We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Grey Street Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Grey Street Hotel
Grey Street Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

438 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 432: English reviews
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Myself partner and inlaws stayed here for a 2 night stay Friday to Sunday. Check in was very quick and easy. Lift - very small and slow, i would take the stairs! Room - small and compact but had all we needed really. Clean. Could probably do with a little freshen up (new mattresses as a little sunken in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StaceyLou9793
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am happy to read you would stay with us again and we agree our location is great for all you need when visiting the city. Our bedrooms are undergoing a refurbishment plan therefore will receive much more than a freshen up in the upcoming months. Please come back and see the end result. Many...

Nottingham
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is fab for shopping, nightlife and the lovely quayside. Staff were really helpful on the whole. They had emailed ahead about new year parking, which saved us a lot of trouble. We were in a group, so one couple had a refurbished room and two not. Ours was on the second floor and was tatty, with poor furniture,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mosymoo
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you found our email regarding parking over the New Year period helpful, as we try our up most to help as much as possible and make your stay as enjoyable and relaxing as possible. We are undergoing a refurbishment plan at the moment and some rooms have been fully refurbished and others...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

nice reception area and a pleasant enough person on desk and directed well to rooms and things and then the let down. the bedroom had no over head lights in actual living area of room so needed lamps on and they did not always work when switched on and then also was round pin plugs beside beds and lights so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dundeegirl46
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comprehensive review following your stay with us here at Grey Street Hotel. I am sad to hear of your comments regarding our rooms, layout, thickness of quilt and hotel in general as we receive a lot of positive reviews regarding all of the above you have mentioned. The breakfast service is provided by the adjoining Living...

Nantwich, Cheshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely staff and breakfast menu. location is great and near to a multi storey car park which is free overnight. the room was top floor and quiet and very comfy bed. however the heating system was not good and kept getting a fault so it was not easy to control. the shower pressure was awful. Would return if these things...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sabisaac
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you found your stay comfortable and relaxing. I am disappointed to read you encountered issues throughout your stay, I would hope you made us aware of them so we could try our best to do something about it for you. We could have investigated the problem with the heating and pressure and...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here with my boyfriend in a deluxe room with a bottle of prosecco. The hotel room was average as there was marks in the sinks and on the walls. The wood from the tables / drawers / bed side cabinets looked old and scraped. The bed was two singles pushed together also. The bathroom tiles could've been cleaner however...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren L
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our hotel rooms are receiving a major refurbishment this year that will modernise the rooms and furniture. Some of our rooms can act as double and twin rooms, as the beds are fitted with specialised mattresses that have industrial zips that zip the beds together to be a king bed, or separate to act as...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic hotel we stopped as we celebrated new year eve in Newcastle. Yes room could have minor improvements but sure this will all be improved with the refurb. I should it was very minor things. Location is fantastic close to lots of restaurants and bars. yes there is no car park but we paid a little over £6 for 24...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becky M
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you found our hotel 'Fantastic' and have already booked up to come back! As you mentioned we are undergoing a hotel refurbishment therefore all rooms will be updated. We look forward to welcoming you back. Many thanks, Lainey Westgarth

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had booked two deluxe rooms for our daughters 18th birthday celebrations our rooms were a good size we arrived earlier than check in time but we're allowed to leave our luggage which was a great help as the nearest car park was closed so and to find somewhere alternative to park our car we had a lovely relaxing few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielle F
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not get to enjoy the full experience staying with us, and I only hope you can come back in the future to do so. Please contact us directly and our friendly staff will be more than happy to help. Many thanks, Lainey Westgarth

Island of Malta, Malta
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great city centre location. Spent 2 nights in one of the Deluxe Double Rooms. We had a king size bed with a large flat screen TV and bath. loved the room so much we decided to spend one of our days in the room relaxing. Very comfortable and will definitely be staying here again when we visit Newcastle in future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sophy108
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and will return. Please contact us directly for the best rates. Many thanks, Lainey Westgarth

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff were fine so no complaints there, especially the very helpful man at reception. But, the hotel is really run down. In my room the lights didn't work properly, the basin was cracked and it was generally very shabby. The hotel is being refurbished and there were signs about this in the lifts. But persistent banging and shouting on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ThomasBodley
Tyne And Wear, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Upon arrival at hotel staff were friendly, reception area looked lovely, modern and clean. We were very impressed then we got into the room and I was so disappointed. We arranged wine on arrival which I had to ring for and then it arrived inan ice bucket with just ice in so had no chance on keeping bottle cold. Both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Puddin3
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sad to hear you were disappointed the room in which you stay with us in. We are undergoing a refurbishment which will modernise all of our bedrooms and public areas. If we had known you were not happy with the room we would have done our very best to offer you a room...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

189 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (122)
Viewed
Double Room (22)
Viewed
Junior Suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Superior Twin (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,011 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#26 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,031 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#19 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#21 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Shop, party, relax or dinein the heart of Newcastle city centre. On Newcastle’s most prestigious street, The Grey Street Hotel Newcastle (in association with The Living Room Restaurant chain). The historic Grade II listed hotel is boutique and chic in style and cleverly merges the old with the new keeping many of the impressive Georgian Terrace’s original features and adding modern touches, making the hotel an interesting find for people looking for a unique place to stay. Adding to the prestige of the Hotel, is the magnificent restaurant which is part of The Living Room chain which can only be found in cosmopolitan city centre locations across the UK. The Grey Street Hotel is the only hotel association to the chain. Facilities■There are a choice of room types available at the hotel from standard rooms to suites■An intimate bar located in the cellar (available for private hire)■Meeting and conference rooms■Venue hire for weddings or special occasions Finishing Touches■Play station & docking station available■dvd and cd player & library■Crisp, white, Eygyptian percale cotton bedlinen■cafetiere coffee and herbal teas■broadband internet access ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grey Street Hotel

Address: 2 - 12 Grey Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $59 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grey Street Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Grey Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grey Street
Grey Street Newcastle Upon Tyne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Grey Street Hotel staff and other travelers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Bradford, United Kingdom
Cardiff, United Kingdom
11 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Grey Street Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Facing the back may be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Mosymoo, 1 week ago | Read review
“ask for one higher up hotel as these rooms are refurbished .”
 of 5 bubbles dundeegirl46, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for a room that has been refurbed”
 of 5 bubbles Puddin3, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“higher up the better less noise”
 of 5 bubbles JACKKLAD, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Try to get a first floor room on the Mosley Street side.”
 of 5 bubbles St_Ogpan, Nov 24, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay