We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bloc Hotel Birmingham

77 Caroline Street, Birmingham B3 1UG, England
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Coffin Works
    0.3 mi
  • 3 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed yesterday
Excellent location for fashionable Jewellery Quarter
Stayed on a Saturday night in order to take in a concert at the... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

877 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 853: English reviews
London
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed on a Saturday night in order to take in a concert at the Town Hall, just 15-20 minutes' walk away. Paid for a "Vista Plus" room which had more space than other cheaper rooms; the "vista" is relative - all we could see was the side of a derelict building, but at least we had two windows, because some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GaryW14
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel has a great concept and it was clear that a great deal of thought has gone into creating something contemporary and stylish on a reasonable budget. Unfortunately the rooms are so tiny that couples have to climb over each other to leave/enter the bed and the shower water washes over the toilet at the same time it washes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Claudine L
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Claudine Thank you for your review providing us with some useful feedback after staying with us at BLOC Hotel Birmingham. Our standard rooms are compact and we do try to advertise them honestly as such. Our pricing policy reflects the fact that they are compact, with rates starting at just £49 for a double room. We do appreciate that...

Droitwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had booked this hotel a while before so that we could go to a show at the town hall and enjoy the Christmas market without the worry of driving back. I became ill on the day and it was too late to cancel so we went anyway. The room was perfectly adequate and modern, had I been well it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma P
Sebastian S, Guest Relations Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Emma, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of BLOC St Pauls. I hope that you are, by now, feeling much better. I was very sorry to read that you had to check out after just a few hours. I was also very concerned to read about the noise you experienced outside your room. Please do...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was really pleased with this choice , wanted a room with window as can feel claustraphobic . Didn't realise microwave fridge and sink in room . Tea making facilities. Lovely clean bed and great mattress, shower great only downside door to bathroom only partly obscured . Also room was cold , asked at reception to help with more heat and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anntink12
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Ann It is great to receive a review from a guest who has stayed in one of BLOC's recently launched Apartrooms in Birmingham. Whist we do have our more compact Vista rooms with windows, you get many more facilities and much more space in an Apartroom. As you discovered there is an integral kitchenette so you can have the...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for business. The room I stayed in was very compact to say the least. Having said this, for me it wasn't a problem as I was only staying for one night. Not sure I would recommend for more than one night just due to the lack of space. I stayed with my partner and we struggled to both...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jade F
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Jade Thank you for letting us know how you got on during your recent stay with us at BLOC Hotel Birmingham. It is good to know that you had a pleasant stay and found the staff to be friendly and welcoming. Our standard rooms are compact, a fact which is reflected in our pricing structure with standard double rooms...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great area, quiet but plenty of bars/pubs/restaurants within a 5/10 minute walk and also extremely close to city centre (15 minute walk to bullring). Room was clean and modern and on first look it was great, but just so small! Really bad lighting, and there is no storage so the room ended up becoming extremely messy. There is no ventilation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 69,913,050
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at BLOC Hotel Birmingham. It is good to know that you found BLOC to be in a great location for your visit and that you thought that BLOC is a lovely hotel. It is a shame that you were not entirely happy with your room size; our standard rooms are...

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice looking hotel in very quiet and posh part of Birmingham. Receptionist very pleasant and polite. Car parking is about £5 for 24 hrs in nearby NCP which you can't fault. I couldn't find any parking nearby for free We had vista plus which is nice enough but a little small. Personally I'd go apartment room if I'd come again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smiler12
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Thank you very much for posting such a full and positive review of your stay with us at BLOC Hotel Birmingham. We really appreciate feedback as it enables us to make improvements going forward and be aware of those little details that we can work harder at getting right, the window winch being a good example! The St Paul's area/Jewellery...

Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in an apartroom which was fully knitted out including washing up liquid! Such a clever concept and such a comfortable stay. Wonderful bed. Lots of good tech features. We would recommend to anyone. Oh yes, and great value!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AngieWootten63
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Angie I'm so pleased to hear that you stayed in one of our new Apartrooms and loved it! We have tried to make sure that those who want more space and more facilities are catered for at BLOC Hotel Birmingham and the Apartrooms are particularly well-suited for those who might want to stay for longer than just a night...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had an enjoyable stay at this hotel - very comfortable beds (better than the purple hotel Pre....r that says its beds are excellent - NOT) - room was compact as stated, but had all we needed for an overnight stay - bed - tv - toilet - sink - shower reception will give you more coat hangers or blankets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DawnandSi
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Dawn and Si What a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us at BLOC Hotel Birmingham! It is also great that the Reception team get a special mention as they are continually working to ensure that guests are made to feel welcome, both on arrival and during the course of their stay. Thank you for...

Bucks
Reviewed December 18, 2016

When you stay anywhere you expect to have more positives than negatives. The Bloc achieves this but you do have to take some of the negatives into account. The rooms are comically small. You don't get breakfast included (extra for a continental brekkie ) There is a bed, a TV, a toilet/wet room and that's it. So the positives are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dexterBucks
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Dexter Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a comprehensive review of your stay with us at BLOC Hotel Birmingham. Our concept revolves around the idea of pared down luxury, making up in quality fixtures and fittings what we have lost in terms of floor space. This also means that we are able to offer...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

346 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (192)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (108)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (124)
Viewed
Accessible Room (32)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Standard Double Room No Vista (27)
Viewed
Standard Double Room With Vista (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#58 of 115 in Birmingham
1,012 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 115 in Birmingham
2,206 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#27 of 115 in Birmingham
1,063 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 115 in Birmingham
3,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Address: 77 Caroline Street, Birmingham B3 1UG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Price Range: $51 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bloc Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Bloc Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#21 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Bloc Hotel Birmingham staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Bloc Hotel Birmingham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Try and ask for a window in your room.”
 of 5 bubbles JASON247, Dec 7, 2016 | Read review
“The apartments are definitely worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles Ladowding, Nov 27, 2016 | Read review
“A room with a window is better”
 of 5 bubbles Samboii, Nov 13, 2016 | Read review
“Choose the option of a windowless room for a budget price but do accept that they will be small.”
 of 5 bubbles MessengerM, Nov 6, 2016 | Read review
“Lots of light switches, hours of entertainment!!”
 of 5 bubbles 293leigha, Oct 23, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question