We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Townhouse

16 Church Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6HB England
Visit hotel website
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Orbitz.com
$87
View Deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
$108
View Deal
Booking.com
$108
$86
View Deal
SAVE $22
Travelocity$87
Expedia.com$87
Hotels.com$87
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (203)
360
Panoramas (7)
Videos (1)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
This recently refurbished boutique hotel is housed in a 400 year old listed building in the heart of Stratford upon Avon. Located opposite Shakespeare's school, among the ancient half-timbered buildings the town is famous for and only 2 minute's walk to the Royal Shakespeare Theatre. This is THE place for a pre-theatre supper - local pianists play at 5.30pm daily and the atmosphere is great. The 12 funky en-suite bedrooms vary in size, cost and view. Try for a room at the front of the building for the perfect view. Great food is served all day, through till 10pm in this buzzy neighbourhood bistro with Afternoon Tea a particular favorite. Champagne Happy Hour is every Friday at 5pm and the bar is packed with a great, upmarket local crowd. The staff make the place and nothing is too much trouble.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free internet
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Wifi
Internet
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Price:Stay 2 nights, save 15%
713Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 463
  • 138
  • 66
  • 29
  • 17
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The time that we spend at the townhouse was very disappointing. The waitress on breakfast duty was surely and disinterested in serving us, despite the breakfast room being pretty empty. Breakfast arrived cold, not as described and also not as requested. We had to send it back twice because of the above. The third time it arrived the eggs had been placed back on the cold toast (half eaten) with more sauce over to ty and hide it, personally I think very lazy. It was the most amount of time we spent in the Townhouse and as a couples get away for the weekend it was a real let down. Despite that the front of house were very friendly and helpful.
Read more
Response from StratfordTownhouseGM, General Manager at The Townhouse
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the feedback, I have spoken with the employee who was on that morning and shown her the review, I have set her some appropriate time to do some additional training and also I have spoken with her about her attitude whilst working, as you will of seen from all the other team members its not something that happens as a regular issue here and we will not tolerate this attitude or poor performance. we do hope to see you again here at Townhouse.
Read more
Stayed at this hotel only for one night, just wished we could have stayed longer. The place, the staff, the food, the rooms, were absolutely awesome. Nothing was to much trouble for any of the staff. The two young pianists playing that evening were superb. I Would highly reccomend the townhouse,and cannot wait to return for our next visit . P.s. The pillows were super super soft and comfy perfect 👌 thanks guys
Read more
Response from StratfordTownhouseGM, General Manager at The Townhouse
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for the wonderful feedback, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here, we will be delighted to see you back again soon, remember to call direct or view website for best offers Many Thanks Neil Hanson
Read more
+1
We had a fantastic stress free stay in such a beautiful part of the country. Beautiful and comfortable room (Room 11) with lovely little touches such as fresh milk, coffee machine and port. The room was a comfy double and was very clean with a lovely bathroom which included toiletries of and a hair dryer. We didn’t eat in the hotel but the food menu read lovely we did have drinks in the bar in the evening and we found the prices very reasonable for a hotel so central. In the evening was a gentleman playing the piano and singing which created a brilliant atmosphere. Check in and check out was stress free and when we arrived the guy on the reception was very friendly and gave us the discounted car park ticket for the near by car park. This ticket reduced the parking from £18 to £8 do very happy with this. We would 100% like to come back to this hotel and would fully recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Stratford soon Avon.
Read more
Response from StratfordTownhouseGM, General Manager at The Townhouse
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us your thoughts on your stay, Stratford is a lovely setting for a weekend away and we are delighted that we added to that a little way Many Thanks Neil Hanson General Manager
Read more
Stratford upon Avon is beautiful. The Townhouse is set in a perfect location. Room number 6, our room, faced the beautiful Guildhall/ Shakespeare's school. The bed was really comfortable with lovely pillows. The shower room was compact, it maybe difficult if you're heavily set or disabled. Nice coffee machine,yes and fresh milk provided. Breakfast was very nice, cold breakfast options were very limited, no yoghurts nuts cold meats or cheeses if that's what you like. Plenty of lovely choices on the hot breakfast menu so not a problem for us. We stayed for dinner too, good was excellent, my only comment would be it could have been much hotter, then it would have been perfect. All the staff were lovely, friendly and professional, nothing was too much trouble. The was music in the bar/restaurant from 5-7pm, it was great music and stopped at just in time for us to fine at 7.30. We would love to stay at The Townhouse again.
Read more
We have used the townhouse whenever we visit Stratford. Today at lunch time we went in waited for some one to serve us at the bar! 15 minutes not in one member of staff! It’s sunny! It’s Stratford! We left to go somewhere else.
Read more
Response from StratfordTownhouseGM, General Manager at The Townhouse
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we are very sorry you that the team didn't look after you, I have spoken to them and showed them this feedback, we will learn and hopefully look forward to seeing you again soon Many Thanks Neil Hanson General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$96 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
church street townhouse hotel stratford-upon-avon
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandStratford-upon-Avon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing