We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

216 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 213: English reviews
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Quiet drink in the bar while going over our meeting notes. Plenty of comfy seats. Great views over Newcastle. Bar prices are a tad higher than a normal pub. Food and drink fine ... nothing to shout about ... standard fayre. Bar area is dated now ...needs updating. Plenty of TVs on walls if you get bored/want to catch some... More 

Helpful?
Thank mark a
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Three of us stayed in the Gibside the night before the GNR, there was also a wedding on in the hotel. However, we all slept well and were not at all disturbed by the wedding celebrations. The staff on reception were really helpful and friendly and we were advised well in advance that the restaurant would be closed because of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah F
Joy B, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your kind comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Joy More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

If you want to stay in whickam this is the only hotel unfortunately. We stayed over a weekend to visit family and it often has events or weddings do's which of course it did when we were there. As you'd expect from any wedding in the north east (I'm from there so can say this) it's a drunken riot pretty... More 

Helpful?
Thank Traveladvisor987
Joy B, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am sorry if you were disturbed by wedding guests. We do have rooms on the other side of the hotel which are a little more expensive but situated away from the function rooms. If you had rang down to reception to complain our receptionist or night porter would have happily offered you an... More 

preston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2016

The room I had was a normal twin room a bit basic the lighting was poor and why do hotels put the cheapest hair dryers in.the bathroom was fine and towels plenty and good the lack of a lift could be a problem although a lift is available if you ask staff to take you but not always convienent when... More 

Helpful?
Thank izzypreston
Joy B, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. If you plan to book with us in the future maybe consider a deluxe room, these are only £10 more and we could offer you a ground floor, valley view room if requested. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Joy More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

I lovely hotel and sutible for children. A really nice hotel. The receptionist was very helpful. The service is very good and they're very helpfully. There is always somebody yoga can call of ask. A really good stay. I would recommend this hotel to anybody.

Helpful?
Thank Wei Sai L
Joy B, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Joy More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
555 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here last week and had a good night's sleep. The booking agent hadn't informed the hotel about our daughter coming so they had to bring us a foldaway bed, but was brought quickly along with a fan as it was very warm in the room and there was no air con. Our bed was very large and comfortable.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tony_and_Kay
Joy B, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and we are pleased that your enjoyed your stay with. If you wish to book in the future, please telephone the hotel direct and we can then ensure that all of your requirements are met. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Joy More 

Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2016 via mobile

We use this hotel on a regular basis for work and have a corporate rate with them but it's the first time I've stayed as a guest myself. I would recommend plumping for the deluxe room as they're a tad bigger and nicer than the standard rooms. The bed was huge! (One person and 6 pillows can't be bad) and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Louise F
Joy B, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I am pleased that you liked your room and enjoyed our food. I apologise for the lack of Air Conditioning in the room. It is not something that we have considered installing up to now but we will maybe have to in the future. The weather in the North... More 

Stirlingshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

Just checked out of this hotel after staying for one night and I have to say it gets pass marks for everything it has to offer. Friendly obliging staff, very comfortable rooms, clean and tidy everywhere, excellent dinner and breakfast. Highly recommend this hotel.*****

Helpful?
Thank gusmacgregor
Joy B, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and for your kind comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and loo forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Joy More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel
BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel
#50 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel
BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel
#42 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#18 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 612 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
2.9 mi away
Eslington Villa
Eslington Villa
#1 of 20 in Gateshead
4.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Paco's Restaurant
Paco's Restaurant
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, in the center of wonderful Whickham Village, has the location, location, location you are looking for - whether you are here on business or staying at your leisure. Built in 1982 and extended in 1990, the hotel has a reputation for relaxation. In a historic village setting, it is little wonder that many television productions have been filmed in the area. Our friendly staff, many of whom have been at The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel for over 25 years, will give you a true home-away-from-home experience. Friendly and caring, they will make your comfort their top priority from the moment you check in. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel

Address: Gibside Arms Hotel Front Street | Whickham, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 4JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $97 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay