We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hatters Hostel -Birmingham

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hatters Hostel -Birmingham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

386 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 342: English reviews
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was a little leery about booking this place after reading the negative reviews, but I was quite surprised at how clean and spacious it was. I decided to stay in a 6 bedroom female dorm, it had a nice clean ensuite bathroom with a shower, and the room wasn't the biggest but I've certainly stayed in smaller. The lounge... More 

Helpful?
Thank FlowerGypsy85
Miami
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

City dwellers hostel, overall appearance of the areas we went in, our room #110, kitchen, dining area and reception was clean. Noise: We were a little nervous of where our room was located, first on corridor, just above main street and next to stairs. We were pleasantly surprised that we heard little if any noise. Room: we got a private... More 

Helpful?
Thank HoneyBadgerUK
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Overall my partner and I thought this place was terrible. As we got soaked walking to the hostel there was nowhere to dry out clothes because the heating was on timer. The shower drainage had hair in it and wouldn't drain properly and all night there was bangs and talking. Myself and my partner couldn't sleep a wink was that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amy R

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good location, and seems like a nice hostel from reviews etc. I stayed in a single room. However, in summary: - Unhelpful desk staff when I arrived (staff on other days were very nice and helpful) - Tiny, windowless room - I was woken up constantly in the night by people walking up an down the corridors and opening the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elle S
Christopher L, General Manager at Hatters Hostel -Birmingham, responded to this review

Hi Elle S, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to see you found our reception stay to be nice and helpful in the main, we will definitely look at ways to improve on our offering and take all comments and suggestions seriously. Should you wish to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact us directly at... More 

Fredericia, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I went to Birmingham for a concert and needed a place to stay. So we chose Hatters Hotels because the location of the hostel was close to the music venue. But after we had checked in and got to our room, it was all messy. The bed was left like someone had just gotten out of it,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Louise N
Christopher L, General Manager at Hatters Hostel -Birmingham, responded to this review

Hello Louise N, Thank you for your review and we are sorry the room was not ready for you on arrival, we will certainly look into why this was the case to ensure it does not happen again in the future. While we cannot always guarantee a check-in before 2 o'clock the rooms are guaranteed of rafter 2 o'clock. We... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Never stayed anywere as bad mould on the bathroom wall no window in room just a old door were window should be freezing cold and when complained was told give me 5 mins and will sort it while he was rolling a fag 1 hour later we were still waiting while sat in our coats we just left and book... More 

Helpful?
Thank butterfly8921
Christopher L, Front Office Manager at Hatters Hostel -Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear butterfly8921, Thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear you had these issues and had to leave due to a family emergency as you previously informed us. Please contact us directly if you wish to discuss it further: birmingham@hattergroup.com Best regards, Letizia More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed here recently in a double room which was very affordable! It was not a weekend but considering it was a hostel I expected much more noise and so was pleasantly surprised at how chilled it was. It reminded me very much of hostels I'd stay in abroad, funky spaces and adverts for hostel organised movie... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rosie K
Christopher L, Front Office Manager at Hatters Hostel -Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Rosie K, Thanks for your review. Our hostel is a great place for groups and our weekly activities bring people together! We take your comments on board, your feedback is important to improve our service. We hope you will return with some friends and join our famous bar crawl! Best regards, Letizia More 

Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here two nights for work, I needed a value for money place as I work for a charity and did not want to waste much valued donations on living it up! I was slightly apprehensive being a more mature visitor, however the staff and residents I met were all very friendly and welcoming. I booked a single room and... More 

Helpful?
Thank valerieBedfordshire
Christopher L, General Manager at Hatters Hostel -Birmingham, responded to this review

Thank you valerieBedfordshire for your review. Great to see you found us warm and welcoming and fantastic to see you liked our porridge which is lovely on a winter's morning. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. More 

1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Inside there are so many areas to explore and find your own hangout space. The design of the communal areas is fun and funky. Bed comfy and clean. Shared with 5 other women which was easier than I thought. The tram stop St.Pauls is only a 5 minute walk away which was brilliant for getting in and out of Central... More 

Helpful?
Thank cathysara
Christopher L, General Manager at Hatters Hostel -Birmingham, responded to this review

Hello cathysara, Thank you for the lovely review and we love the fun and funky areas in our hostel too especially our dining area! In the future if you have any problems finding your way to the hostel for any reason give our reception a call and we can direct you the best and fastest route. We also have maps... More 

Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised with the 24 bed 'sleeper' room - it's divided into more private compartments so you don't actually feel you're sharing with so many people. The first night being a Saturday night I had expected a lot more mess and loud/drunk people but again pleasantly surprised by how chilled and quiet it was and how everyone was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Duchess B
Christopher L, General Manager at Hatters Hostel -Birmingham, responded to this review

Hi Duchess B, Thanks for the comments. The 24 bed dorms are great as you get the best of both worlds larger dorm so you can socialise and feel part of a group but at the same time have your own privacy when you want it. The curtains on the beds always help this. We always keep our hostel as... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

101 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (91)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#24 of 141 in Birmingham
858 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 141 in Birmingham
769 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#57 of 141 in Birmingham
985 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#29 of 141 in Birmingham
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in Birmingham's historic Jewellery Quarter & just minutes from the NIA and city centre, we've kept in tone with our surroundings by ensuring that our accommodation is the blingest in town!Hatters Birmingham Voted No.1 in England 2012 by Hostelworld customers!!Hatters Birmingham awarded No. 1 by Enjoy England 2011!!Hatters Hostels voted Best Hostel Chain in the UK & 2nd Best worldwide for 2008 by Hostelworld customers!!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hatters Hostel -Birmingham

Address: 92/95 Livery Street | Jewellery Quarter, Birmingham B3 1RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range: $15 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hatters Hostel -Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hatters Hostel -Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatters Hostel -Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hatters Hostel -Birmingham staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Sutton, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hatters Hostel -Birmingham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“If you value privacy from the street level and book a private room if possible go for a higher floor.”
 of 5 bubbles HoneyBadgerUK, 1 week ago | Read review
“The bathtub room is very noisy it is right out to the train rails”
 of 5 bubbles 973louisen, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Single traveller if staying longer than 2 nights treat yourself to a double room”
 of 5 bubbles valerieBedfordshire, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“dont expect good service , staff dont care”
 of 5 bubbles xbowie, Sep 30, 2016 | Read review
“Ensuite room was good enough”
 of 5 bubbles ekaterinap257, Sep 30, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay