We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chichester Harbour Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

472 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 467: English reviews
Start your review of Chichester Harbour Hotel
 Click to rate
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed one night on business. Hotel and staff are lovely. Rooms seem to be a good standard, public spaces like the bar and restaurant really nice. Cooked breakfast in the morning very nice. Car park might be in demand for space so try to get in as early as you can to avoid disappointment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mattefro
Management response:

Thank you for writing this kind review it is always great to see when a guest and truly enjoyed their time with us. I shall pass your kind words on to the team and we all hope that you will have a chance to return again in the near future. Kind regards, Mark Yates General Manager

west sussex
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great hotel in the heart of Chichester, very stylish and great food and service. Recently refurbished to a very high standard. Pleasure to go there when visiting Chichester for shopping. I like to take a friend for lunch on special occasions

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wildbrooks
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to write this very kind review, it is always fantastic to see when our guests enjoy their time with us. I do hope that you will visit Chichester and us again soon. Kind regards, Mark Yates General Manager

Pulborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A beautiful hotel in the centre of Chichester and perfect for an afternoon tea. I was surprised by the girls at work for my hen do for this treat. There was a discrepancy at the beginning around the cost of the tea but this was quickly dealt with and a huge spread appeared on our table. Delicious range of sandwiches,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise P
Management response:

Dear Lousie, Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I am glad to see that you enjoyed your surprise afternoon tea with us. Although I was very sorry to see the level of customer service you received wasn't up to our usual standard, I have spoken to the staff member involved and impressed upon her the need...

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having visited the Chichester Harbour's sister hotels in Christchurch, Salcombe and Exmouth we were looking forward to staying here. We were surprised to be upgraded to The Cottage which is situated at the rear of the hotel next to the car park. Lovely views over the park and great to have more space than usual. Tri-fold doors open out onto...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelgirl185
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I am sorry to see that the little things seemed to have diminished your stay with us. I have spoken to each department respectively about the need for attention to the smaller details of our guests stay. I do hope that you will return again in the near future. Kind...

Braunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Harbour hotels takeover of The Ship in central Chichester has transformed this delightfully situated hotel. Shortly to have a spa facility and further room upgrades make it the place to stay. Very handy to park up and shop and close proximity to Cathedral and Theatre . Hard to fault.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peterb1_11
Management response:

Thank you for writing this kind review, it is an exciting time for us here at the hotel with Spa just one of the many new additions that are coming. We do hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Mark Yates General Manager

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

a pretty hotel but with the absolute worst customer service I've ever experienced. We arrived for our 2 night stay, had the 2 night stay confirmed upon checking in on Friday night and having our car park permit entered in for the whole 3 days we would need it. (At this point it's worth clarifying that the hotel webpage clearly...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank emmacatherinelawn
Management response:

Thank you for writing this review. I have since been in contact directly with you and we can say that you have acknowledged that you had made an error when booking online but this is not an excuse for our failings when checking you and you family in. I can say that we look forward to seeing you again in...

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were looking forward to visiting the new look Ship and decided to go for lunch on a recent visit to Chichester. Having stayed in the previous incarnation many times, we were excited to see the changes. Sadly we left feeling like we had been in the way and were a nuisance. The service was non existent for the first...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank floss2017
Management response:

Dear Floss2017, Thank you for taking the time to write this review, customer feedback is something that we always welcome and attempt to use to improve the levels of service that we provide. I am sorry that we haven't lived up to the standards that you would expect from us. I have spoken to my team and impressed upon them...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 21, 2017

We recently visited this hotel and ordered sandwiches and coffee. We had previously had a similar lunch and were very pleased with the service and presentation, however,this time we were disappointed with the way the sandwich was just plopped on a plate and a few nachos put in a small bucket. For a total bill of £23.00 for two sandwiches...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DellboySussex
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I am sorry to see that on this occasion we haven't lived up to your expectations. I will talk to my team in regards to the levels of presentation for our bar menu and sandwiches. I do hope that you will return and try a meal in our Jetty restaurant...

Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 14, 2017

Family birthday party tea, the food was first class and the staff were excellent nothing was too much trouble, the decor was very relaxing. I will always recommend the Harbour hotel to friends and family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clivejan15
Management response:

Thank you for your kind review, is always great to see when we have live up to and even exceeded our guests expectations. I do hope that you will visit us again in the future. Kind regards, Mark Yates General Manager

Reviewed February 12, 2017

My husband took me away to this hotel for Valentine's weekend. We arrived at 12 on the Saturday and were told immediately our room was not ready. My husband said he requested an early check in and were told actually our room was ready! We then easily registered for our car parking (there were many spaces) and went to our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lorna M
Management response:

Dear Lorna, Thank you for taking the time to write this review, guest feedback is important to us and we always endeavour to use it to improve the levels of service we provide. I am sorry that on this occasion we have failed to live up to the standards that our guests expect from us. You will be happy to...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

276 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (79)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (57)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (169)
Viewed
Kiss Me Kate (29)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)
Viewed
The Importance of Being Earnest (31)
Viewed
The Last Confession (27)
Viewed
The Man Who Came to Dinner (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chichester hotels
3.5 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 9 in Chichester
782 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#7 of 9 in Chichester
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Chichester Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Chichester
1,425 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Nags Head
The Nags Head
#9 of 9 in Chichester
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Jetty Chichester
The Jetty Chichester
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This stunning boutique, Grade II* listed Georgian property, formerly The Ship Hotel, offers a relaxed city retreat with an unrivalled position in the heart of Chichester. It's the perfect place to escape to for a few days of fantastic food, shopping and exploring the South Down's countryside. After a perfect night's sleep in one of the luxurious 36 bedrooms, or the hotel's private cottage overlooking Priory Park, explore the city's enticing mix of boutique and high street shops, renowned art galleries, stylish restaurants and contemporary cafes. Dine in the hotel's restaurant and enjoy an indulgent afternoon tea, pre-theatre dinner, lazy lunch or dinner from their range of menus, showcasing fresh, seasonal and local ingredients. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chichester Harbour Hotel

Address: North Street, Chichester PO19 1NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Price Range: $149 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chichester Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chichester Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship Hotel Chichester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Chichester Harbour Hotel staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
9 months ago
Lancashire

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Chichester Harbour Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Quietist to rear /side”
 of 5 bubbles peterb1_11, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“High floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles HellholesLtd, Jan 21, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet one but remember because of the old lift you will use the stairs”
 of 5 bubbles 947mhairis, Dec 31, 2016 | Read review
“De-lx rooms at Priory Park end.”
 of 5 bubbles TedW595, Dec 30, 2016 | Read review
“Luxury prices but mid-range quality. Check to make sure your room is accessible by elevator as there are lots of stairs”
 of 5 bubbles V5276IXannw, Dec 24, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question