We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holyhead Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holyhead Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

33 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 32: English reviews
Cheshire West
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2016

Stayed for one night in this rather dated establishment opposite the town cemetery. But it isn't the dead centre of town quite a way from it in fact. The accommodation was a conversion of an out building on the driveway and is probably OK for a short stay. The owners are busy people and try their best to balance all... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheKaptain
badlady48, Owner at Holyhead Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your comments, we are sorry about the fridge it is there for your milk and filtered water but it could have been unplugged and we usually tell guests this. The boiler I am afraid I cannot do anything about, but I don't understand why you did not shut the door between your bedroom and the kitchen. kindest... More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here overnight for ferry to Dublin to visit family. Helpful from the start...I had made a mistake on my booking (I'd booked a double room for one person instead of two people), this was quickly sorted out for us and extra towels, cups etc taken to the room. Pearl showed us a map with all the best places to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Louise C
badlady48, Owner at Holyhead Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments we try to please all our guests. kind regards More 

Southport
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

Brilliant nights sleep on super comfy beds. The twin room is in a separate building so no disturbing other guests/owners when you come and go. It has 2 bathrooms which is great - no fighting over the shower. A mini fridge and kitchenette are provided. Off road parking behind secure gates - so I'm not too sure what other guests... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank claireylou84
badlady48, Owner at Holyhead Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments we try and put everything you would need in your rooms. kind regards More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

While the service was lovely (good breakfast, called a cab for us in the am) and the rest of the room was fine (had a mini fridge, clean bathroom) the bed really killed this place for us. It had a high peak in the middle and we felt like we were rolling onto the floor. It was so worn down,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Koala5555
badlady48, Owner at Holyhead Lodge, responded to this review

Hi We are a bit unsure if you have got the wrong place as we are not on a narrow street, wagons go down to the school on a daily basis even when cars are parked on the road. The mattresses in all our doubles were replaced for this season so they were brand new in April. kind regards More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2016 via mobile

If your not happy with your stay here then you may as well stay at home, you won't be happy anywhere. Run by a lovely couple who ensure your stay is like home from home with the best breakfast I have ever eaten. Thank you so much for the way you looked after me.

Helpful?
Thank Carl G
badlady48, Owner at Holyhead Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments and we look forward to seeing you again. kind regards More 

Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2016 via mobile

We had a really warm welcome from Pearl and Mel, who made us feel right at home. We had an excellent breakfast with a brilliant choice. The room was spotlessly clean with a good shower and comfortable bed. We would highly recommend this B&B. It is ideal for breaks ,as well as great access for the ferry for people using... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lesley S
badlady48, Owner at Holyhead Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely comments. kind regards More 

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016

I stayed at the Holyhead Lodge whilst attending a friend's wedding on Anglesey. I drove to Holyhead from Huddersfield, and I found the Lodge really easy to find with ample parking. Mel introduced himself and showed me around my room which was small but had everything you could need. Television, radio, ipod dock, fridge, microwave, cupboard space, tea/coffee making facilities,... More 

Helpful?
Thank angielm2015
badlady48, Owner at Holyhead Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review kind regards More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2016 via mobile

We arrived by train - lodge is about a 15 min walk from the station up a slight hill. Very friendly and helpful hosts. Cute nicely appointed room with refrigerator, microwave and tea/coffee maker. Only one accessible power outlet in room and bed was soft but broken down on edge towards door which can be a problem if you need... More 

Helpful?
Thank Breakaway1954
badlady48, Owner at Holyhead Lodge, responded to this review

thanks for your comments they are great, I wish you had mentioned the bed but we will look at it today. More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2016

Pearl and Mel were fabulous, friendly hosts. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The lodge that we stayed in (1) was a lovely, comfortable room with all the facilities needed provided to us. Breakfast was lovely and included options for everyones needs. Pearl and Mel had great local knowledge, and were more than happy to help with any questions... More 

Helpful?
Thank harrietsarahh
badlady48, Owner at Holyhead Lodge, responded to this review

thanks for your lovely comments More 

Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2016 via mobile

Due to St Patrick's day celebrations and diversions we missed our ferry. The ferry company helped us out by just charging an admin fee to move us to the next available crossing, not so the B&B we'd booked, they insisted on charging us the full cost ..yes the full cost of our nights stay..thanks very much The Holyhead Lodge..needless to... More 

Helpful?
Thank stellapm
badlady48, Owner at Holyhead Lodge, responded to this review

I am sorry you felt like you did but as you booked through Booking.com and did not try and cancel until 5pm you had no choice but to pay for the room it is not our policy but theirs. As you had known you had missed the ferry some three hours earlier you could have cancelled then and seen what... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

3 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holyhead
4.8 mi away
Hotel Cymyran
Hotel Cymyran
#2 of 2 in Holyhead
4.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Holyhead Hotel
1.7 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Bull Hotel
Bull Hotel
#2 of 3 in Valley
3.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Boathouse Hotel
The Boathouse Hotel
#6 of 27 in Holyhead
3.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
0.8 mi away
Witchingham Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a family run bed and breakfast about a five minute walk from the ferry/railway terminal (we do run a shuttle service back and too). We also pick up from the late night ferry.The Lodge rooms are across the Courtyard from the main house, each has its own private entrance off the driveway, one is a double and the other a twin(the twin has two ensuites, and a small kitchenette).The rest of the rooms are in the main house. We have private gated parking with CCTV cameras for your security.All rooms are ensuite.All rooms have drinking stations with a selection of tea / coffee / chocolate / decaff / green tea / biscuits ect. All rooms have filter jugs for fresh filtered water, there are docking stations in all our room for your iphones or ipods.All rooms have flat screen tv's with free view or free sat channels, and clock radio alarms.We pride ourselves on getting it right for your stay and nothing is to much trouble. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holyhead Lodge

Address: 63 Maeshyfryd Road, Holyhead LL65 2AP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Holyhead
Price Range: $68 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holyhead Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holyhead Lodge Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay