We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Waverley Hotel Bangor

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Waverley Hotel Bangor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 74: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel is ok, clean and fresh bedding and located next to the train station. DO NOT book this hotel online , you will be. Ripped off. There is a 2 price structure, online (booking.com) price and locals/if you ring up price. For example a single room booked over the phone is £35.00 per night, use booking.com and its £55.00... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul D
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The staff are friendly and polite however the chef drinks more of the wine that he adds to the cuisine. There is no shower facility in our room and it's smelt of cigarettes. It's not disabled friendly and the facilities are extremely basic and in need of modernisation. The location is good and the welcome tea and biscuits were gratefully... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah-Jane B

Travelers are raving about these Bangor hotels

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016

Bathroom was dirty, not properly cleaned from the last guest. Room in desperate need of update. Bedroom itself was nicely decorated. Too cold. Couldn't feel our hands. Must ask to turn radiator on, which is fine, but staff nowhere to be found. When finaly found, they claim we can could call them but the note on the window said "call... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liankirry
Jonny G, Manager at The Waverley Hotel Bangor, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback could you tell me which room you stayed in we are looking to improve Regards More 

Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016 via mobile

We are on holiday in Wales and having just arrived we were looking for somewhere to eat. We were so pleased to find this hotel/restaurant. We enjoyed a fine meal with generous portions. We had previously been told that the chef was good. We agree with this now!! Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank mrpeterjw
Jonny G, Manager at The Waverley Hotel Bangor, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

This hotel is very central to Bangor, right next door to the train station. The hotel is well maintained and tidy. It is handy for access to upper Bangor, the university and the high street. It is next to many food outlets Domino's, Eastern Origin Chinese takeaway, and Pizza House to name a few. And Morrison's is 5 minutes walk... More 

Helpful?
Thank stephwn
North Wales
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2016 via mobile

Smashing time had at the waverly. The bar staff were a nice couple of lads even if they didn't know about rose wine😃. Breakfast was nice the next day but I do think the poor chef needs some waiting on staff to help him in the morning. He was greeting cooking and serving. 12 people from diffrent parties were down... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Andymac2003
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2016

I've stayed here a few times before and to be honest it was looking a bit tired and the staff were not the best. What a difference! The whole place has has a make over, staff cannot do enough to help and being right by the train station and 5 mins max. walk to the middle of town this is... More 

Helpful?
Thank dewiparryuk
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016 via mobile

Do not stay!! We had room 7!! List of reasons to find somewhere else!1. Blood stains on towels provided.2 mould in all corners of the room and all over bath room. Stains all over carpet.4 bloody all over toilet door.5. Springy mattress also a folded up sheet as a pillow in the case. 6 wardrobe all battered and falling to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Chris M
Jonny G, Manager at The Waverley Hotel Bangor, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback I have looked into your complaint and w eared currently refurbishing and looking to improve all aspect of the hotel. I apologise for your stay Regards More 

Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2016

terrible service, only 1 towel for 2 people, room cold, no hot water, £65.00 for 1 night not including breakfast, no soap, hole in wall with electrical wires showing. we travelled over 300 miles to see my husbands parents really really upset. we stayed in room 5, on the 31st march

Helpful?
1 Thank hbillett2016
Jonny G, Manager at The Waverley Hotel Bangor, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. We have dealt we these issues you brought up . I must apologise for your stay Regards More 

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2016

On arrival we rang the reception bell several times before having to seek out staff in the bar. We were given our room which we had to ask to be moved for various reasons one of which was it being dirty. The 'chef' turned up for breakfast the next morning 45mins late with an excuse another party said he'd used... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank 60Lynn
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bangor Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Garden Hotel
The Garden Hotel
#5 of 6 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eryl Mor Hotel
Eryl Mor Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bangor
3.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#2 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Waverley Hotel is now under new management as of July 2014. One of Bangor's largest hotels, situated directly opposite the Railway Station, we are ideal for commuters, couples, families and business and leisure trips. We cater for all your needs, with a fully stocked bar, a la Carte Restaurant and fully refurbished rooms. Come and give us a try! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Waverley Hotel Bangor

Address: Holyhead Road | Station Road, Bangor LL57 1LZ, Wales (Formerly The Regency Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Bangor
Price Range: $96 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Waverley Hotel Bangor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waverley Hotel Bangor Wales - North Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay