We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Britannia Hotel Birmingham
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,404 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Britannia Hotel Birmingham
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,328: English reviews
Louth, Ireland
Reviewed December 13, 2014

myself and my cousin booked into this hotel for a weekend shopping trip in November / december 2014. when we arrived the 1st room was tine with 2 single beds crammed against the wall with no room to even get into the rooms. ROOM WAS FILTHY .. TOILET AND BATH WAS MANKY .. Then when we asked to be moved,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Carrief65
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest Please accept my sincere apologies for any problems encountered at the hotel I will certainly discuss your comments with the relevant departmental manages for improvements to be made where deemed necessary Regards

Much Hoole, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 11, 2014

Admittedly my room as very well worn and tired, but the sheets were clean as was the bathroom. The Hotel is in a very central location which made my front facing room a little noisy at 5.30 am when the street cleaners began work. Overall its £39 well spent. After all you get what you pay for. I thought that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trash M
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am pleased to see that the hotel met with your expectations and hope to welcome you again in the future Regards

Drogheda, Ireland
Reviewed December 9, 2014

Went to this hotel in late November, when we checked in, the room they put us in was a poky little room with two beds crammed into it on of which was blocking the radiator and the wardrobe, the carpet was all stained and the curtains were filthy, when we asked to be moved they moved us to a much...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank reyno570
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest Please accept my sincere apologies for any problems encountered at the hotel I will certainly discuss your comments with the relevant departmental manages for improvements to be made where deemed necessary Regards

nottingham
Reviewed December 8, 2014 via mobile

i stayed at this hotel last week. Reception staff were very helpful. Room and hotel very tired looking. Corridors and rooms all need updating and decorating. Very good price for a hotel room but nothing to shout home about.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamPauline
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am pleased to see that the hotel met with your expectations and we hope to welcome you again in the future Regards

Reviewed December 8, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is by far the worst I have ever stayed in! Upon arrival we were greeted by the most miserable receptionist I have ever come across. When I asked if we could have a room on the same floor as the rest of our group I was answered with a grunt! As we got on to our floor the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hayway88
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest Please accept my sincere apologies for any problems encountered at the hotel I will certainly discuss your comments with the relevant departmental manages for improvements to be made where deemed necessary We have a manager on duty 24 hours per day and had you informed them that you were unhappy with any aspects of your stay including any...

Reviewed December 8, 2014

Location of this hotel is excellent right in the heart of the city close to New Street Station,check in was easy,but this hotel is very dated, from TVs with tubes to carpets that have seen better days all this I could live with but unfortunately the walls are very thin and a normal conversation in the next room will keep...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank magictown
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Please accept my sincere apologies that certain aspects of the hotel did not meet with your expectations at this time, and thank you for your comments with regards to our excellent value for money and location. Regards

Sheffield
Reviewed December 8, 2014

Take note of the negative reviews on here - they are all true. We paid £90 for a twin room, rejected the first one and settled for the second one only because we had nowhere else to go. Awful, shabby, dirty depressing place. We arrived to hear the reception staff arguing with irate customers demanding refunds. The room was freezing,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank carolinecag
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Please accept my sincere apologies that the hotel did not meet with your expectations Your comments will be passed onto the relevant departmental managers for improvements to be made where deemed necessary. Regards

County Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 8, 2014

Smell, decor, conditions and room rates aside (horrendous being an understatement), the staff at check were rude, patronising and had no customer skills whatsoever. The gutless chap I was speaking with in particular refused to give his name for a complaint to be made....way to demonstrate your confidence in how you dealt with the matter ! Wouldn't inflict this place...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RACHAEL C
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest Please accept my apologies for any problems experienced at the hotel I do disagree with your comments regards the Staff, as all are extremely hard working and helpful where possible. Regards

Harpenden, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 7, 2014

We stumbled across this gem of a hotel almost by accident and it really can be described as Birmingham's little secret. From the moment we arrived at reception and met the happy, smiling receptionist we knew what sort of a stay we were in for. Now, when I say smiling and happy, I actually mean miserable and almost scary looking...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Kevin A
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest Please accept my apologies for any problems experienced at the hotel I do disagree with your comments regards the Staff, as all are extremely hard working and helpful where possible. Regards

Reviewed December 6, 2014 via mobile

From the moment you arrive you are being deceived. We booked a non smoking room to be told they were busy and had no non smoking rooms left. Next day heard the exact same line over and over again with other customers from reception. The stench of the rooms with the smell of smoke is awful and just lingers on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dallun
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest Please accept my sincere apologies that the hotel failed to meet with your expectations As I would advise any guest, should you experience any issues during your stay or wish to raise any concerns you feel should be brought to our attention, there is a Duty Manager available 24 hours per day who will gladly assist you in...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

704 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (680)
Viewed
Room/Suite (198)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (53)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
1:42
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (351)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#96 of 117 in Birmingham
492 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#60 of 117 in Birmingham
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
The Briar Rose Hotel
The Briar Rose Hotel
#25 of 117 in Birmingham
954 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#34 of 117 in Birmingham
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Britannia Hotel Birmingham is situated in the very heart of Birmingham city centre. The famous Bullring shopping mall is within walking distance and Primark and other high street stores are right next door to the hotel. The hotel's 214 en-suite bedrooms are tastefully furnished, all with tea and coffee making facilities, ideal for cost effective city centre accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Address: New Street, Birmingham B2 4RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Price Range: $37 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Britannia Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Britannia Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Britannia Hotel Birmingham staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
London, United Kingdom
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Birmingham
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Britannia Hotel Birmingham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I was on the 5th floor which was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles catherineh736, 6 days ago | Read review
“If you like a quiet room make sure to ask for one.”
 of 5 bubbles SusanM, 6 days ago | Read review
“Just don't go here!!”
 of 5 bubbles M6813OUamyj, 1 week ago | Read review
“Very Noisy from street all night, Walls paper thin between rooms, hear people having sex. Ladies of the night in the hall at times”
 of 5 bubbles S1031MGdavidt, 1 week ago | Read review
“Don't run away this hotel is disgusting”
 of 5 bubbles TheWildcolonial, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question