We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

426 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 420: English reviews
County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Dislike: The hall way always smelt of cigarettes/others even though it's a non-smoking section The heating wouldn't work, a small heater was provided on the 3rd day. No varieties in the breakfast, don't get me wrong theirs might be suitable for the grade of hotel but I fill all hotel should have fruit salad 🥗and yogurt cause theses are basic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gladys A O
Dalkeith, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel has good parking available and is in a decent location. 5 min walk and you are in the star city complex so plenty of choice for food etc. My room was a good size, bed comfy and everything there as to be expected. Tv a good size. The shower / toilet again was a good size and clean....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As with most Holiday Inns, it's cheap and generally clean. We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting the trade fair at the NEC for my wife's business. The room was quite big but the bed wasn't too comfortable. It had a kettle, iron, ironing board, hairdryer and TV which all come pretty standard with this chain. We asked about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul y
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Comfortable bed good room price. Heating broken given a heater. Then found another in the room so they knew heating broken. Avoid breakfast grey scrambled eggs luke warm bacon and sausages. The rest of the breakfast ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josie T
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this review

Hi Josie T, Thank you for staying with us and for writing us a review. It is great to know that you found our beds to be comfortable and room price to be good. However, I am sorry that the room heating system was not enough to keep the place warm and the issues at breakfast. I would like to...

Cumbria, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Brilliant hotel not too sure about Star City itself but we did play pool. Room was very well equipped with tea and coffee facilities also iron and ironing board . Good breakfast and very nice staff. Will definitely stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank car0lineh59
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

In the interests of providing a balanced review I would like to start with the following positive comments: Ample free parking, make sure you provide registration details or you will be penalised. Air conditioning in rooms very good, a vital necessity when the traffic noise is as bad as it is here. Good free Wi-Fi Room fairly clean with only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L and P
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this review

Dear L and P, We are grateful to you for being one of our guests at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City UK, and getting out of your way to leave us your feedback. We are happy with your positive comments on our room and staff. However, we understand that your stay was not a complete success. Thank you...

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The room is very big and clean, however a bit dated. Needs upgrading. Still has 70s look. No power sockets in the room apart from one BEHIND the Tv. Great breakfast. Nice, courteous stall. Free shoe shine.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chafford H
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this review

Hi Chafford H! Greetings from the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. I take pride in knowing that the cleanliness of our spacious rooms achieved a positive remark from you. However, I'd like to say sorry if you found the room to be over the hill. IHG cares about...

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Not the most exciting hotel but clean and functional. If you need somewhere convenient for the motorway and close to Birmingham on a budget I'd recommend. Pros: Plenty of free parking Close to Star City restaurants Polite, efficient staff Change and comfortable Free breakfast Cons: Decor a little bit jaded Our bathroom smelled quite difficult of curry for no obvious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this review

Dear Sarah J, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment about the parking arrangement, staff and breakfast. However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the decor and bathroom...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great location if visiting star city as it is literally across the road. we stayed for one night. Comfortable and clean. Staff very helpful.It's a thumbs up from me I will definitely stay there again on another visit to star city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karen b
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The best thing about the hotel is the price. The hotel had a notice in reception stating that f the heating in some of the rooms was not working and that an electric heater would be provided... this was not the case. I was moved to another room, where they said the heating would work, but i didn't. they provided...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
IHGService, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this review

Dear Patricia C, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment about our staff, parking and breakfast. However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the heating. We will address...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

147 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (94)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 115 in Birmingham
3,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Address: Cuckoo Road, Heartlands Parkway Nechells, Birmingham B7 5SB, England (Formerly Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Star City)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range: $73 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Birmingham Star City Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Blueberry Hotel
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Just find a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 915alanp, Jan 2, 2017 | Read review
“Dont stay on the second floor”
 of 5 bubbles JaneD252, Nov 19, 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles stumpysbird, Nov 3, 2016 | Read review
“Book Early for good room rates”
 of 5 bubbles grendall69, Oct 12, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back would be quieter but did not notice much noise at the front”
 of 5 bubbles hungerfordbee, Sep 26, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question