We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Save
Chapel Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6ER England
Lowest prices for your stay
$60
View Deal
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
travelup.com
Booking.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (667)
Room & Suite (183)
Dining (27)

About

#16 of 31 hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Historic and traditional hotel with 78 en-suite rooms located in the very heart of Stratford-upon-Avon. Ideally situated for exploring the town, the many historical and cultural places of interest, RSC theatres and shops - everything is on the doorstep. The private car park holds 40 cars and the entrance is at 7 Sheep Street, behind the hotel. The overnight cost is £15 per night. In addition there is a Marco Pierre White New York Italian restaurant and The Quill Lounge and Bar, perfect for afternoon teas or a light bite. The meeting and Conference facilities can accommodate up to 80 persons, and the Cabinet Room is perfect for private dinners and celebrations. The hotel is only 3/4 mile from Stratford upon Avon rail station, and easily accessible via the M40 and A439. 4 real fires in the winter!
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Nightclub / DJ
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
2,309Reviews28Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 669
  • 907
  • 459
  • 176
  • 98
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Location is bang in the middle of Stratford upon Avon and all tourist attractions., Ground floor bar and other areas full of character - could really build on this and do better but still pretty good. Old and atmospheric. Rooms.... we had a suite - in old part of building with is quirky (good), desperately in need of decoration (bad), creaky and uneven floors (fine by us). Suite was so disappointing. Standard (small) double bed. Bathroom with shower above bath. Sitting area with one sofa, tv, and chair. Little more than a large bedroom with 1960’s style archway. Very disappointing. Breakfast in small very crowded restaurant but buffet was very good and constantly replenished. Bet service okay but surly and sometimes slow. Evening restaurant is a White Brasserie and is very average at best. Overpriced average food. Go elsewhere. Car park small - £16 per day which I think okay for parking in a major tourist town. This property could be a flagship for a Mercure - instead it’s average and badly in need of an update. That said - go there if you get a good price.
Read more
Booked a one night stay some time ago as a treat for my husband . As the date got nearer and the advice re corona virus became stronger at the weekend , I e mailed the hotel to ask if we could defer our visit in the light of my husbands health . I didn’t even get the courtesy of a response so we made the decision to go . I had requested a room within the original building , that request was ignored as was the request for a nice view ( we overlooked a flat roof with air conditioning units on ) The hotel was practically empty but they still couldn’t meet our request 🤔. The room we were allocated was very shabby, yes it’s a beautiful old historical building but it’s clearly neglected and that’s such a shame . On the positive side , good value for what we paid and the reception staff were very nice .
Read more
I’ve stayed here many times over the years, and on my latest visit I detected quite a few corners cut. The majority of these were in the bedroom: No biscuits with the tea/ coffee making. No pen and notepad. No bath sheets, simply a towel not much bigger than a hand towel. Also noticeable were empty bottles and glasses left outside bedrooms, and this was 5pm! Also a word of advice, don’t park at the hotel......an absolute ripoff at £15 a night! My rough calculations worked out that just from their average sized car park , it had the potential of bringing in well over £100000 of extra revenue a year! I park on a side street for free, with the walk being roughly 800 yards.
Read more
Response from Jason M, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Responded Mar 10, 2020
Dear Freddiedoncaster, Thank you for taking time to post a review following your recent stay. I am sorry that there were elements of your stay that lead to a level of disappointment on this occasion. We have and are still reviewing the items supplied in our bedrooms and have made some changes over the past twelve months. We are looking at our linen with our supplier currently. We are fortunate, as a town centre property to be able to offer our guests on site parking, however this is limited. We do offer the opportunity to access a discounted over night rate at the NCP park on Rother Street and the reception team are able to help and advise on this. As you have mentioned Street parking can be done, within the time restrictions stated on the street signage as determined by the local council. Thanks for the feedback and i do hope to have the opportunity to be able to welcome you back again. Kind regards Jason
Read more
A few days away for my partners bithday, good central location, although £15 to park a car every day is no begin....caught the train. Went to our room on the first floor, unfortunately positioned next to an heating vent? And was very noisy..had to move rooms...this was no trouble and staff very helpful. The new room was great. The hotel has lots of character...very old looks great, I would advise to check local restaurants there is so much choice.
Read more
Response from Jason M, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Responded Mar 10, 2020
Dear linden1969, Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay and i am pleased to see that we were able to make your stay better by offering and alternative room on this occasion and thank you for bringing this to our attention during your stay. i do hope that you will choose to stay with us again the next time you visit Stratford-upon-Avon. Kind regards Jason
Read more
In Stratford for a family event, we had the pleasure of staying at the Mercure. A lovely historic hotel, ideally located for the activities we had planned. Checking in was very pleasant and we received a very friendly, and warm welcome. The room was comfortable, if a little too warm, although I agree with other reviews that a bit of a refurb/refresh might be a good idea. Breakfast was plentiful and of good quality and again we were warmly received into the breakfast room by the Mercure team. I would recommend the Mercure for both its central location, and for the friendliness of the team.
Read more
Response from Jason M, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Responded Mar 10, 2020
Dear Jorge-Valentino, Thanks very much for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay. Its great to read that our location was so ideal for you for your family event. Thanks for the great feedback in regard to the team at reception and also at breakfast. I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again the next time you are visiting the area. Kind regards Jason
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$64 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mercure stratford upon avon, accor stratford upon avon, shakespeare hotel stratford
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandStratford-upon-Avon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
78
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escape Live Stratford-upon-Avon (0.2 miles), The Attic Theatre (0.2 miles), and Stratford-upon-Avon Minigolf (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Honey Blue, Plantarium Cafe, and 33 The Scullery.
Is Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Stratford-upon-Avon.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Shakespeare's Schoolroom & Guildhall (0.2 miles), Anne Hathaway's Cottage & Gardens (0.8 miles), and Shakespeare's Birthplace (0.2 miles).
Does Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.