We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,190 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,154: English reviews
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I was hoping to stay in the Mailbox but with a short notice booking missed out. The Holiday Inn wouldn't have been my first choice but I was very pleasantly surprised. The reception staff were very friendly. The room is large & with two picture windows, has a nice open feel. Haven't tried the restaurant yet. If the breakfast is... More 

Helpful?
Thank jc0900
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Currently undergoing renovation this hotel is just a short walk from New Street Station and the new John Lewis store which is visible from many of the rooms. Some rooms face the street and can be affected by traffic noise and also people especially at weekends. If you are in one of those rooms you may find ear plugs useful.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Terry P
Glasgow
Level Contributor
78 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have stayed here often and this time cant say it was very nice due to the problems caused by them trying to stay open and not make suitable arrangements whilst renovation is going on. Anyone who needs step free access dont come here as you need to go up stairs to get to reception, which was hard enough with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jason M
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel itself was nice - nice decor quite smart - rooms looked smart aswell! It was just extremely let down on the details and service. My partner tried to iron his shirt in the room with board and iron supplied, the iron must have been very old as it was mouldy inside, obviously he didnt know this until it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chloe B
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Chloe B, Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to know that you find our location convenient. However, I am concerned that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations due to which you did not have a fully satisfactory stay. We understand and apologise for the inconvenience caused by the construction. We are currently working... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Location is perfect, about 2 minutes away from New Street Station and Bullring. Rooms were fine, complete with large telly, air conditioning, and comfy beds. Shower certainly had power - if you forget your loofah the water pressure should do it! Whilst the builders are in (The signs all promise finishing this month!) the restaurant/bar is a small stuffy enclosed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daniel N
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Daniel N, Thank you for your feedback. We understand and apologize for the inconvenience caused by the construction. We are currently working to make enhancements to deliver a more comfortable stay for all of our guests. We hope for the opportunity to make this up to you the next time you are in the area. Sincerely, Joanna Marketing Executive More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Couldn't really fault our stay here, the rooms were nice and service was good. Its ideal for just a one night stay. The only issue we had was the shower as it was dripping most of the night but other than that- all good!

Helpful?
Thank keiranrob
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review

Dear keiranrob29, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am happy to hear that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us. However, I would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused by the shower dripping. We hope you will choose to stay with us again. Sincerely, Joanna... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

All in all, this does exactly what is says on the tin. Really comfortable, nice room, beds great, tv works, kettle works,good location to get anywhere, decent breakfast and the wifi works, what more can you want for the price.

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan B, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Joanna Marketing Executive More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
704 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 469 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

IHG's bizarre charging policies mean that although the Holiday Inn is immediately opposite City Centre Tower, where I need to be in Birmingham, sometimes the Government Rate here exceeds my allowance, but on those occasions I can usually get into the Crowne Plaza at Government Rate, even though I perceive the Crowne Plaza hotels as being a notch above Holiday... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarum_Castle
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Sarum_Castle, Thank you for providing us with your candid feedback. I sincerely apologise for all the inconvenience caused. We understand and apologise for the inconvenience caused by the construction. We are currently working to make enhancements to provide more comfortable stay for all our guests. We hope this experience has not marred your opinion of us and we may... More 

Lincoln, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had two nights here! How bizarre... I entered a doorway which signed posted me to reception, opened the door and it was blocked. Found another entrance which took me to temporary reception. Staff all very pleasant but you can see why they are renovating. Lifts, corridors and rooms all tatty and desperate need of upgrade. Breakfast is cramped in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yellowbellysmithy
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Yellowbellysmithy, Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.... More 

Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is undergoing reconstruction but this does not affect the bedrooms. The rooms are spacious, it was great to see an ironing board and iron in the room anyone who does business stays will understand that usually at most hotels these days you need ask at reception. No noise from outside from traffic and no noise from the construction... More 

Helpful?
Thank grizzmace
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review

Dear grizzmace, Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am pleased to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the comfort and cleanliness of our rooms, convenience of our location and the friendliness of our staff. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

274 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (240)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (99)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#100 of 140 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#7 of 140 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 stars 1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A modern 3-star Hotel located in the Smallbrook Queensway area of Birmingham. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre

Address: Smallbrook Queensway | Birmingham City Centre, Birmingham B5 4EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Price Range: $74 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#32 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay