We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Black Boy Inn

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,003 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 979: English reviews
amlwch
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

we visited on wed had a meal and drinks the food was great back again next week great location for the town shops the hotel has a long history back to 1640 definately going back for more great food thanks black boy great day out

Helpful?
Thank peterdewi
Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We accidentally stumbled across this little gem of a restaurant and we was made to feel welcome straight away. We had young children and This was no problem for the staff. I ordered the mussels to start and they tasted as if they'd just been caught. All in all the food was lovely and plentiful. Looking forward to our next... More 

Helpful?
Thank jayig2
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review and please return soon. More 

Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Well what a lovely place. We visited on a saturday night for a family meal. We were taken through to the back room and asked to choose where to sit. The pub is very traditional in it's decor. The waitress was very polite and helpful, bringing crayons for my neice to keep her occupied. There is also a park for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review. More 

turnerjs08
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Ideal for centre, walking distance to all the sights, and seemingly very popular for food, although we couldn't get a table there! Room was comfortable, but beware seagulls are noisy....however I realise nothing can be done about that

Helpful?
Thank turnerjs08
N Ireland
Level Contributor
183 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

With a meeting the next day I stayed here for the first but not last time. The hotel has a long history think from 1640. The size of the rooms would lead you to believe this as well. After check in I had to park the car at the castle car park about 700 meters away. Not sure what arrangement... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian F
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review.We do indeed have car park spaces for mobility issues closer to the Inn. More 

leighton buzzard
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

They certainly "Keep a welcome" at the Black Boy Inn. Far and away our best break of the year. We had five night B& B stay in the annex suite behind main building. Suit was large, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The shower room was almost as large as bedroom with a really good shower. We had daily breakfast and... More 

Helpful?
Thank del1Bedfrdshire
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Diolch i chi ,thank you for the review. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my partner booked here as a last minute impulse, and we were not disappointed. The staff were really friendly, and the food was good. The room was well decorated, and had a great shower, as well as a decent sized bed. The only draw back of the room we were staying in is that there was no air-conditioning,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

You are correct that normally air conditioning is not required at the Inn normally ,but as you stated these are well above average temperatures.Thank you for your comments. More 

Isle of Man
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We only stayed here one night on a road trip but would definitely visit again. Great location in the middle of town, the room was very nice and comfortable with the four poster bed and a huge telly with endless channels. The food and atmosphere downstairs was fab, we ate here in the evening and breakfast came in with the... More 

Helpful?
Thank lorrena
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. More 

Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The place was lovely, room 23 excellent lovely high ceilings with beams, bed was hugh and very comfy. very friendly and helpful staff. Food very food , modern in an old fashion way. Easy walking distance to local shops . Walking g distance to harbour also had a meal in the Table Table next to premier Inn. Would go back... More 

Helpful?
Thank chezyann1
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. More 

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked the queen room which was lovely, was cleaned daily (even the pots were washed) and had a nice view of the castle. Good the rooms are separate to the pub, just around the corner. The black boy food was nice, overall great stay, would visit again! Staff were friendly and accommodating.

Helpful?
Thank Mark S
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review , so glad you enjoyed. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

713 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (253)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
0:13
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (125)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (215)
Viewed
Black Boy Double Room (24)
Viewed
Black Boy Four Poster Room (33)
Viewed
Black Jack's Four Poster Suite (35)
Viewed
Black Jack's Suite (45)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (245)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (114)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
0.1 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.0 of 5 stars 802 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 stars 1,209 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
21.2 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 stars 2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Black Boy Inn
The Black Boy Inn
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh, International, Gluten Free
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.We offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal timesSunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00P.M. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30P.M.Table reservations can be made via reception up to 6.30P.M. Table allocation after 6.30.Pm. Will be made on availability. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. To arrange a table reservation (up to 6.30P.M.)In peak season we cannot accept table bookings at all due to the volume of trade ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Boy Inn

Address: Northgate Street | Stryd Pedwar a Chewch, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Price Range: $104 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Boy Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Cancelon so you can book your Black Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Boy Hotel Caernarfon
Black Boy Inn Caernarfon, Wales
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Green Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay