We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
16 Church Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6HB England
Lowest prices for your stay
$83
View Deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Trip.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (214)
360
Panoramas (7)
Room & Suite (116)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#22 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
This recently refurbished boutique hotel is housed in a 400 year old listed building in the heart of Stratford upon Avon. Located opposite Shakespeare's school, among the ancient half-timbered buildings the town is famous for and only 2 minute's walk to the Royal Shakespeare Theatre. This is THE place for a pre-theatre supper - local pianists play at 5.30pm daily and the atmosphere is great. The 12 funky en-suite bedrooms vary in size, cost and view. Try for a room at the front of the building for the perfect view. Great food is served all day, through till 10pm in this buzzy neighbourhood bistro with Afternoon Tea a particular favorite. Champagne Happy Hour is every Friday at 5pm and the bar is packed with a great, upmarket local crowd. The staff make the place and nothing is too much trouble.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
787Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 517
  • 154
  • 71
  • 29
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
MCW254 wrote a review Mar 2020
Glastonbury, United Kingdom2 contributions
We arrived for a two day break at the start of the Coronavirus travel restrictions. The staff were very accommodating to our last minute change of numbers. The hotel is in a central location, v convenient for accessing most tourist spots, bars and restaurants. Although there is no on-site parking, it is available at a nearby NCP car park for a reduced rate. Our room was beautifully decorated and v comfortable. Great tea and coffee making facilities. The breakfast choice was excellent, as were the breakfasts themselves. Would definitely return here.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from StratfordTownhouseGM, General Manager at The Townhouse
Responded Mar 22, 2020
Thank you for the feedback we hope to see you back here again once we have all got through these very tough times Many Thanks Neil Hanson general Manager
Read more
Andrew wrote a review Mar 2020
St. Neots, United Kingdom12 contributions
Quaint and quirky but a little bit disappointed with the room 2 Singles pushed together but sold as a double, view from window not pleasant, broken chairs left outside, rusty chrome in bathroom, marks on walls and carpet, top of tap missing,bedside lamps not working,some positives single beds comfortable lovely decorated,great location,great tea and coffee facilities good price for high price hotels in area.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from StratfordTownhouseGM, General Manager at The Townhouse
Responded Mar 22, 2020
Thank you for the feedback, sorry you wasn't 100% happy we hope to see you back here again once we have all got through these very tough times Many Thanks Neil Hanson general Manage
Read more
TheLindas wrote a review Mar 2020
Leicestershire, United Kingdom316 contributions170 helpful votes
Had a pleasant one night stay here in a luxury room. Loved the Temple Spa products and fridge with fresh milk , a nice touch. Parking 5 minutes away for about £8.50 a night, make sure you go to NCP and ask hotel reception for the override ticket. Slightly disorganised at breakfast as the lady was trying to do breakfast service and check people out simultaneously? Not sure where the other staff were? Wasn’t terribly impressed with breakfast buffet and filter coffee left out on a warming ring, but the hot food was nice and tasty.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from StratfordTownhouseGM, General Manager at The Townhouse
Responded Mar 22, 2020
Thank you for the feedback we hope to see you back here again once we have all got through these very tough times Many Thanks Neil Hanson general Manage
Read more
Lisa B wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
What a delight, perfect location in Stratford to see everything you need on foot. Great bar and team. Temple Spa products in the bathrooms, nespresso machine - all wonderful; would definitely go back and recommend. Dog friendly to which is the reason we chose them in the end.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from StratfordTownhouseGM, General Manager at The Townhouse
Responded Mar 22, 2020
Thank you for the feedback we hope to see you back here again once we have all got through these very tough times Many Thanks Neil Hanson general Manage
Read more
kevin l wrote a review Mar 2020
6 contributions11 helpful votes
Tristan very attentive polite and helpful Great relaxing atmosphere, wanted. A quality bit quick bite and drink and townhouse never disappoints Brunch sandwiches recommended excellent value pleasant and relaxing
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from StratfordTownhouseGM, General Manager at The Townhouse
Responded Mar 16, 2020
Thank you for the feedback and the mention to Tristan, we know he is part of an excellent team and we are very proud of them all Many Thanks Neil Hanson General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$98 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
church street townhouse hotel stratford-upon-avon
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandStratford-upon-Avon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Townhouse
Which popular attractions are close to The Townhouse?
Nearby attractions include Escape Live Stratford-upon-Avon (0.2 miles), The Attic Theatre (0.3 miles), and Stratford-upon-Avon Minigolf (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Townhouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Townhouse?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Townhouse?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Townhouse?
Conveniently located restaurants include Honey Blue, Plantarium Cafe, and 33 The Scullery.
Is The Townhouse located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Stratford-upon-Avon.
Are there any historical sites close to The Townhouse?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Shakespeare's Schoolroom & Guildhall (0.06 miles), Anne Hathaway's Cottage & Gardens (0.8 miles), and Shakespeare's Birthplace (0.3 miles).