We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Worcester Road, Evesham WR11 4YB England
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$120
View deal
Priceline$132
Expedia.com$132
Hotels.com$132
Travelocity$132
Trip.com$131
Agoda.com$132
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (683)
Room & Suite (406)
Dining (119)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 9 in Evesham
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.4
Value
4.3
The Wood Norton Hotel & Restaurant , the former home to French Royalty, is a glorious Grade II listed, four star country house hotel. Set in its own grounds the hotel looks over the beautiful Vale of Evesham to the nearby Cotswold Hills.50 rooms and suites with beautiful public areas, large ornate gardens, and public areas.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Game room
Billiards
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Classic
Languages Spoken
English
1559Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 842
  • 416
  • 177
  • 89
  • 35
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
PaulH3745 wrote a review Jun 4
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom32 contributions15 helpful votes
+1
The Wood Norton is set in a gorgeous location just outside of Evesham and is great for exploring the nearby Cotswolds villages or Stratford Upon Avon. The hotel itself is beautiful with lovely rooms but the attention to detail lets it down. On arrival the receptionist was friendly enough and gave us our room key and directions to our room but no question of if we would like dinner that evening or where breakfast would be the next morning and what time breakfast was served. Off we went to our room and unpacked and the room was lovely, large with wood panelling and a massive bathroom with walk in shower. There was a Nespresso coffee machine, kettle, iron and hairdryer. The things we felt were missing was a folder with details about the hotel (it has a fascinating history which we found about via Google), breakfast information including times, Wi-Fi password, a menu for dinner and bar opening times etc. We decided to pop to the bar for a drink and the lady serving asked what our plans were during our stay and suggested visits to Broadway, Bourton-on-the-Water and Stratford Upon Avon. We then went off to visit Broadway which is highly recommended.. a lovely village about 20 minutes drive from the hotel with lots of pubs and places to eat and just a really quaint place to go to. We returned to the hotel later that night and despite the wedding our room was very quiet and we were not disturbed during the night. There was some noise from the kitchen below early in the morning but nothing to complain about. We opted to not have breakfast on the first morning and went out for the day. On returning to the hotel there was another wedding but again it didn’t affect us and we had another undisturbed night. We decided to have breakfast the following morning and were shown to a table. We were not told that someone would come and take our coffee and breakfast order or that there were cereals and pastries a available around the corner. Eventually someone came to take our order and our breakfast was served. Unfortunately it wasn’t very good, the sausage looked like it hadn’t seen been cooked, the bacon was tasteless and not at all appealing and the service was chaotic and unprofessional. We didn’t have dinner during our stay mainly because we were not sure if the restaurant was open as nobody had told us. It’s such a shame to experience poor service as the hotel is lovely in a stunning setting with beautiful gardens and with a little attention to detail it really could be so different.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Bonapappetite wrote a review May 2022
London, United Kingdom10 contributions5 helpful votes
My daughter booked us two rooms in the main hotel, (OR SO SHE THOUGHT) as a surprise for me . we arrived to be told they had placed us in another building . The rooms were dark and dingy, the net curtains dirty and dusty, the beds are totally worn out. We went down to the bar after having had a 4 hour journey, they didn't even have any crisps. Breakfast was the worst we had ever had, toast arrived cold, cooked breakfast was a total disaster. Bacon was rock hard, poached eggs undercooked, mushrooms cold, my daughters fried eggs were practically cremated and her hash browns cold. The young waiting staff were so polite and attentive, it's a shame the same couldn't be said for the lady we suspect was in charge of the dining room, she needs to learn how to speak to paying guests and the young staff. Her customer service leaves a lot to be desired. We left feeling we had paid hotel prices but stayed in the Cheapest budget BB, Would we stay again, NEVER, would we recommend it NEVER.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Cheryl Rudge wrote a review May 2022
3 contributions
