We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grey Street Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grey Street Hotel
Grey Street Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

457 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grey Street Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 451: English reviews
Lincolnshire
Reviewed March 19, 2015 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the grey street recently and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Beautiful rooms and great staff, so very helpful and couldn't do enough for us. The room we stayed in was very clean and attention to detail was absolutely fabulous, great bathroom. Products were of a very high standard. The location was so central and no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jacquigeen1
The Malhotra G, Assistant Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you so much for your amazing review about us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed eveything we have to offer including our toiletries. We hope you had a lovely weekend and can't wait to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future! Kind Regards, Aime Bloomfield

Reviewed March 18, 2015 via mobile

Just had to write and let everyone know about this hotel. The rooms were clean and tidy, and the bed was comfortable. We were very impressed with the staff and their help full manor, we will certainly be staying again..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
The Malhotra G, Assistant Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Grey Street Hotel in the near future, Kind Regards, Aime Bloomfield

Reviewed March 18, 2015

We popped up to Newcastle for a girls weekend away and we had a fantastic time which was only enhance by staying in such a great location. The hotel was lovely, very clean and the staff extremely helpful with lots of recommendation. I would stay again!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LClaireC
The Malhotra G, Assistant Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for your amazing review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your girls weekend away and loved our central location. I will pass on your comments to the staff, thank you so much. We look forward to welcoming you back to Grey Street Hotel soon. Kind Regards, Aime Bloomfield

Reviewed March 18, 2015 via mobile

This little boutique was lovely and really easy to find! Definitely central and only about 5mins walk from the station an everywhere else. Staff were very friendly and even offered different payment solutions when we had part cash and part card! Definitely saved us from a stressful situation as we were already exhausted on arrival! The price was good for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gemma P
The Malhotra G, Assistant Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you so much for your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your weekend away. I will sure to pass on your kind comments to the staff and let The Living Room know that you loved the breakfast. We really appreciate your lovely words, thank you! Kind Regards, Aime Bloomfield

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewed March 18, 2015 via mobile

The room was not big but big enough for 1 person. It was all clean and tidy and looked fine. The bathroom was perfectly clean with a bath tub. The water pressure was not very impressive which made me press myself against the wall to get wet. Breakfast was a bit disappointing. The freshly cooked part was excellent but that's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
The Malhotra G, Assistant Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide us with your feedback. I will be looking into the water pressure issue further, thank you for bringing it to my attention. As you can imagine with our amazing central location, we are constantly battling with the street noise. We do have quieter areas of the...

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 16, 2015

We received a free upgrade to a superior room which was very nice & great value. Great central location, near to shops, quayside and nightlife and a 5 minute walk to the train station. The staff were very friendly & helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise138
The Malhotra G, Assistant Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade. I am also glad to hear you enjoyed our central location. I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to Grey Street Hotel soon.

Reviewed March 12, 2015 via mobile

I really didn't want to have to do this but after making a complaint after checkout to the receptionist I was told someone would get back to me the following day, well 4 days have lapsed and no contact! I did warn you grey street hotel that I have photographic evidence of the lack of cleanliness in your rooms! Gona...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirkbegg
The Malhotra G, Assistant Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Kimberley, Thanks for your feedback, as you are aware I was on annual leave last week. However we have been exchanging emails since my return regarding the problems you encountered during your stay. As we are resolving this through email I just wanted to apologise for your recent stay with us. We hope you enjoy your complimentary stay with...

Reviewed March 10, 2015 via mobile

Grey Street Hotel touts itself as one of the boutique hotels of Newcastle's city centre. It offers great value for money for a hotel which is rated as four star on most websites. The problem with great value comes inevitable disappointment when a top hotel doesn't match up with expectations. When one stays in a four star hotel, there's an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ICaithness
The Malhotra G, Assistant Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We appreciate your input as we are expecting an exciting refurbishment this year where we can rectify any issues. I am sorry to hear that we did not satisfy your needs. I would be extremely grateful if you could email me on assistantmanager@greystreethotel.com to provide your...

Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 8, 2015

A very central located boutique hotel. The room was of a good size, but thats because we got an upgrade due to a booking error made on their behalf. Washt worth the normal price. Also there was no way of controlling the heating in the bathroom, so not to have the whole place boiling, we had to keep the door...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisedamen
The Malhotra G, Assistant Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review and providing us with your feedback. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for letting us know about the heating in the bathroom. We can look into this further, we hope to welcome you back to Grey Street Hotel in the near future.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 3, 2015 via mobile

This unusual hotel is located in the heart of Newcastle's lively centre. Bars, restaurants and theatres abound. 5 minutes from the station, it is built around the Living Room restaurant and features old tiled stairs, modern fittings and quirky, friendly staff. I got a very decent deal on booking.com and can happily recommend this hotel. What some reviewers have seen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bannatynescott
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

197 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (122)
Viewed
Double Room (22)
Viewed
Junior Suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Superior Twin (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#27 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
446 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#20 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Shop, party, relax or dinein the heart of Newcastle city centre. On Newcastle’s most prestigious street, The Grey Street Hotel Newcastle (in association with The Living Room Restaurant chain). The historic Grade II listed hotel is boutique and chic in style and cleverly merges the old with the new keeping many of the impressive Georgian Terrace’s original features and adding modern touches, making the hotel an interesting find for people looking for a unique place to stay. Adding to the prestige of the Hotel, is the magnificent restaurant which is part of The Living Room chain which can only be found in cosmopolitan city centre locations across the UK. The Grey Street Hotel is the only hotel association to the chain. Facilities■There are a choice of room types available at the hotel from standard rooms to suites■An intimate bar located in the cellar (available for private hire)■Meeting and conference rooms■Venue hire for weddings or special occasions Finishing Touches■Play station & docking station available■dvd and cd player & library■Crisp, white, Eygyptian percale cotton bedlinen■cafetiere coffee and herbal teas■broadband internet access ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grey Street Hotel

Address: 2 - 12 Grey Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $69 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grey Street Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Grey Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grey Street
Grey Street Newcastle Upon Tyne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Grey Street Hotel staff and other travelers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Bradford, United Kingdom
Cardiff, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Grey Street Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Very good value for money”
 of 5 bubbles 456lynneg, 1 week ago | Read review
“Front Superior Twin”
 of 5 bubbles Boogdog, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“If mobility a problem let the hotel know as some suites only have a couple of stairs unlike the one we had.”
 of 5 bubbles sandrabQ899HJ, Feb 16, 2017 | Read review
“There are steps in some rooms so you need to be careful my sister got up for the loo through the night and fell and hurtled her ear”
 of 5 bubbles 683shirleyb, Jan 29, 2017 | Read review
“Facing the back may be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Mosymoo, Jan 8, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question