We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sir Christopher Wren Hotel

Save
Share
52-56 Thames Street, Windsor SL4 1PX England
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$185
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/17/22
Hotels.com
$185
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/17/22
Booking.com
$173
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline$173
Travelocity$185
Hurb$203
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (999)
Room & Suite (595)
Dining (115)

About

#7 of 17 hotels in Windsor
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
4.1
Value
3.6
A truly special hotel at the heart of Royal Windsor. A superb location. Individual charm. First class service and attention to detail. Sir Christopher Wren Hotel has all this, and more. Sheltering beneath the ramparts of Windsor Castle, the hotel enjoys a spectacular setting, overlooking the River Thames at Eton Bridge. The main building holds a unique place in British heritage – and over the years, it has been meticulously restored to offer guests the highest levels of comfort and service. Today, Sir Christopher Wren offers 139 traditional and contemporary rooms, award-winning dining, and Wren's Club gym and day spa, as well as outstanding facilities for weddings, conferences and other events. Every bedroom at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel & Spa features free UK calls to national, local and mobile numbers and WiFi is throughout the hotel. So, if you’re looking for a first-class hotel experience, either for business or pleasure, you’re sure to find it at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Open-air bath
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Electric kettle
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Dutch and 4 more
2639Reviews32Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,008
  • 824
  • 430
  • 221
  • 156
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
TravelFamily118 wrote a review Dec 7
San Francisco, California199 contributions113 helpful votes
This felt like a tired old hotel. When I checked in the staff was lackluster. They did what they needed to do but it felt like I was disturbing them by simply checking in. Getting to my room felt like I was going through a maze of small hallways and stairs. The carpet was old and dingy. My room was clean enough but small and I could hear everything in the hallway and nearby rooms. I ate breakfast at the hotel and they were incredibly unaccommodating for a food allergy. While I was here on business for just a couple of nights and it was sufficient for a quick stay, I could not say I recommend this hotel for anything else.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: I was told there is a newer part to the hotel which may be better. I suggest requesting that if...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Louise W wrote a review Dec 5
Warwickshire, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
Again, having seen negative reviews of this hotel, we were open to what we would find, and all I would say is always keep an open mind. This hotel was great from the minute we checked in to the moment we left. Staff were friendly and helpful, the room was very clean and comfortable, the wine by the glass was lovely and the cooked breakfast was tasty, fresh and lovely. We’ve stayed in many lovely hotels and this hotel was certainly fabulous for the price paid.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ian P wrote a review Dec 5
London, United Kingdom2 contributions4 helpful votes
We came to the restaurant for afternoon tea. I had my friend order a gluten free high tea for me as I have coeliac. The "scones" (They were not scones at all) and the cakes were inedible. We spoke to Ed the "manager" about this and he basically said that it was not their policy to do anything because they had specially done my tea. Clearly Ed doesn't have a clue about customer service. I want to be able to enjoy the experience of going for high tea as much as my family and friends but this was such a disappointment. It was as though Ed was telling me its my fault because they made the effort to provide a "gluten-free" tea for me. He had zero empathy. I asked if he would like to try the food so he can taste how bad it was? He declined. I've never ever heard of a restaurant blaming the customer like Ed did. This was meant to be a wonderful experience with friends and it was a very upsetting experience. If you cannot provide an edible high tea for patrons, with food allergys then dont provide one! And to then stand there and praise your staff and put the blame on a customer is dispecable. I have never experienced anything like this before. Absolutely disgusting.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Richy22 wrote a review Dec 1
United Kingdom136 contributions90 helpful votes
Two night’s accommodation in a really comfortable room. The hotel is beautifully situated by the Thames. Short walk to the theatre. Boat rides available too at the weekend. Definitely the best breakfast we have ever had. Staff all lovely especially Bennie in the bar/breakfast area. Can’t wait to go back next year
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lesley Denyer, Guest Services / Front Office at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Richy22 Thank you for reviewing The Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and for awarding us your top score. I am delighted that you enjoyed your two night stay and that we provided comfortable accommodation with an excellent breakfast in a lovely location. As you know we are the only hotel in Windsor with a riverside location, however we are also only a short walk to the theatre, the town centre and the castle. So there is plenty to see and do. I am pleased that the team were friendly and helpful, especially Bennie, he is an asset to the hotel. We want all of our guest to have a positive experience and to wish to return, so I am thrilled that you have already decided to come back next year! On behalf of all the Wren team, we would like to wish you a very Merry Christmas & Happy New Year. Kind regards Lesley Denyer Customer Service Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JCN2411 wrote a review Nov 2022
18 contributions14 helpful votes
+1
Was very dubious about our stay having read the reviews in detail. And I can honestly say that I’m so glad we chose to ingnore the negatives and take all the positives. The staff have been very friendly and helpful from reception to brassiere. The room is comfortable with a large terrace right on the water, it’s clean and has tea & coffee making facilities, There are cosy corners with open fires which was lovely to curl up in with a good book, we did however have to turn the lights down as it was way to bright. The only negative for me would be that when we arrived our room was very cold, but did warm up once we turned the heating on. And the lights in the brassiere are way to bright, they could turn them down to make a little more cosy and romantic, almost pointless having candles on the tables. But overall a lovely stay, We have one more night, and would definitely return. Generally only stay in 5 star, but absolutely love this quirky little place x
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Little jetty outside the hotel that does river trips
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lesley Denyer, Guest Services / Front Office at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear JCN2411 Thank you for taking the time to review The Sir Christopher Wren, whilst you were still a guest at the hotel and for awarding us your top score. I am thrilled that you describe the hotel as a "fantastic little place" and that you ignored all of the negative reviews. I am delighted that we provided large, comfortable accommodation with a terrace and river view. Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding the team and the friendly, helpful service that they provided, in all departments. I am pleased that you enjoyed the quirky layout of the hotel and enjoyed curling up in front of the fires. We think that the hotel is a hidden gem. Thank you for your constrictive comments regarding the room temperature and bright lights in The Brasserie. I am over the moon, that overall you have a lovely stay and would definitely choose to return, we already looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip. On behalf of everyone at The Wren, we would like to wish you a Very Merry Christmas & a Happy New Year. Kind regards Lesley Denyer Customer Service Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Debra K wrote a review Nov 2022
Woking, United Kingdom23 contributions10 helpful votes
We needed somewhere special to celebrate a birthday afternoon tea and we chose the perfect place. The hotel is beautifully decorated for Christmas and all the staff were very welcoming from the Front of House right through to the Restaurant where we were seated. The quality of food was excellent, the atmosphere and standard of service superb. Benedito took great care of us which was really appreciated. Thank you. Would not hesitate to recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Room Tip: Did not stay
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lesley Denyer, Guest Services / Front Office at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Debra K Thank you for reviewing The Sir Christopher Wren Hotel, following your visit for a special birthday Afternoon Tea. I am delighted that all aspects of your day were perfect and that you thought the hotel was beautifully decorated, the staff were welcoming and helpful and the food was excellent. Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding, Benedito he is a superstar and an asset to the team. I am thrilled that we provided an excellent venue for your scrumptious Afternoon Tea and that you would have no hesitation in recommending us. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future, perhaps to celebrate another special event. On behalf of all the team, may we be one of the first to wish you a Merry Christmas & Happy New Year. Kind regards Lesley Denyer Customer Service Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Darrell T wrote a review Nov 2022
Newmarket, United Kingdom38 contributions22 helpful votes
Great location great service. The room was nice, good size. The restaurant and bar was very good. Breakfast was good, lots to eat. Definitely in the perfect spot if you would like to visit the city or see the castle. We will definitely be going back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lesley Denyer, Guest Services / Front Office at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Darrell T Thank you for taking the time to review The Sir Christpher Wren following your recent visit. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and am pleased that we provided spacious, nice accommodation, in a great location with friendly service. Thank you for your positive feedback regarding dining at the hotel, I am delighted that you enjoyed our extensive buffet breakfast and describe the Brasserie and Bar as very good, they certainly have a stunning view over the river. Like you, we feel that the hotel is in the perfect spot, on the river overlooking Eton Bridger, in the shadow of Windsor Castle whilst also only being a short walk into the town centre. So there really is plenty to see and do. We want all of our guests to have a positive experience and to wish to return, so I am over the moon that you have already decided to, please come back soon! Kind regards Lesley Denyer Customer Service Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
You Only Live Once wrote a review Nov 2022
High Wycombe, United Kingdom475 contributions209 helpful votes
** This is a review of the Afternoon Tea at this venue, NOT an overnight stay in the hotel** We spent a very pleasant few hours here enjoying afternoon tea, with beautiful views across the Thames towards Eton. There is free parking for guests and diners at the hotel, in a private bay within the hotel car park - just remember to give your registration number to the hotel receptionist. The staff in the brasserie are friendly and attentive, although our orders were a little mixed up a couple of times, potentially due to a language barrier. Nonetheless we enjoyed our afternoon tea - the champagne sorbet was a delicious touch. As with most afternoon tea selections there was just too much sweet and not enough savoury. We like to be offered more sandwiches, or to have an additional savoury item included in our afternoon tea, but this was not the case here. Overall, pretty good value for money and we would return, perhaps for lunch another time.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Location
Service
Room Tip: As stated this was for afternoon tea, not an overnight stay, so cannot recommend
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lesley Denyer, Guest Services / Front Office at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Trudie S Thank you for taking the time to review The Sir Christopher Wren Hotel following your recent visit for Afternoon Tea. I am delighted that you got to spend a few pleasant hours at the hotel enjoying the fabulous views as the Brasserie looks onto the River Thames and Eton Bridge. Belatedly, please accept my apologies for the mix up with your order, however, I am pleased that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea. We strive to offer a quality product which is deemed to be excellent value for money. Some guests would prefer to have more savoury items, whilst others look forward to all of the sweet treats, so it really is personal preference. Parking in Windsor can be limited and parking at the hotel is not free, the area which you have described is only free for Blue Badge holders! Overall, I am pleased that you had a lovely experience and would consider returning to us again, please come back soon. Kind regards Lesley Denyer Customer Service Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nijsessions wrote a review Nov 2022
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom50 contributions67 helpful votes
Great location . Needs updating Breakfast choices were great and staff very good in all the hotel apart from one on reception middle aged and very grumpy telling us where to park our car. Doorman was the most friendly and helpful. Sitting rooms with fire are lovely .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Check with hotel and pay for parking as it’s worth it. It’s a 5 min walk in the station .Pub...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lesley Denyer, Guest Services / Front Office at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Nijsessions Thank you for taking the time to review The Sir Christopher Wren Hotel. I am pleased that you loved our location, we are the only hotel in Windsor on the river, overlooking Eton Bridge. I am thrilled that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast and found the majority of the team, friendly and helpful. Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback regarding the decor and beds. As you know the hotel is not a purpose built property and our rooms are split across five buildings, bedrooms in the main house are more traditional whilst bedrooms in Windsor House are our newest and are modern in decor. I hope that the positive aspects of your stay outweigh the negative and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to hotel on a future occasion. Kind regards Lesley Denyer Customer Service Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
S B wrote a review Nov 2022
Greater London, United Kingdom13 contributions4 helpful votes
Stayed here for 3 nights for a work event. Although I wasn't paying, I know how much was paid and it seriously wasn't worth the money. Front of house staff were the most miserable I have seen, and I've been to Travelodge. Room was in a winding complex of corridors opposite the reception building. Awkwardly-shaped room meant there was nowhere to even put a small suitcase - ironically, I couldn't hide it in the wardrobe because that was full with a folding suitcase stand that didn't have anywhere in the room to be. Using the shower at what I presume to be peak time in the morning, the hot water ran out. Worst of all is that you have to request the rooms to be made up. I don't mind so much - I can pick up my own towels and make a bed - but it means you don't get refills of the tea/coffee/milk, nor do dirty dishes get taken away if you've ordered room service. Plus it seems like an extremely 'budget hotel' move, definitely a surprise for the price. Wouldn't stay here again. Really not sure what you're paying for other than proximity to the river, but without river views, what's the point?
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Hot water can run out at peak showering times, so be aware!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lesley Denyer, Guest Services / Front Office at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear sandkeeper Thank you for reviewing the hotel following your recent business trip. It is always disappointing to receive negative feedback and I am sorry that so many aspects of your stay failed to meet your expectations. As you know The Sir Christopher Wren is not a purpose built hotel, the property has expanded over the years and bedrooms are now spread across five buildings. Rooms in the original building are older and characterful, whilst our newest and therefore most modern bedrooms are located in Windsor House. Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback, I am sorry that you were underwhelmed by your three night stay. We wish you had a more positive experience whilst being our guest. Kind regards Lesley Denyer Customer Service Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$197 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sir christopher wren hotel windsor, sir christopher wrens hotel, sir christopher wrens windsor
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBerkshireWindsor and MaidenheadWindsor
NUMBER OF ROOMS
139
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SIR CHRISTOPHER WREN HOTEL $168 ($̶2̶0̶3̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Reviews - Windsor, England

Frequently Asked Questions about Sir Christopher Wren Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Sir Christopher Wren Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Windsor Castle (0.2 miles), Fudge Kitchen (0.1 miles), and Escape Experience Windsor (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sir Christopher Wren Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Long Walk Grill and Bar, A la Russe, and Crown & Cushion.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center, a sauna, and fitness classes during their stay.
Is Sir Christopher Wren Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Windsor.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sir Christopher Wren Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, Portuguese, Polish, and Dutch.