We have been waiting for our Afternoon Tea with bubbles that my Daughter in Law purchased for us for a special present for over 2 years . After a few emails and around our shifts we were able to book this hotel for a mid week afternoon . The Hotel building and grounds are spectacular , wonderful views across the countryside , a beautiful setting . However on arrival , our booking was not on the diary , there was 2 suited hotel personnel sat at the bar and the gentleman assured us this wasn’t a problem , choose a seat and he will order our afternoon tea in the kitchen . We were served a hot drink while we waited and after around 20 minutes our platter arrived . The Food was lovely and presented well . The service from here went downhill rapidly , to say that in the 2 hours we were there no one from the hotel approached us at all. We were not asked if we were happy and did we need anything else . My husband had to go to the bar and ask for 2 glasses of fizz and some water , he was told they had no small bottles of water and he would have to have a large bottle , he was not offered table water , which I would have thought if a member of staff had checked on us we would have had ! And maybe another hot drink too ! I did not realise at the time but he was charged for the fizz and water , the fizz was already paid for in the voucher we had given to the gentleman on arrival . The whole time we were in the hotel , the 2 staff members sat at the bar with their laptops and totally ignored us . When we returned home and I realised my husband had paid for the fizz , I emailed Beth at the Hotel , she apologised for the charge and poor service and said she had passed this to her manager who would be in touch with me , that never happened so I emailed again saying that the customer service was extremely poor , again she apologised , asked my address and said she was sending a bottle of Prosecco to me by the weekend . Well the weekend happened an no Prosecco appeared, To sum up , the Customer experience at Wood Norton is obviously not important to them , Sadly we won’t visit again and we would not recommend to friends and family
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Service
Helpful
Share
Bekki wrote a review May 2022
3 contributions
Fantastic breakfast - probably the best we’ve had in a hotel ever, but overall the room felt very overpriced for what it was. Our room was very standard with very cheap furniture (the chest of draws was broken), and the decor was tired and a bit odd. There were lots of odd photos on the wall including one of Faulty Towers and one of a random bloke called “the resident 2020” who seemed to have stayed in the room during covid- it was quite funny but also very odd to have him staring at us getting ready and just not what I would expect for the price more something you would find in b&b £100 cheaper.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Shop around to try and find the room for cheaper it’s not worth the full price
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
stevebintley wrote a review May 2022
Bedford, United Kingdom5494 contributions879 helpful votes
+1
I had a very impressive stay at this hotel. I didn’t have the pleasure of a room in the main building, instead being in an outbuilding, newly built in the rear of the estate. However this was far from being a disappointment and I’d happily book there again. The room was large and spacious, modern and very clean. The decor was very cosy and all the facilities you’d need are provided - ironing board, safe, hot drink facilities and lots of storage. While the LED light bulbs weren’t the brightest there was a number of lights throughout the room to compensate, and the chandelier in the main bedroom area gave a high end feel. The TV was a good size and the heating in the room was effective along with having windows which opened. Annoyingly there were no electric sockets at either side of the bed, so devices needed to be changed at the large desk area, beneath a TV which was a good size for the room. Overall the sleep quality was great, with the bed being large and very comfortable and no noise from the corridor or outside. The bathroom was very spacious and a really pleasant area. There was a good number of high quality towels, the Molton Brown toiletries a great touch and everywhere was spotlessly clean. The sink and shower over the bath were traditional in design but worked well and the expanse of storage space was really welcome. The bar in the main building is a lovely space, with a wide variety of spirits but unfortunately less of a range of beers. The staff were super friendly and efficient at the service, with all the drinks presented and served professionally, plus there’s loads of seating available for groups, couples and singles, with a lot of space in the area behind the bar. The restaurant was surprisingly busy but understandably so. The menu has a good range of items and it’s a really nice setting with a relaxing atmosphere. All the dishes were presented well and portion sizes not too bad for the prices. The tuna tartar starter was tasty, although the promise of foie gras was rather disappointing in reality. The pork cheek main was very tasty and the chocolate desert rounded things off perfectly. The staff were all lovely and the place made for a very nice evening experience. Overall it was a wonderful stay here and I can’t wait to return. With a comfortable room, great bar and restaurant, and beautiful gardens it lives up to it’s aim of being a venue more than just a hotel. There’s clearly a lot of history here too and with the decor that adds to the brilliant environment and experience - I can’t wait to return.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Paige Yates, Guest Services / Front Office at The Wood Norton Hotel
Responded May 17, 2022
Dear stevebintley, Thank you for taking the time to leave such positive comments, I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience of The Wood Norton and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, Kind regards, Steven
Read more
kwehlule wrote a review May 2022
Wetherby, United Kingdom354 contributions135 helpful votes
I will start with saying this is a beautiful place and has so much potential. Its a nice building within beautiful grounds. On Saturday just gone the weather was beautiful and we sat outside in the garden with nice stretching views of the countryside. The room was spacious but it wasn’t properly cleaned. Hats off to the chef the food was delicious but the waitresses just nearly spoiled it for us. Most of the staff are a younger generation which was nice to see but they were left to their own devices. This meant that at times the service was lacking and chaotic. From ckeck in to check out it felt like experience and training was lacking. Service was confused and slow; this was a theme throughout. We ordered drinks and because staff were playing we were given wrong orders at the bar. They continued with childish and some stupid behaviour even if guests were waiting to be served Attention to detail is lacking and guests who came in last were served first. It was nice to watch when not us but frustrating at the same when it was our turn.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Paige Yates, Guest Services / Front Office at The Wood Norton Hotel
Responded May 17, 2022
Dear kwehlule, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, Please be assured that we are fully committed to delivering an outstanding guest experience here at The Wood Norton. Kind regards, Steven
Read more
Rubymurray30 wrote a review May 2022
Keynsham, United Kingdom43 contributions64 helpful votes
We visited for one night for my partners 40th and we have come away with mixed feelings about this place. Its a truly beautiful building with many original features. The gardens have some lovely flowers and plants. Our room was tastefully decorated with the most comfortable king sized bed. The bathroom needed a bit of an update, mainly the bath which was old and chipped but the shower above it was really powerful. Sink was really slow to drain. One thing that bothered me was the decor. Some of it in keeping with the property but it was then mixed in with modern cheap feeling bits. The bar area is an example of this. I couldn't understand why anyone would choose fish wallpaper in what should be such an elegant period property. Staff in the main were friendly but perhaps not as attentive or interested as they should be. Our evening meal was a real disappointment. My partner ordered rib eye steak which at £32 we were expecting something really good but it was not unfortunately. We did mention this to the waitress who spoke with a manager who offered to reduce cost by 50% which we accepted. My pate came without any toast, I told a different waitress but she different offer to go and get it and in the end i asked for some bread. We were told that the usual chef wasn't cooking and that the food is usually different. The breakfast was really great though and we really enjoyed our full English. But we had to ask for tea spoons, the toast arrived without butter but we weren't told about the area tucked away around the corner with pastries, cereals etc so only noticed after 10 mins after watching other guests going out that the butter might be out there! I think more attention to detail is needed here by staff, things kept tidier around the hotel and in the gardens and all the modern tat replaced by tasteful furniture and fittings! It's a shame as this hotel has some lovely features but it's not quite right and it could be fantastic!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Paige Yates, Guest Services / Front Office at The Wood Norton Hotel
Responded May 17, 2022
Dear Rubymurray30, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, I am delighted that you enjoyed your overall experience of The Wood Norton, but apologise that we did not meet expectation in all areas. We take all feedback very seriously and assure you that we are committed to delivering an outstanding guest experience. I hope to welcome you back in the future, Kind regards, Steven
Read more
Debbie M wrote a review Apr 2022
United Kingdom2 contributions
Booked overnight stay due to attending a friend's wedding. Room was tidy and comfortable although the heating had been left on flat out and the windows left open. This was easily sorted and not an issue. Bed was large and comfortable. Breakfast the following morning was plentiful and dining room staff were a delight. All in all a good experience. So it saddens me to say that it was ruined as we checked out. Staff at reception had already dealt with another customer querying their bill. Having already paid I did not expect any such issues. How wrong I was. I was informed I had not paid. And would have to pay now before I could leave. When I had booked, I was assured that although no confirmation email would be sent it was definitely booked, in fact the bride had checked for me previously. However I had no evidence on me, and the attitude of the staff was that it was my issue. On returning home I located evidence and attempted to contact them to no avail. I emailed, to no avail. It was only due to the bride contacting the wedding organiser, Katie, that I received an apology and a refund. However, I will never use or recommend this establishment again. They ruined a lovely memory, took my valuable time to resolve the issue. As they consider themselves a luxury establishment I would expect more in the way of customer service rather than inconveniencing their customers. I have received quicker and better service from staff in establishments known more for convenience than luxury, perhaps The Wood Norton hotel could look to them for tips
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Make sure you have all you documents to hand if prepaid, check your bill carefully for additional...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Paige Yates, Guest Services / Front Office at The Wood Norton Hotel
Responded May 17, 2022
Dear Debbie M, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, Please be assured that we are fully committed to delivering an outstanding guest experience here at The Wood Norton. Kind regards, Steven
Read more
Alison C wrote a review Apr 2022
Salisbury, United Kingdom4 contributions
Following postponement of our anticipated holiday, we booked a 2-night deal at Wood Norton. We were delighted with the hotel, it was clean and beautifully furnished. A lovely wedding venue with neat gardens, outside seating and good photographic opportunities. The staff were helpful and attentive and always friendly. We opted for an Executive Room which was actually a small suite with separate bathroom and seating area. The bed was comfortable - always a bonus with hotels - and the room delightfully furnished. We ate in the restaurant both evenings and could not fault the food. Yes, they were a little pricey but given the deal we secured, this was acceptable. Breakfast was popular but the staff coped well and maintained good rapport with the guests. We would definitely book this hotel again and certainly recommend to others.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: We choose an Executive Double which turned out to be a small suite; a nice surprise!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Paige Yates, Guest Services / Front Office at The Wood Norton Hotel
Responded May 17, 2022
Dear alisonc586, Thank you for taking the time to leave such positive comments, I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience of The Wood Norton and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, Kind regards, Steven
Read more
SBrewer1959 wrote a review Apr 2022
Liverpool, United Kingdom3 contributions
Was at the hotel recently for a wedding. Being charged £6.50 for a large lime and soda was beyond belief and as was £17.50 for a double gin and tonic!! The room regardless of requests had hot pipes running through it on a warm spring evening, sleeping not easy! Staff were just not trained, Lady who ran the restaurant was not particularly friendly at breakfast, the continental buffet breakfast was not replenished continually and overall the food was average. Dirty glasses not cleared away in the gardens and when they were by staff who had just come in and had their winter coats on. I could go on. Beautiful location with overall poor expensive service.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Paige Yates, Guest Services / Front Office at The Wood Norton Hotel
Responded May 17, 2022
Dear SBrewer1959, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, Please be assured that we are fully committed to delivering an outstanding guest experience here at The Wood Norton. Kind regards, Steven
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$148 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
wood norton hall country house hotel and restaurant, wood norton hall country hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Wood Norton Hall Country House Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWorcestershireEvesham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Wood Norton Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Wood Norton Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Regal Cinema (2.7 miles), Pershore Abbey (4.4 miles), and Abbey Park (2.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Wood Norton Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Wood Norton Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Wood Norton Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Wood Norton Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Ivy Inn, Buongiorno Cafe, and Delicious.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Wood Norton Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Wood Norton Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Wood Norton Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Almonry Museum (2.4 miles), Evesham Bell Tower (2.5 miles), and St Lawrence's Church (2.4 miles).
Does The Wood Norton Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is The Wood Norton Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.