We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Castle Hotel

Booking.com$118*
View Deal
#1 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,084 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,069: English reviews
Start your review of Castle Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Historic first class accommodation and service, we have stayed here several times and will always stay at the Castle Hotel when in Conwy. This is the perfect hotel for a holiday or romantic break, situated within the castle walls the castle, shops and key side are all within strolling distance.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank damonc880
Peterborough
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Always stay at the Castle Hotel when visiting Conway. Food of a high standard, staff friendly and anxious to please, excellent location. Comfortable bed.. Entrance to car park a little bit tricky to negotiate.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank O7146GYronr
Conwy
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Daughter sustained a leg injury in London, dressing came off in night, blood and fluid on bed. Sheet was exposed for housekeeping. They made the bed and didnt change the sheet! Disgusting. Too late to get housekeeping the next night as we were gone far too long. I travel extensively and even in third world countries this wouldnt happen. On...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank keithsH8634AO
Joe L, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and apologies you felt that housekeeping let us down. I'm also saddened to read that a sincere apology is no longer "good enough" as well. It is also very clear that you did not inform anyone at the hotel that you required your sheets changing, which we would have done instantly for you. Instead you...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Lovely hotel. Old world charm and very cosy well appointed room. Excellent location though was a little noisy on the high street side with early morning deliveries to shops. Good food. Good beer and wide choice of apertifs. Tey the long island ice tea cocktail. Excellent.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
Joe L, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review!! Great to read you enjoyed your time with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Tarleton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It is a really lovely place with friendly and fast service. Everything was so good! Room was fantastic and comfortable. Definitely recommended! Bar is also nice with high quality service. It was a good choice.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 216karolina
Joe L, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review! Recommend away! The team and I love making regulars and we hope you're already planning your next trip to our beautiful part of the world!

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The room was lovely, a little dark but added to the character of the hotel. The breakfast was lovely and the staff members were very helpful. I would recommend going to this hotel again - I know we will be returning!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank GlenHealiss
Joe L, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review! We love making regulars and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very poor service at the Castle Hotel yesterday. I have stayed at this establishment before and had no previous complaints but yesterday was totally different. I called in for lunch with my son , we ordered the standard meals of fish and pie but had to wait for over half and hour to be served. At no point was i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndyC330
Joe L, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Very sorry to read this review! Thank you for the time you have taken in writing it and we will look at the issues raised as a team to see what went wrong. As you can see, it is very unusual for someone to have an experience like this and we do hope you will return so we may give...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very nice that we had no problem seating in our party of 11 including 2 youngsters for lunch. Dining room was very peaceful and the walls were covered in really nice arts and craft type paintings of late c19. Can't remember the artist but believe he was quite an important one. Some nice leaflets in the lobby explaining the history...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swpratt
Joe L, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review! Glad to read you enjoyed our beautiful old building and the artist is called John Dawson-Watson, lots of great stories about him and the hotel!! Our kitchen team will love the feedback and we all look forward to welcoming you back very soon!!

mersyside
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed two nights in the castle, was a brilliant experience staying in room with four poster bed, 300 years old it stated in the hotels history book. Really enjoyed stay , staff were very efficient from checking in to waiting on staff in bars and restaurant! Breakfast was excellent and the choice was amazing! Only criticism would be the small...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank fletchlpool
Joe L, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your fantastic review!! The team and I are really pleased you enjoyed your two days with us, we love it when what we do here at the Castle makes our guests smile and we love creating regulars. So the team and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon to your favourite Welsh town!!

Swindon
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had been looking for a decent place to eat after a long day sightseeing. Came across the Castle whilst wandering the streets of Conwy. What a find! Lovely hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Waitress went over and above expectations of helpfulness whilst being cheerful and chatty! To top it all had a lovely tasty meal at a reasonable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bas011656
Joe L, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review!! So glad to read out team impressed and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon!!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

252 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (241)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (130)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.7 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,465 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#13 of 59 in Llandudno
659 reviews
13.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 59 in Llandudno
1,318 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 59 in Llandudno
1,151 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 59 in Llandudno
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Dawson's Bar & Restaurant
Dawson's Bar & Restaurant
Cuisines: Welsh, British, International, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
'Boutiquey' Town House Hotel in middle of World Heritage walled town. After many years of upgrades and restoration, this famous old Inn now offers contemporary styling mixed with 'arts & crafts' character. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Hotel High Street, Conwy LL32 8DB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Price Range: $117 - $511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Conwy, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Castle Hotel staff and other travelers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“If you require a quitter room in the Resturant choose the Shakespeare’s or the snug as eating in the bar area can get quite noisy at times.”
Lorna1955, 1 week ago | Read review
“furthest away from the bar....”
384joanb, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“If you are on the first floor, ask for a room well away from the bar and restaurant, and facing away from the street.”
Louichan, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Room 207 is amazing”
Penguinrev, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“All rooms are single glazed hence rooms at the front experience some street noise issues”
mickmusique, Feb 20, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Booking.com
$118* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com$428
Hotwire.com$428
Hotels.com$428
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates