We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Wellington Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Wellington Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

257 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 253: English reviews
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

What a shame. We came for some supper at the Wellington last night with 2 friends for my boyfriends birthday. We ordered 2 "gourmet" burgers with the delicious extras and a Mexican chicken burger. The pictures on the bar and in the large graphic menu of the gourmet burger look like a hefty large meatball size burger with fresh salad...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy G
Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

we booked into this hotel for one night and decided to have a meal there too - disaster! Very slow service and despite it being very quiet (it was 5pm) no-one was bothered about serving us. Eventually I chose my meal, only to be told a few minutes later it was "off the menu", I made another choice, the same...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Spent a valentines weekend at the Wellington Hotel Brecon. Easy access into Brecon. Parking is limited but parking is available outside the hotel. Delightful and helpful staff. Beautifully clean room with on suite bathroom. Information and visitors leaflets available in the room. Delicious food and plentiful. Many Brains beers available and saw the six nations rugby on the big screen...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mike K
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Don't believe all the recent bad reviews !!! My husband and I met up with old friends who we had not seen for almost four years. The Staff at The Wellington Hotel were friendly and helpful in many ways, including taking a group picture. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their food. Our friends and my husband had fish and chips, which they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HeyJones
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After reading the reviews on here I was a little worried about what to expect. I booked 3 rooms for a Saturday night to meet up with friends. The rooms were nicely laid out, freshly decorated, new carpets and bathroom. Comfy bed. Not the height of luxury but decent. We had a lunchtime snack that arrived promptly. Breakfast was good....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VXR C
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely appalling service! Ordered Sunday lunch and when it came no veg as they had run out! Customers should be told on ordering! A couple next to us had there lunch served,again the same lunch came no veg and one more couple on the other side of us! The service was shoddy our waiter looked wasted and food was cold...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jen H
Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jen H Thank you for your review. We are really sorry that you didn't have the best experience when visiting us recently. We have taken on board all of your feedback and will be looking into the matters that you have raised. I would like to invite you back to give us another chance to wow you, could you...

canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If we had noticed the hygiene rating thenwewould not have eaten here. We ordered soup on a saturday afternoon and this seemed to take an age at least 30min. When the waitress was asked the soup appeared quickly but the read order was wrong which was quickly rectified. The barman that took the order seemed not to know what he...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ted87
Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Hi ted87 Thank you for taking the time to review the Wellington Hotel. I am sorry that you haven't had the best experience when you visited recently. With regards to the wait time on the soup that is something that I will investigate. Unfortunately we do have a lot of new staff since reopening and we are identifying training needs...

Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner and visited the Wellington just before Christmas. I went to the bar to order food and was told by a member of staff that he couldn't serve me. He did not give a reason and made zero effort to find someone who could. Seconds later a lady approached the bar and was served by this man straight away,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kerryanneadams1234
Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Hi kerryannedams1234 Thank you very much for your review of the Wellington hotel. I am sorry that you didn't have the best experience when you visited before Christmas. With regards to the member of staff, I am confused as to why that happened and is definitely something I will look into. We opened with a lot of new team members...

Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We ate here today, early afternoon. The place was not particularly busy and we found a table near the back of the bar area. The food was good, plentiful, appetising and well presented. This was the first time we'd eaten here since the recent refurbishment and we were impressed with the décor and surroundings. What was not so pleasing was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelmum91
Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Hi travelmum91 Thank you for reviewing the Wellington hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the food, however can only apologise for the attitude of that particular team member. This is something that I will be investigating. We would like to invite you back to dine with us again, to show you our improvements in service and hopefully wow you....

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I went to the opening of the new vamped wellington and whilst the food and service was not the best, I thought first night teething problems. We were shown the rooms and they looked very nice, but i have not stayed there so can't comment on that. I went for lunch a week or so after the opening and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Acquerelli
Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Acquerelli Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you haven't had the best experiences with us here at the Wellington. I cannot comment on why there were so many problems during your visit but will be something that I investigate so that we can improve upon your comments. I would like to invite you back to dine...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brecon hotels
0.2 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
440 reviews
2.9 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
835 reviews
0.1 mi away
Markets Tavern Hotel
Markets Tavern Hotel
#20 of 45 in Brecon
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#2 of 45 in Brecon
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#8 of 45 in Brecon
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Town House at Brecon
The Town House at Brecon
#17 of 45 in Brecon
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We're situated in a prime position in Brecon Town Square, within easy reach of the beautiful surrounding Powys countryside and Brecon Beacons National Park. You'll find plenty to do and explore locally. Why not take a leisurely walk along the canal, or maybe a trip on the Dragonfly Barge taking in the stunning scenery. If you fancy an energetic day out, pursuits such as canoeing, mountain-climbing, biking or kayaking can be arranged with Black Mountains Activities, or alternatively you could give Cradoc Golf Club a visit - an excellent club for those golfers amongst you. And of course, in August during the Brecon Jazz festival, the Wellington provide a perfect base for you to enjoy all the musical revelry. Whatever you're looking for, you will find it here in Brecon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Address: Bulwark, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 7AD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Price Range: $109 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wellington Hotel Brecon, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Wellington Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Wellington Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“don't go there are better but further afield”
 of 5 bubbles Acquerelli, 5 weeks ago | Read review
“The rooms at the front can be noisy at weekends as the taxi rank is outside.”
 of 5 bubbles SkydiveAnnie, Dec 19, 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles sianonholiday, Aug 28, 2016 | Read review
“Good value for money”
 of 5 bubbles orge1030, Aug 18, 2016 | Read review
“top floor is the quietest I reckon but it is 3 flights up with no lift”
 of 5 bubbles C5225NWlisae, Aug 10, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question