We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Lygon Arms

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
Panoramas (20)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,107: English reviews
Start your review of The Lygon Arms
 Click to rate
New Inn
Reviewed yesterday NEW

A lovely building, great atmosphere. Loved the little snug areas with open fires. The food in the restaurant was delicious. However... the staff feign helpfulness , they really don't want to be bothered and that is quite obvious, more concerned with chatting to each other than attending to guests. They made a big deal about being able accommodating the time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn B
United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Nice hotel in the old part, courtyard pretty. Don't like the annex rooms no character shame for £200 a night. Dinner in the great hall was nice, cold in there so wrap up even though they told us they are having a refurb and this will be dealt with ( didn't help us though ). Staff are nice and great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greatfresh
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Went here for an expensive treat xmas break expecting to be a little spoiled. Stayed outside in the courtyard in a cottage with 4 poster. Wonderful. The finish though in the main hotel, whilst period, is poor. Cables and pieces of metal hanging out of walls. Nice spa spoilt by inability to bring drinks. Had to walk across courtyard into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jules_Hicks
Graeme N, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review

Dear Jules_Hicks, thank you for posting a review following your stay last year. I was sorry to read that you were not pleased with all aspects of your time with us and only wished you had passed on your feedback throughout your stay, allowing us the opportunity of addressing your comments. Thank you once again for taking the time to...

Herts.
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have read through some of the more negative comments and cannot understand what happened as my wife and I had a superb reception and a great visit courtesy of an inclusive gift from our daughter and my wife's mother. Arrival could not have been better - We were early on arrival and our room was not ready - Valet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WillandBud
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here last weekend it was really good. Staff very friendly and accommodating . Parked our car and showed us to room. I have not had that recently usually they give you the key and instructions. It was a nice touch. Food was good had 3 course dinner in the Great Hall, Used there pool sauna very clean supplied robes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janet y
Graeme N, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review

Dear Janet y, thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Lygon Arms, I was delighted to read you enjoyed all aspects of your visit and your kind words are truly appreciated and will of course be shared with the team. We will look forward to welcoming you back soon Thank you...

London
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The hamlet of Broadway is really pleasant, there's a great walk to the Tower and nice pubs. The Lygon Arms is also really lovely, its a really old quaint building. The staff are all excellent, really friendly and can't do enough for you. There are nice fires the whole time and generally great service. It has the potential to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NeilSuzanne
Graeme N, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review

Dear NeilSuzanne, thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you found our team to be excellent and that you enjoyed our glorious open fires. I truly appreciate your comments on pets and rest assured the small dining room, the separate area just before you enter...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Lygon Arms is a wonderful hotel and holds fond memories of my childhood. Came for spa day with friend. Nicole who was my therapist for massage and facial is fab.!She's very friendly and I had one of the best back and shoulder massages and mini facial. Spa facilities are to be refreshed soon which will be great and will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:

We are delighted you enjoyed your spa day here with your friend and considered Nicole's facial and massage 'fab', she will be delighted to get that feedback. We look forward to seeing you here again soon once the spa refurbishment is complete. Kind regards Graeme

Welsh Borders
Reviewed 1 week ago

We love Broadway and we love the Lygon Arms. Tonight we called in for a drink and had such a friendly welcome from the staff. The usual cosy areas, so relaxing. We realize it is going through a refurbishment and we are very pleased that the owners intend to keep this wonderful building up to a good standard. We haven't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wandaway
Management response:

Thank you for your lovely comments following your drinks here recently. We try to be dog and people friendly and it is always so nice for our guests to remark on this. You are right Broadway is a beautiful village and The Lygon is at the heart of it so lots to see and do locally. Everyone is welcome as...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The trip was booked via a secret escapes deal. Bed and breakfast plus evening meal. The room was an old room in the main house that had been recently refurbished, very spacious with a lovely ensuite that included a wonderful shower, very comfortable bed, good television and an expresso coffee machine. We were also able to use the spa and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alicia W
Management response:

Thank you for your lovely comments following your 'wonderful stay' we are delighted it was so enjoyable for you. We are very pleased you enjoyed your room in the main house and that everything was really comfortable during your time here. Broadway is indeed the perfect village at the heart of the Cotswolds so ideal for exploring the surrounding area....

Canterbury
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed with friends for two nights. Broadway is a very pretty and small village with many pubs and gift/trinket shops etc. The hotel is the centrepiece of the village and very imposing. The old part of the building is impressive with lots of guest areas, fireplaces with roaring fires and a cosy bar. However there are two outside 60-70's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteveL_Canterbury
Management response:

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here. We are of course delighted that you enjoyed your stay particularly your rooms, the open fires and cosy bar. The Great Hall is indeed awaiting refurbishment and in the meantime I am very pleased you enjoyed your breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to see the transformation....

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

839 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (433)
Viewed
Room/Suite (87)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (121)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (174)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (343)
Viewed
Amenities (50)
Viewed
Broadway Suite (30)
Viewed
Deluxe Traditional Four Poster Room (20)
Viewed
Deluxe View Feature Room (22)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Rambler Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Second Standard Double Room (21)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (18)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (18)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (18)
Viewed
The Great Chamber (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)
Viewed
Third Standard Double Room (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
1.5 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,254 reviews
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
973 reviews
10.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,190 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Imagine a hotel where roaring log-burning open fireplaces hint at its roots dating from the 1300's. Picture a Great Hall Restaurant with a vaulted ceiling and original wood panelling built in the seventeenth century. Visit a hotel that has been coloured by the characters of history. At The Lygon Arms, with its 78 rooms you can stay in the suite that King Charles I once stayed in the night before the Battles of Worcester in 1651. See the carvings of John Travis' name on the arch of the front door, etched into the hotel's history in 1620. An historic hotel in the heart of Broadway with a typically Cotswolds history. Dine in The Great Hall, Barringtons our typical all day dining brasserie or have lunch, a coffee or a Cotswold Gin and Tonic in one of our many lounges. A spa , swimming pool and The Lygon Gardens await you but most importantly the team look forward to welcoming you. . ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lygon Arms

Address: High Street, Broadway WR12 7DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Price Range: $205 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lygon Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Lygon Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo The Lygon Arms Hotel Broadway
Barcelo Lygon Arms
Barcelo Hotel Lygon Arms
Lygon Arms Broadway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Lygon Arms staff and other travelers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from The Lygon Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms at the front are noisy”
 of 5 bubbles 292KathrynB, yesterday | Read review
“Room inside old building or newly refurbished room in outside block.”
 of 5 bubbles SteveL_Canterbury, 1 week ago | Read review
“Call to see if the room is one of the newer most recent decorated rooms”
 of 5 bubbles nicholasg273, 1 week ago | Read review
“A room in the main building is an advantage if you stay in colder weather as you have to get to the main building from outside.”
 of 5 bubbles 690kathys, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“request a refurbished room”
 of 5 bubbles richardcI9593JM, Jan 11, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question