We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Black Boy Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,114: English reviews
Wrexham
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I visited this establishment with my wife, son and his partner on Tuesday 29th November for a reunion evening dinner. Believe it or not, I last visited this pub over 40 years ago when I was an auditor and it still good. We liked it very much. The service, food and ambience were first class Well done!

Helpful?
Thank dwplucas
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for returning after so many years and for leaving the lovely review. More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were in Caernarfon to visit a relative and needed some where to stay for one night ,we know of the black boy but had never stayed there before,we must say it is a excellent hotel / guest inn to stay at . The room that we had was in the old court ,which was well appointed and comfortable ,with... More 

Helpful?
Thank cclk2014
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and detailed description.We are indeed a busy Inn, and the car parking can be always be sorted for you and be free.The reception staff will always know of free spaces. More 

Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We recently stayed overnight at The Black Boy Inn. It is a lovely traditional old Inn. Our room, one of several four poster rooms, was very comfortable bursting with Olde World charm but also with all mod cons. Bedroom and en-suite was spotlessly clean and had everything to hand for a very comfortable nights stay. We had an evening meal... More 

Helpful?
Thank DellyMae0311
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the lovely review , so glad you enjoyed the four poster rooms. More 

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This is it second time staying here this year and have to say we cannot fault the place. Rooms immaculate, staff very friendly and overall a lovely place to stay. We booked the executive rooms which are spacious and well worth paying a bit extra

Helpful?
Thank Becky1Becky
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Such kind review , thank you .Please do return soon. More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed in 2013 so not sure if much has changed but have been meaning get to write a review ever since visiting. The boy boy inn is by far the best b&b we have ever stayed in (and we have stayed in quite few across the country). I would recommend to everyone, lovely rooms, with excellent food (the home made... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dick1906
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for thinking about us again.We are continually upgrading and changing the Inn. There is now a covered area to lead into the breakfast room. 13 rooms have been added at Ty Dre . A larger kitchen prep area, was added this year and also tarmac on rear car park.Bathrooms in the old Inn are being refitted... More 

1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent a couple of memorable days in the Black Boy, it was very wet so we mostly stayed in but occasionally popped out. I started jotting down more notes for this review but unfortunately misplaced my pen there. My pen is in the Black Boy, I can't recommend it enough.

Helpful?
Thank darmiane
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for recommending us , and thank you for the review. More 

Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to the black boy for lunch," it was heaving" a good sign though , we were given a gadget alarm to let us know when there was a free table, we didn't have to wait too long, but it was well worth the wait , the service was excellent and the food was very good indeed, I couldn't find... More 

Helpful?
Thank neilcarter2015
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the review, the Inn does indeed get very busy. More 

Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good selection of cask ales, dogs allowed in the beer garden and a lovely choice of food. Inside looked very homely. Both bar and restaurant were busy but food was worth the wait. Close to the town centre.

Helpful?
Thank blobodzinski
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

We do not allow dogs within the Inn as you state, but we do have outside areas that you can bring dogs to.Thank you for the review. More 

Hawarden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just had lunch in the Black Boy and couldn't fault it. Great food, great service and town centre location. This is where the locals go to eat, so that's usually what I go for as the locals know the area. Highly recommend this

Helpful?
Thank MauriceSalt
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your lunch with us , thank you for the review. More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited after going to Poppy display. Good menu but due to subdued lighting it was a little difficult to read--- I'll remember my glasses next time lol. Both meals were excellent, good portion size and hot. Fab chips! My friend enjoyed the beer. The staff were amazing, very friendly and happy to chat ,I felt confident enough to practice my... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Funchal4
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

We will always help all guests to learn a few words of welsh to take away with them. Thank you for the review. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

758 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (278)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (132)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (215)
Viewed
Black Boy Double Room (24)
Viewed
Black Boy Four Poster Room (33)
Viewed
Black Jack's Four Poster Suite (35)
Viewed
Black Jack's Suite (45)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (265)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (73)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (114)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
0.1 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
889 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
122 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
17.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Black Boy Inn
The Black Boy Inn
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh, International
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.We offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal timesSunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00P.M. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30P.M.Table reservations can be made via reception up to 6.30P.M. Table allocation after 6.30.Pm. Will be made on availability. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. To arrange a table reservation (up to 6.30P.M.)In peak season we cannot accept table bookings at all due to the volume of trade ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Boy Inn

Address: Northgate Street | Stryd Pedwar a Chewch, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Price Range: $85 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Boy Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Black Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Boy Hotel Caernarfon
Black Boy Inn Caernarfon, Wales
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Black Boy Inn staff and other travelers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
9 months ago
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
9 months ago
over a year ago
over a year ago
Dronfield, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Black Boy Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“From what we could tell all rooms are of a high quality”
 of 5 bubbles cclk2014, 3 days ago | Read review
“All of the rooms seem to reflect the centuries-old nature of the hotel, so ask for one with character if you want to enjoy the best!”
 of 5 bubbles johnandmaggie, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Any room, stayed in the seperate building down the street”
 of 5 bubbles davidoH9843KI, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“our room was in an annexe and lovely & quiet but those in the main building may be noisier”
 of 5 bubbles Tim5973, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“rooms in inn are a little small”
 of 5 bubbles beviWalesUk, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay