We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sir Christopher Wren Hotel

Save
Share
52-56 Thames Street, Windsor SL4 1PX England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
eDreams
$237
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Hurb$249
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (913)
Room & Suite (484)
Dining (104)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 06/26/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sir Christopher Wren Hotel
Updated 06/26/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 17 hotels in Windsor
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
A truly special hotel at the heart of Royal Windsor. A superb location. Individual charm. First class service and attention to detail. Sir Christopher Wren Hotel has all this, and more. Sheltering beneath the ramparts of Windsor Castle, the hotel enjoys a spectacular setting, overlooking the River Thames at Eton Bridge. The main building holds a unique place in British heritage – and over the years, it has been meticulously restored to offer guests the highest levels of comfort and service. Today, Sir Christopher Wren offers 139 traditional and contemporary rooms, award-winning dining, and Wren's Club gym and day spa, as well as outstanding facilities for weddings, conferences and other events. Every bedroom at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel & Spa features free UK calls to national, local and mobile numbers and WiFi is throughout the hotel. So, if you’re looking for a first-class hotel experience, either for business or pleasure, you’re sure to find it at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Open-air bath
Pedicure
Salon
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Electric kettle
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Dutch and 4 more
2547Reviews32Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 967
  • 810
  • 420
  • 214
  • 137
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Keith M wrote a review Oct 16
6 contributions1 helpful vote
The positive for the hotel is it is convenient for walking round Windsor and getting to Eton. The downstairs is well decorated and the buffet breakfast is first class. The rooms however were a disappointment. They felt in need of a refurb and the standard rooms suffered from being g at the rear and subject to early morning (4am) noise with bottles and bins being emptied and moved. The terrace wasn't open despite welcome letter saying otherwise and staff were perfunctory at best in their attention. Cocktails were "unavailable due to covid" though not sure why as no explanation offered. Not sure if it was due to lack of deliveries but all components were available. The shower in our room was tepid or cold at best whilst our travelling companion had scalding water, so again it felt like some room maintenance was needed. The general feeling was an overall lack of interest in guests. No servicing of rooms was available so you had to ask for extra tea, towels, toilet rolls at reception. We're conscious of the hospitality strains after recent months but there appeared to be a good number of staff around all day but the little niceties of customer service was missing.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Iain T wrote a review Oct 9
Edinburgh, United Kingdom2 contributions
I have stayed at the Sir Christopher Wren several times before. It is in a excellent location and is an historic building but I’m afraid this was my least satisfactory visit. I was in room 46, in the main building. From before 6.00am the water pipes sang like an organ and far too loudly for sleep. The shower in room 46 is one of the kind one dreads - it switched several times from very cold to far too hot. Controlling the temperature was very difficult.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Lesley Denyer, Guest Services / Front Office at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear iaint970 Thank you for reviewing The Sir Christopher Wren following your recent stay, although of course I am sorry that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations. As you are aware Room 46 is in the main original building, however you should be able to control the temperature of the water supply from the shower. In view of your comments our Maintenance team will investigate and this shower may just need a replacement shower cartridge. As a valued, loyal patron, I am sorry that your recent stay, failed to meet our usually high standards. I do hope that this incident will not deter you from returning,especially as you love our location, on the River Thames overlooking Eton Bridge. Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback, your comments are important to us and remedial action will be implemented. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Lesley Denyer Customer Service Manager
Read more
John J wrote a review Oct 7
Exmouth, United Kingdom13 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed here for three nights for our honeymoon. We chose this hotel for its location and because it states there is no smoking anywhere in the hotel. However, after a night out on our first day 04/10/2021, our corridor and room were filled with cigarette smoke. We immediately called reception who sent someone around who confirmed the strong recent smell of people who had been smoking. The hotel has cctv, so they know who was responsible. We again complained to reception in the morning and emailed their head office. No one had the decency to reply to us. They just buried their heads in the sand and dismissed our complaint. We will never stay here again! We paid a lot of money for a treat for our honeymoon and were disappointed with lack of customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lesley Denyer, Guest Services / Front Office at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear J3983WJjohnj Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent three night honeymoon stay. I am sorry that your stay failed to meet your expectations. The Sir Christopher Wren is a completely non smoking hotel and a fine of £250 is imposed against any guest who is caught smoking. Belatedly, I can only apologise if a guest blatantly ignored our policy. I believe that the General Manager has contacted you directly via your personal email to discuss your constrictive feedback, I would like to assure you that we will never ignore a guest complaint. I am sorry that your honeymoon treat was so disappointing. Thank you again for sharing your experience. Kind regards Lesley Denyer Customer Service Manager
Read more
ImpJac wrote a review Oct 3
Essex, United Kingdom888 contributions194 helpful votes
Was emailed several times to upgrade to a club room for an extra £20 so was expecting a lovely room overlooking the river .. NO 1. Wasn’t even in the main hotel.. room was “across the road” which has to be said is like a rabbit warren 2. View… was of the side street to the carpark 3. No slippers or bathrobes in our room had to chase them up with reception.. also minimal amount of toiletries.. not enough for 2 people.. 3. The biggest rip off for me was the AIRCON set at the lowest number of 19c …this temperature is a nice summers day in this country.. barely slept, how can you!!! and had to resort to sleeping on top of the bed with a towel over me Breakfast was fine although hardly anyone was wearing a mask to their seats or indeed over the food as they helped themselves Disappointed is a word I would use for this hotel ..£275.00 paid with parking I would not return ..
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Make sure you know where you room is ..
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lesley Denyer, Guest Services / Front Office at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear ImpJac Thank you for reviewing the hotel following your recent stay. As you know the hotel is in a unique location on the River Thames, overlooking Eton bridge whilst also being in the shadow of Windsor Castle, unfortunately not all of our bedrooms, can or do have views. Bedrooms at The Sir Christopher Wren are split across five buildings, our more traditional bedrooms are situated in the main building while our newer more modern accommodation is across the cobbled street in Windsor House. I am sorry that so many aspects of your stay failed to meet your expectations. Covid rules and regulations are relaxing and whilst we encourage our guests to wear face masks, they are no longer mandatory. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, I am disappointed that your stay was not a more positive experience. Kind regards Lesley Denyer Customer Service Manager
Read more
Darran G wrote a review Sep 2021
Esher, United Kingdom23 contributions20 helpful votes
We checked in 28/09/21 a little earlier than allowed which was a great start our room was ready no 40 a great room with its own balcony and four poster bed I’m not a fan of these beds but for 1 night I could cope , rooms are tidy spacious and have touches of modern and old and it works well nice touch was our champagne on ice which we managed to have on the balcony between rain showers which was great, the bed was very comfortable and bedding and towels very clean top marks, and what is a great touch is the little fridge in the room big plus many hotels omit these now. We had dinner in the brassiere which overlooks the Thames very modern in decor which actually suites the hotel , food was very good our rib eye steaks cooked as we asked the service was also very good the bar chap doubled up as our waiter the brassiere wasn’t that busy so it worked ,,,, the only down side was the Guinness was not on as they had delivery issues and the one I did get was clearly off didn’t have to taste it the smell told you but quickly sorted had a Carl’s berg did the job !!!!!! Wife had a Pinot also did the job , left the brassiere around 2145 returned to our room, we had an issue in the hotel the extractor fan had a major leak which did cause a fairly big flood in our bathroom , but the reception did offer us a new room but we declined as it was now 2215hrs caused a few issues next morning but have communicated with hotel on this issue , did not think it fair to say hotel stay was ruined by this as it was not , overall enjoyed the hotel , we didn’t use the spa or gym on this occasion but had a look and it is off a good standard better than some hotel gyms we have used over the years, we did use the hotel parking system for our car , you pay a little extra but it guarantees you a space in the station car park which is 5/10 mins away from the hotel £15.00 , Windsor is quiet at the moment so parking is available but once the town picks up again this is a good idea and probably needed , we enjoyed our visit to the hotel rooms a little pricey especially at the moment compared to others in the area but if you want a central Windsor venue you won’t go far wrong , one last point the lay out is a tad difficult if you don’t do stairs you will struggle getting to the room up and down quite a lot , not the hotels fault it’s an old building , they also have apartments/ rooms on the other side of the bridge pedestrian walk way we did see any off these rooms as we requested to stay in the main building , I know Sarova Hotels only have 4 hotels but have to say this one is a good one and has a good product It the right place , just hope they don’t price themselves out of the market but would definitely recommend the hotel to others
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Room 40 has a great balcony over looking the Thames and Eton bridge has four poster bed great room
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Lesley Denyer, Guest Services / Front Office at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Darran G Thank you for your extremely detailed and very informative review of The Sir Christopher Wren. I am delighted that you and your wife enjoyed your anniversary celebrations and and that despite the issue with the extractor fan, you had an enjoyable stay. I am thrilled that all aspects of your stay met or exceeded your expectations and that you appreciated the comfortable bed, clean linen and all other bedroom amenities including the fridge. I am pleased you enjoyed the Brasserie with its lovely view of the Thames and that the team were attentive. As you know the hotel is not purpose built and our accommodation is split across five buildings. There is no lift in the main building however, there is a lift in Windsor House, which is opposite and houses our newer, modern bedrooms. We do advise guests with mobility issues to inform us prior to their arrival, as the building is so unique and can involve navigating a lot of stairs. Thank you for sharing your positive, detailed feedback, Sarova strive to provide a quality product, with friendly attentive service that is deemed good value. We want all of our guests to have a positive experience and to wish to return so I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Lesley Denyer Customer Service Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$169 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sir christopher wren hotel windsor, sir christopher wrens hotel, sir christopher wrens windsor
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBerkshireWindsor and MaidenheadWindsor
NUMBER OF ROOMS
139
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sir Christopher Wren Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Sir Christopher Wren Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Windsor Castle (0.2 miles), St. George's Chapel (0.1 miles), and Fudge Kitchen (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sir Christopher Wren Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Long Walk Grill and Bar, Crown & Cushion, and Dum Dum Donutterie.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center, a sauna, and fitness classes during their stay.
Is Sir Christopher Wren Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Windsor.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sir Christopher Wren Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, Portuguese, Polish, and Dutch.