We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

St Mary's Gate Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
St Mary\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 163: English reviews
Reading Berkshire UK
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had been round the Cathedral on a freezing day and were desparate for something warm and found this nice little pub right opposite the Cathedral. .......We entered a nice and warm environment and received a warm welcome from the lady behind the bar. She attended to us very quickly by bringing menus and asking what would we like to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TTFan3d
kent
Reviewed October 30, 2016

I booked the St Mary's Gate Inn for 3 nights to celebrate my husband's birthday by spending the weekend in Arundel. The inn is situated at the top of a hill next to the Cathedral. We arrived early, Nevin the landlady was there to greet us and show us to our room in the annexe at the rear. There was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank giantkillerjack
bojt2015, Owner at St Mary's Gate Inn, responded to this review

Hi Guys Thank you so much for your review. It was lovely to meet you both - especially as you were celebrating! I hope you didnt stub your toe on the foot end :) I'm glad you enjoyed your time in Arundel and hope to see you again. Many thanks & Kind regards Nevin

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 22, 2016 via mobile

The room was tiny, the curtains scraped my head all night, and presumably all those heads that had been there before me. The bathroom floor was so mucky it stuck to my shoes and I had to cover it with towels. I felt dirty after a night in there, which was unfortunate because the hot water in our 'family' room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhileasFogg1965
bojt2015, Owner at St Mary's Gate Inn, responded to this review

Hi There, I'm sorry you feel the need to leave such a scathing review. I'm, afraid as you didn't speak to anyone at the time there was no opportunity to investigate the situation. To be honest I disagree with almost everything you have written and in fact your comments seem malicious. The entire B&B was refurbished 2 years ago -...

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 16, 2016 via mobile

Met a good friend for a catch up dinner here recently. The venue is well decorated and clean. It was very busy with locals on arrival, a good sign I think. There is free wifi for patrons/guests, which is always handy and appreciated. Overall staff were friendly and attentive however, one member of staff was a little curt and therefore...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beaubeaus
bojt2015, Owner at St Mary's Gate Inn, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you for your review - your comments are really valuable to us. I'm glad you enjoyed your experience at St Marys Gate but I apologise you found a couple of issues. I have taken both points on board and will share them with our team. Its constructive feedback that allows us to improve so thank you. kind...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 9, 2016

It was very quiet when we went in, and the place was well kept. Food was good only let down by a tiredish salad. Beer is well kept and the people are very pleasant. Typically a sound three star establishment. However there is a very cute dog who comes over to say hello. Extra star for a cute friendly dog!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M L
Windlesham, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 14, 2016

We have just returned from 2 nights here where we had a lovely time visiting the Castle and other sites in the Area. St Mary's Gate is located in a very quiet part of town and is right next to the Cathedral (no bells chiming!). We arrived early and left our car in their car park whilst we explored, returning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger G
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 4, 2016 via mobile

We recently stayed at St Mary's gate for my mums wedding. The inn was ideally located right in the town centre, which made travel to and from the wedding venue very easy. The off road parking for guests also meant we could park our car with peace of mind, knowing it was in a safe car park. The room it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bethany B
Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and we couldn't have been happier. The room was very comfortable and clean and all the added touches made it feel like home from home. We had an iron, hairdryer, plenty of tea and coffee and the toiletries were refilled daily. All the staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was lovely too, lots...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine J
Manston, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 1, 2016

We stayed in a ground floor room which was very nice and convenient for my disabled husband as we parked the car right outside the room. Being fit I was able to walk to the castle in 10 minutes with no trouble but my husband was unable to use his mobility scooter as it is a very steep and uneven...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsMinder
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 25, 2016

As above, but I wished we had stayed longer rather going to the place we did stay to eat ( see other review in Arundel). The member of staff welcoming as were others in the bar, the menu looked good and oh how I wish we had stayed! We most certainly will because we are coming back for the Jousting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tracey t
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
4.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
505 reviews
4.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
731 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#4 of 7 in Arundel
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Arundel Hotel
4.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about St Mary's Gate Inn

Address: London Road | (next to castle & cathedral), Arundel BN18 9BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Price Range: $92 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — St Mary's Gate Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms and Travelocity so you can book your St Mary's Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Mary`s Gate Hotel Arundel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from St Mary's Gate Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“If you have mobility issues ask for a ground floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles MrsMinder, Aug 1, 2016 | Read review
“don't have to all rooms good”
 of 5 bubbles rorum, Jul 6, 2016 | Read review
“Phone and check availability early”
 of 5 bubbles RKR-SAR, Apr 13, 2016 | Read review
“Disabled rooms available in the annex part of the pub, still top quality x”
  • our lovely comfy bed !
 of 5 bubbles lanadawson, Apr 11, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are great, we opted for gorgeous 4 poster bed.”
 of 5 bubbles 12mishka, Apr 9, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay