We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Lygon Arms

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
Panoramas (20)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Lygon Arms
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,120: English reviews
Birstall, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 28, 2015

If you want an olde worlde hotell with nooks and crannys and an air of spookiness then this is the Hotel for you. We had the afternoon tea offer and to be honest this was very average but the breakfast was marvellous and more than made up of the bland afternoon tea. We didn't take an Evening Meal which we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review

Dear Chris W, Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us at The Lygon Arms Hotel. We have recently reviewed and refined the choices for breakfast and it is great to read that you thoroughly enjoyed this. Kind regards Colin Heaney General Manager

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 28, 2015

My partner and I stayed in the Lygon Arms for my birthday, for us this was a rare occurrence; to actually stay somewhere a bit upmarket and I'm glad that we made that choice. The staff were very attentive and went out of their way to be helpful throughout the different areas of the hotel, dinner was superb, the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M B
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review

Dear M B, It is great to read that you had a fantastic stay with us at The Lygon Arms Hotel and thank you so much for the lovely review. The hotel simply oozes character and I am pleased that you enjoyed this. Kind regards Colin Heaney General Manager

Ruislip, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 28, 2015

My wife and I took a short break at the Lygon Arms Hotel in Broadway last week. Our experience was that the hotel is clean, full of character (it dates back a few years - Oliver Cromwell was a former guest), the staff were polite and efficient and could not do enough to help. The bedroom was period for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shortbreaklover2015
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review

Dear Shortbreaklover2015, Thank you for your feedback and it is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Lygon Arms. It is also great to read that you enjoyed exploring the hotel and lapping up the history. Kind regards Colin Heaney General Manager

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 27, 2015

Just returned from a two night spa weekend. Make no mistake this is not a high quality hotel. I would rate it at 2 star at best. We had a tiny room with mould growing between the tiles in the bathroom and paper thin walls so you could hear guests on each side as well as above. The food in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Slaw77777
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review

Dear Slaw77777 Thank you for your comments and it is such a shame to read that your recent stay did not live up to the expectations that I would wish for. As you can see from many other reviewers, everyone enjoyed their stay and please accept my apologies for any disappointment caused. Kind regards Colin Heaney General Manager

Bromborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 26, 2015

We have just returned from a five night DBB stay to celebrate my 65th birthday and it was made really special by the wonderful staff throughout the hotel. We stayed in room 44 which had high beamed ceilings and also a separate lounge/dressing room with a second television. The food was excellent and well presented and the staff were always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brenda T
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review

Dear Brenda T, Thank you for the great review and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Lygon Arms and for choosing to celebrate your birthday with us. I do hope to welcome you back for your next birthday celebration! Kind regards Colin Heaney General Manager

Bromsgrove, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 26, 2015

Just returned from a one night stay at the Lygon Arms in Broadway it's always been on my wish list. Over all a lovely couple of days, Staff were all very attentive and did everything to make out stay a good one, from offers of carrying luggage to friendly bar staff to waiters and waitresses all of whom were all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Claire H
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review

Dear Claire H, Thank you for your comments and it is such a shame to read that your recent stay did not live up to the expectations that I would wish for. As you can see from many other reviewers, everyone enjoyed their stay and please accept my apologies for any disappointment caused. Kind regards Colin Heaney General Manager

Letchworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 25, 2015

We stopped here for 1 night after visiting a client. We had a wonderful suite in the front of the hotel. The bed was comfortable, the room was gorgeous and we had a most restful night. We ate in the restaurant in the evening which was a most excellent choice. The staff throughout are lovely but a special mention for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo6406
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review

Dear Jo6406, Thank you for the excellent comments and it is a pleasure to read that you had a truly fantastic stay with us at The Lygon Arms Hotel. It is also great to read that you enjoyed once of our larger suites at the front of the hotel and I do hope to welcome you back for another brilliant...

Thame, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 25, 2015

We booked an accessible room that turned out to be as close as could be to the other amenities of the hotel. Everybody was helpful, and we enjoyed breakfasts from a menu with excellent choice. The food was beautifully cooked and presented. Thoroughly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FussyEater28
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review

Dear FussyEater28, Thank you for the short & sweet review and it is great to read that you had a fantastic stay with us at The Lygon Arms Hotel. I have passed your comments on to the Chef and also with the team. Kind regards Colin Heaney General Manager

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed September 24, 2015

We booked a cottage for three nights. We arrived and discovered that you can't drink the water in the cottage. Shocking given the price of the cottage...and we were not told in advance. The first morning we woke up there was NO running water at all. We had to use the spa area to shower. It was dirty and had...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank CEBE2014
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review

Dear CEBE2014, It is disheartening to learn that you were disappointed with aspects of your stay here. I am however pleased that you mentioned this to my team and that they tried to rectify this for you. Please accept my sincere apologies for any disappointment caused. Thank you for leaving us your feedback. It is only through feedback that we...

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 24, 2015

Our daughter had purchased a afternoon cream tea as a Christmas gift. Alas owing to numerous business and personal commitments, we had completely overlooked the gift./ We took advantage of a break from commitments to enjoy the "Gift" on a sunny August afternoon. The whole experience was really good, we sat outside in a delightful court of the delightful hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review

Dear Bob C, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your afternoon tea here with us. What a thoughtful gift, such a great present idea! Thank you for leaving us such lovely feedback. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future. Warm regards Colin Heaney General Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

858 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (452)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (123)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (93)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Other (179)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (343)
Viewed
Amenities (50)
Viewed
Broadway Suite (30)
Viewed
Deluxe Traditional Four Poster Room (20)
Viewed
Deluxe View Feature Room (22)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Rambler Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Second Standard Double Room (21)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (18)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (18)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (18)
Viewed
The Great Chamber (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)
Viewed
Third Standard Double Room (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
1.5 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,274 reviews
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
990 reviews
10.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,208 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Imagine a hotel where roaring log-burning open fireplaces hint at its roots dating from the 1300's. Picture a Great Hall Restaurant with a vaulted ceiling and original wood panelling built in the seventeenth century. Visit a hotel that has been coloured by the characters of history. At The Lygon Arms, with its 78 rooms you can stay in the suite that King Charles I once stayed in the night before the Battles of Worcester in 1651. See the carvings of John Travis' name on the arch of the front door, etched into the hotel's history in 1620. An historic hotel in the heart of Broadway with a typically Cotswolds history. Dine in The Great Hall, Barringtons our typical all day dining brasserie or have lunch, a coffee or a Cotswold Gin and Tonic in one of our many lounges. A spa , swimming pool and The Lygon Gardens await you but most importantly the team look forward to welcoming you. . ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lygon Arms

Address: High Street, Broadway WR12 7DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Price Range: $204 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lygon Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your The Lygon Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo The Lygon Arms Hotel Broadway
Barcelo Lygon Arms
Barcelo Hotel Lygon Arms
Lygon Arms Broadway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Lygon Arms staff and other travelers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from The Lygon Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“we had room 51 which was right opposite the inside way to the Spa and swimming pool.”
 of 5 bubbles Rampit, 5 days ago | Read review
“Ask for a room in the grounds rather than the main hotel building - easier access and beautiful surroundings.”
 of 5 bubbles gperky, 1 week ago | Read review
“All rooms perfect”
 of 5 bubbles jensmollerc, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“The Four Poster rooms in the beautiful setting that is the Lygon Arms, adds to the charm”
 of 5 bubbles JumboPaul, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“43 it's haunted 😂👍🏼We had room 8 it was woderful”
 of 5 bubbles 660rae, 3 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question