We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Front Street | Whickham, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 4JG, England
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

206 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 204: English reviews
Stirlingshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just checked out of this hotel after staying for one night and I have to say it gets pass marks for everything it has to offer. Friendly obliging staff, very comfortable rooms, clean and tidy everywhere, excellent dinner and breakfast. Highly recommend this hotel.*****

Helpful?
Thank gusmacgregor
Joy B, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and for your kind comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and loo forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Joy More 

derbyshire, uk
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

That was it... OK. Not good, not bad. Just OK. Room was comfortable enough, just the hotel was a bit old fashioned. Friendly staff, two flights of stairs with no lift was a pain with luggage, having to pay to park in the car park opposite was annoying.. the machine wouldn't let me overpay for the next day so had... More 

Helpful?
Thank monkeynonk
Joy B, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were disappointed in your stay with us. We do have deluxe rooms available for an extra £10 per room per night which may be more to your taste. We do not have a lift but our staff will always arrange for someone to take you to your room via your service lift and assistance with... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I'll start with the few negatives and end on the positives... Hotel parking is very limited but this is advertised by the hotel and although hotel parking is limited there is a council car park right out side the front. I don't think the hotel can do much about this due to the hotels location other then trying to strike... More 

Helpful?
Thank lee d
Joy B, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I will firstly address your 'negatives' I apologise for the fact that our new member of staff did not appear to understand your reward card. All of our receptionists are trained on all aspects of the BW reward system and you should have received a welcome gift. This would have... More 

Liverpool
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here because the hotel we originally planned to use was full - I am really glad we did. This is the North East, so lovely friendly staff and plentiful food come as standard - they really manage to offer a good quality hotel but one you can feel at home in. Whickam is a really nice location, OK... More 

Helpful?
Thank phil J
Joy B, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, responded to this review

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you for taking the time to write the review. Kind regards Joy More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent stay, very helpful staff. Clean and well kept hotel. The staff go out of their way to help. i would certainly stay here again. Only down side is that their car parking is very limited, HOWEVER this is well advertised and their is a council car park just across the street.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank jacobg609
Joy B, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your kind comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Joy More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here after a long days work - welcome was warm and friendly . Room warm and clean - bathroom super clean ! Had steak in the restaurant with the rocket and Parmesan salad. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Great place to stay. Parking is opposite a wee road but it's no problem just pay 30p if you park there before 530.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Milly1304
Joy B, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your extremely kind comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Joy More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

£85 for a pretty standard room, nothing to write home about really. Lots of noise into the early hours of the morning mainly doors being slammed shut. Reminded me of student halls of residence. Bar area was nice. Good selection of drinks and staff friendly and helpful. Would I return. Yes if had another event in the whickham area

Helpful?
Thank seekeroffortune2013
Joy B, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry that you were disappointed in your room, however, we do have Deluxe Rooms if you are ever in the area again. Kind regards Joy More 

Merthyr Tydfil County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016 via mobile

Stayed 1 night in The Gibside Hotel. Pleasant stay, the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Paid £10 extra each for breakfast which was a bit pricey but I have to say it was worth it, made to order & delicious! Would recommend the Pagoda Chinese restaurant which is a 5 minute walk away.

Helpful?
Thank njk2016233
Joy B, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Joy More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

On entering the hotel, I found it very spacious and clean. Staff were welcoming and saw to our arrival taking us to our allocated tables without any problems. The main thing I was really satisfied with was the meals; top class! Hot plates were used to keep meals warm, but most of all the presentation was superb! Will most certainly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annie T
Joy B, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found our staff and meals to be of a high standard. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Joy More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

Been here on business a few times. Great value and very relaxed but what makes it really good is the customer service. The staff here are so friendly and helpful especially when you first arrive the reception team make you feel instantly at home

Helpful?
Thank Paul C
Joy B, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your kind comments. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff friendly and helpful. We are very proud of them all. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Joy More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel
BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel
#47 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hote...
#38 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#24 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel
BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel
#46 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
6.6 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#22 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 819 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#12 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Paco's Restaurant
Paco's Restaurant
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, in the center of wonderful Whickham Village, has the location, location, location you are looking for - whether you are here on business or staying at your leisure. Built in 1982 and extended in 1990, the hotel has a reputation for relaxation. In a historic village setting, it is little wonder that many television productions have been filmed in the area. Our friendly staff, many of whom have been at The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel for over 25 years, will give you a true home-away-from-home experience. Friendly and caring, they will make your comfort their top priority from the moment you check in. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel

Address: Front Street | Whickham, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 4JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $89 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay