We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Briar Rose Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Briar Rose Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

840 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 831: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

booked two double rooms for me and friends to have a birthday night out in Birmingham. wasent expecting much due to mixed reviews and very cheep prices. Was surprised when we got there both rooms where really clean,the rooms where very spacious,had everything we needed,close to the city centre/night life and the staff where so friendly and extremely helpful.Due to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Deaine D
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Deaine D, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. Many thanks The Briar Rose Hotel Team More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Located in the centre of town at £39 for a double room Sunday night very good value. Small but well decorated room, decent size bathroom soap and shampoo included nice soft towels, free Wii fi, tea coffee biscuits and bottled water, fan in room. As this is a wetherspoon hotel food and drinks very good value. The only reason I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 392del
BriarRosehotel, Manager at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, 392del, Thank You for taking the time to leave us a review. The team at The Briar Rose Hotel are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It is unfortunate that on this occasion the bed wasn't to your satisfaction, we take every bit of feedback on board so we can better our services we provide... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As previous reviews have said the hotel is very convenient to New Street station the check in process was dealt with by a friendly efficient duty manager the room was a little dark but had nice touches of water tea coffee biscuits and a rubber bath mat towels were a good size and fluffy extra security on the corridors by... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank GMH13860
BriarRosehotel, Manager at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GMH13860, Thank You for taking the time to leave a review. The staff at The Briar Rose are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, We are happy you found the Hotel Very convenient for you. We do hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, The Briar Rose Hotel Team More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Was attending a festival in Birmingham over the bank holiday weekend at the end of August and chose to stay here. Was good value for money at only £39 and the room was clean, comfortable and nicely furnished, exactly what you'd expect from Wetherspoons.

Helpful?
Thank joshevans36
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here for one night with a friend recently and was pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and fairly nicely decorated (but of course that's down to personal taste to a degree). I am a wheelchair user but no accessible rooms were available, but luckily the standard rooms had wide doors and were a fair size so I could... More 

Helpful?
Thank mollierosebud
BriarRosehotel, Reception Staff at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mollierosebud, thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. The staff at The Briar Rose are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, every bit of feedback is taken on board so we can keep providing our guests with the best possible service. An accessible twin room is definitely something to consider for... More 

london
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very comfortable bed and although it was a busy Saturday night in the street, it was easy to shut out the noise (truth to tell, I don't mind signs of life anyway). Very courteous receptionist at 11pm on Saturday night, dealing with Saturday night issues well. Had a nice bath in the morning that was hot so no issues with... More 

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Helpful?
1 Thank Howard S
BriarRosehotel, Manager at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Howard s, Thank You for taking the time to leave such a lovely 5* review! The Staff at The Briar Rose Hotel are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon in the near future. Kind Regards, The Briar Rose Hotel Team More 

llanelli
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Apart from a strong damp smell in the corridor to our room 110 on the 1st floor we had upgraded our room the waft of cigarette smoke rising up from smokers outside the pub and the noise outside until 1.30 am it was good.the room was very nice air conditioned great shower free 2 bottles of water. Was in a... More 

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Helpful?
Thank holslover_9
BriarRosehotel, Manager at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review

Dear holslover, Thank You for taking the time to leave a review, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do apologize for the points you mentioned and would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention so we can rectify this immediately. We do hope to see you again in the near future.... More 

Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited this pub today To be treated by rude and unhelpful bar staff Then to witness the bar manger having a go at a bunch of lads having a laugh in a pub Which was quite tame Then to send door staff to remove them for no reason !!! Other than high spirits Well done door staff very good conduct... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Russell B
BriarRosehotel, Manager at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Russell B, Thank You for taking the time to give us your feedback on our pub. On Behalf of all the staff at The Briar Rose we do apologies for the service you had received, it is very unlike our staff to show rude and unhelpful mannerism and we do not except this kind of behavior under any circumstances.... More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Although the hotel was located above a pub, we heard no noise from below, but we were on the 4th floor.The room was clean and had all the usual little extras such as tea, coffee and water.The hotel is ideally situated for the theatre district and the Bull Ring shopping area.

Helpful?
Thank janblenks
BriarRosehotel, Owner at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review

Dear janblenks, Thank You for taking the time to leave us a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, Hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, The Briar Rose Hotel Team More 

Iver, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was average, clean enough and a great location. The staff were helpful and keen but the bathroom was below par, in particular the shower head. I found the mattress uncomfortably firm, which wasn't to my liking and would stop me from returning.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard1512
BriarRosehotel, Manager at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard1512, Thank You for taking the time to leave us a review. We apologies for the discomfort you received whilst staying with us, all comments are taken on board so we can improve the service we offer to our guests. We do hope we see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, The Briar Rose Hotel Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (71)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 141 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 stars 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#2 of 141 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#6 of 141 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 stars 2,043 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#5 of 141 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 stars 2,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally located right in the centre of the vibrant city of Birmingham, The Briar Rose welcomes business and tourist visitors alike. We have 40 individual bedrooms, many with high, vaulted ceilings. All of our rooms are en suite and include tea and coffee-making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. FREE Wi-Fi is available in the bar area. Irons and ironing boards are available upon request. Dental hygiene and shaving kits are available to purchase from reception. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Briar Rose Hotel

Address: 25 Bennetts Hill, Birmingham B2 5RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Price Range: $59 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Briar Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briar Rose Birmingham
Briar Rose Hotel Birmingham
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#35 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay