Studio was converted to...

Llanelli, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 6, 2015

My daughter was doing her rhythmic gymnastics grading here & we needed somewhere to stay. After checking local accommodation in the area, which were proving to be very expensive due to it being over the easter weekend, we decided to stay here & we wasn't disappointed. Was very reasonably priced, friendly helpful staff, reasonably priced cafe with very nice food....

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank LoopyLaura68
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 4, 2015

One criticism is of one receptionist on the main desk. She must be in her 30s, has mousey blonde hair and is the most rude, unfriendly and unapproachable person ever! I always hope someone else is working whenever I visit! I was a member of the gym 10 years ago and she was EXACTLY the same then! I hate to...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank dixonbainbridge78
UK
Reviewed December 16, 2014

Ideal for groups and individuals. This sporting centre has an arrange of training, sports, events and facilities. Good value for money and breakfast, WIFI included. Always recommended as first choice in Cardiff. Right in Bute park which is an outstanding public park with plenty of biking routes.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jh6056
belfast
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Have recently stayed here whilst attending Heineken Cup Match in the Millenium Stadium. Its location is ideal, 5 min walk. bedrooms are basic but clean. Breakfast is included and good value for money. Reception Staff friendly & efficient. I would not hesitate to stay here again. Its a little gem that very few people know about, and very few people...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank BelfastMunsterfan
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 mi away
Cathedral 73
Cathedral 73
#2 of 45 in Cardiff
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Church Guest House
Church Guest House
#1 of 45 in Cardiff
364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jolyon's at No. 10
Jolyon's at No. 10
#8 of 45 in Cardiff
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cayo Arms
Cayo Arms
#39 of 45 in Cardiff
101 reviews
0.6 mi away
The River House Backpackers
0.5 mi away
The Safehouse Hostel
The Safehouse Hostel
#2 of 40 in Cardiff
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Additional Information about Sport Wales National Centre

Address: Welsh Institute of Sport Sophia Gardens, Cardiff CF11 9SW, Wales (Formerly Welsh Institute of Sport)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Hotel Class:1 star — Sport Wales National Centre 1*
Number of rooms: 53
Also Known As:
Welsh Institute Of Sport Hotel Cardiff
Sport Wales National Centre Cardiff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Sport Wales National Centre staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Sport Wales National Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“quieter floors, disabled user friendly,family friendly.”
 of 5 bubbles LoopyLaura68, Apr 6, 2015 | Read review
1 of 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question