We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Conference Park from venuebirmingham

Show Prices
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Conference Park from venuebirmingham
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 155: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Will not win awards but bed was comfy but is in need of an update. Tv in room was broke and the shower leaked, if your just wanting a place to sleep then this is fine! Cheap and cheerful. Did not use the other facilities or have the breakfast

Helpful?
Thank Chris H
venuebirmingham, Marketing Officer at The Conference Park from venuebirmingham, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We have recently received planning permission to extend and improve our accommodation. We hope you would consider staying with us again in the future. More 

East Sussex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We checked in on a Friday evening for the university open day on the Saturday.....pleasant lady at the reception desk. The room was ok. Very basic. Some effort had been made to make it a bit more corative but as we were only there for one night it did not matter as it was clean and the telly worked. However... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mercereau
venuebirmingham, Marketing Officer at The Conference Park from venuebirmingham, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to here about the noise issue during your stay, we will feed this back to management. More 

Lot-et-Garonne, France
Level Contributor
468 reviews
243 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at the 1970's Lucas House for one night for business. On the face of it this former student house is good value but actually the bathrooms and bedrooms are very tired and in desperate need of a refurb. A Holiday Inn Express would be cheaper and the accommodations better. There's a small bar and restaurant and the wifi... More 

Helpful?
Thank francophileonthemove
venuebirmingham, Marketing Officer at The Conference Park from venuebirmingham, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We have recently received planning permission to extend and improve our accommodation. We hope you would consider staying with us again in the future. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I visited this "hotel" with my daughter recently. The only reason being its location to the university where a show was taking place. I had looked at other reviews of which some said ok so I took my chance. On arrival the staff were very nice and friendly. The receptionist told us our room was over the road in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Debra K
venuebirmingham, Marketing Officer at The Conference Park from venuebirmingham, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We have recently received planning permission to extend and improve our accommodation. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile

A friend and I booked a room so we could stay in Birmingham after the T20 finals day. We booked the hotel partly because of its location to the cricket ground which is great and they provided free parking which was excellent. However, what we saw online was a very different story to the room we were given... It's clearly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alex S
venuebirmingham, Marketing Officer at The Conference Park from venuebirmingham, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We have recently received planning permission to extend and improve our accommodation. More 

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2016

I've stayed here twice now, each time for an entire week, and each time I've been satisfied with my stay because I knew what to expect. I think it's important to come into this with expectations under control. The rooms are small, but not cramped. The furniture and bed are comfortable, but not lavish. What you're paying for is a... More 

Helpful?
Thank K-Hobbes
venuebirmingham, Marketing Officer at The Conference Park from venuebirmingham, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2016

It’s the old Lucas training facility. The rooms look like 20 year old training accommodations/ student accommodation. Its dated but clean. Our room had a Tv, tea/ coffee, free bottles of water. We had a large window with a nice outside view. The bathroom is dated but clean and functional. There is a separate shower cubical. There was a wardrobe... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris-and-Soo
venuebirmingham, Marketing Officer at The Conference Park from venuebirmingham, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We have recently received planning permission to extend and improve our accommodation. More 

Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2016

Arrived at 22.00 given the room key and away I went. My company booked me a twin room and I was surprised and disappointed when I found had a single. It was raining and late therefore I just got my head down. The décor is tired and needs an upgrade, There are not enough plug sockets available, this was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
venuebirmingham, Marketing Officer at The Conference Park from venuebirmingham, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We have recently received planning permission to extend and improve our accommodation. Please follow the link for more information: http://www.birmingham.ac.uk/news/latest/2016/07/university-of-birmingham-receives-planning-permission-for-new-hotel-and-conference-centre.aspx More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2016

The best thing about this place is its location - my room overlooked a garden and trees, yet is close to university, Edgbaston and local amenities. The focus is mainly in groups and there is no dinner at weekends apart from functions - Friday night dinner was only a buffet for this reason too. So, the dinner was rather expensive... More 

Helpful?
Thank Max B
venuebirmingham, Marketing Officer at The Conference Park from venuebirmingham, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry for the mixed customer service you received and we'll feed that back to the management. More 

Southampton, England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

It is a similar price to some city centre hotels which offer a higher standard of accommodation, but I needed to be at the University first thing so felt happier staying on-site rather than risking public transport. The room I stayed in was in definite need of modernisation (beige bathroom items, beige marble-look-formica etc. you don't need planning permission to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Twiglet2
venuebirmingham, Marketing Officer at The Conference Park from venuebirmingham, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are planning to do much more than replace the carpets, watch this space for more information. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (35)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#7 of 141 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#28 of 141 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 stars 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
#10 of 141 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a meeting, conference, exhibition and wedding venue at the University of Birmingham. We are only 3 miles from Birmingham City Centre, but our conference park is set amongst green parklands, just off the University of Birmingham campus. We have hosted the 2010 General Election leaders debate and the BBC Antiques Roadshow; we can offer full catering, hotel accommodation and bed and breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Conference Park from venuebirmingham

Address: 48 Edgbaston Park Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B15 2RA, England (Formerly University of Birmingham Conference Park)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Price Range: $75 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Conference Park from venuebirmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Conference Park from venuebirmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Conference Park From Venuebirmingham Hotel Birmingham
University Birmingham Conference Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay