We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

809 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 787: English reviews
Kilwinning
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Rooms here are very much box like and you can have a room with a window or a windowless room. we booked the room with a window as we were not keen on a room without a window. bed was comfortable and rooms clean and tidy. shower room and bathroom was also clean and tidy but addition of tea and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian K
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Awful location , small room , totally claustrophobic, too hot, room allocated had a damaged door frame so didn't shut it lock but moved to another room. Poor phone signal. No tea , coffee making facilities, need to go out for breakfast, room not sound proof - loads of noise. Wet room small & remained soaking wet, no hair dryer.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth S
Sebastian S, Guest Relations Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth, Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay with us at BLOC Hotel Birmingham. Even when we receive negative comments after a guest's stay we look to take them on board and see how we can improve aspects of what BLOC provides where that is feasible. Obviously we consider that our location in Birmingham's jewellery quarter is... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

With or without window rooms. Is based on the Japanese pod and thus stuff you don't need isn't there. If your only bothered about sleeping then you won't have a problem. Good king size bed good mattress. Aircon in room. Bathroom is a wet room with good pressure/temperature shower.

Helpful?
Thank David T
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear David What a pleasure to hear that you embraced our design concept at BLOC Hotel Birmingham, where we have focussed on providing everything that you need for a great night's sleep without any of the unnecessary extras. By doing this we are able to offer our rooms at incredibly competitive rates starting at less than £50 per night for... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I went down for a business meeting and the hotel I stayed in was moderately ok. Very small compact room. No window and an open bathroom/shower room. It's perfect for what I was down for but I wouldn't recommend it for a holiday down to Birmingham. The bed is so so so comfy! The lighting in the room for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Antonia M
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Antonia Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay with us at BLOC Hotel Birmingham. Some of the highlights of your stay seem to have been our lovely invigorating shower and our very comfortable King-sized bed. Our standard rooms are all designed to provide guests with an ideal base from which to spend time in Birmingham, you had... More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with some friends. We all had premium rooms which means you have a window. First impressions of the lobby are it's compact and clean. The rooms are very small so don't expect anything more than a place to sleep, get clean and change clothes. Location is fairly decent, just a short walk into town. One... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin W
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Martin Thank you for sharing some of your thoughts after your recent stay at BLOC Hotel Birmingham. I am pleased that you found much to like at BLOC and were able to take advantage of the weekend parking deal. Our rooms are compact but presented with the highest standards of cleanliness and I hope that you found that they... More 

Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed in room 005 last night and did not get the peaceful lie in i'd hoped for. We were out the night before enjoying a few drinks in the jewellery quarter and got to bed around 1am. Unfortunately for us our room was positioned next to a building site where works were going on even on a Sunday morning.... More 

Helpful?
Thank gems1388
Sebastian S, Guest Relations Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear gems1388, Thank you for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review on your recent stay at the Birmingham BLOC. I hope that you enjoyed your night out in the Jewellery Quarter! I am sorry to read that you were disturbed by building work during your stay. We are currently completing some essential maintenance work at the property but... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The bed was comfortable, the whole room was clean. There was a shower room. The whole room was cosy and well thought out. To be clear there are no windows, that's almost the whole point so it's more compact. So no fresh air as such but for one night stay for a night out in Birmingham we would definitely stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charlie H
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Charlie Thank you very much for your positive comments after your recent stay with us at BLOC Hotel Birmingham. I am glad that the high standard of presentation of our rooms appealed to you and that you would definitely stay at BLOC again. Just for your information we do have others rooms available, our Vista rooms, that have windows... More 

Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Good points - nice quiet location. 15 mins walk to centre. Few local bars and a couple of places to eat nearby (not tried). Rooms very quiet with excellent soundproofing. Didn't hear doors banging all night long. Beds very comfortable - soft. Good pillows. Clean and functional room and large enough for an overnight stay.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helen W
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Helen Thank you for your comprehensive review after your recent stay with us at BLOC Hotel Birmingham. I am delighted that there is such a long list of those things that you felt were very positive about BLOC. Our aim has been to provide comfortable, well-designed rooms in a great location, as a perfect base for staying in, or... More 

Broxburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really enjoyed this quirky wee hotel. Rooms are small but comfy. Bed is HUGE and I slept like a log. Tiny bathroom with Rainfall shower. Whole room gets soaked but drys quick. Room was quiet. Weird having a rollerblind but no window but just made it all the more quirky. Location was great, very central and lots of bars and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Keith M
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Keith Many thanks for your positive comments about all the things that you enjoyed during your recent stay with us at BLOC Hotel Birmingham. To hear that you had a wonderful and comfortable night's sleep is of course a great pleasure as that is what we look for for all our guests. I am, however, disappointed to hear that... More 

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was aware of the "minimalist"/"pod" concept before my first visit and can understand why it's not to everyone's liking; yes the rooms are compact with just a bed and 1 side table in the way of furniture. You normally pay a little bit more for a room with a window (there is excellent lighting however which makes up for... More 

Helpful?
Thank lorrainem302
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Lorraine It is really great to hear from a guest who has stayed on many occasions and to receive your comments on those aspects of BLOC Hotel that you really like. BLOC has been designed to offer a sleek and sophisticated alternative to other more traditional hotels, yet still be able to offer rooms at prices that start at... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

313 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (159)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (81)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (124)
Viewed
Accessible Room (32)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Standard Double Room No Vista (27)
Viewed
Standard Double Room With Vista (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#54 of 141 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 stars 941 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#6 of 141 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 stars 2,053 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#8 of 141 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 stars 1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#27 of 141 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 stars 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Address: 77 Caroline Street, Birmingham B3 1UG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Price Range: $60 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bloc Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Bloc Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#21 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay