We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 227: English reviews
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived at the Gibside on Sunday afternoon to a very friendly welcome by the reception staff. Our room was a standard big group hotel type room - clean and well presented. It had a super king sized bed which was very comfortable. We met with our friends in the upstairs bar and enjoyed sandwiches and drinks - again the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davericho52
Joy B, Manager at BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I must apologise for your disappointment at breakfast. Our breakfasts are normally freshly cooked and i will investigate why on this occasion the quality was not up to standard. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards Joy

Galashiels, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked this place on a last minute deal after coming down to Newcastle to visit urgently a hospitalised relative nearby. The hotel isn't in the centre of town but in the area of Whickham - quite a way from the centre, but very handy (5 mins drive) for the Metro Centre. The room was very comfortable, with quite possibly the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Callum C
Joy B, Manager at BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review hotel and i am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with. us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Joy

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very clean room overlooking valley. Breakfast was okay but not the best, cold plates not a great start. Evening meals,,, first night okay but second night I had to send half back. Steak tough as old boots badged up as Rib Eye and ''Roast'' potatoes were dripping in fat fresh from deep fat fryer. Would stay again but maybe eat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
Joy B, Manager at BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry that you were disappointed with our food and hope that you will give us a chance to prove that normally the quality of our food is excellent. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Joy

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Especially when the offers are on!! Managed to get a junior suite within my company's budget, including breakfast. Brilliant! I was in room 401, which has a nice view and i could also see my car which unbeknown to me I'd parked directly below the room. There's no lift so you'll be lugging your bags up and down stairs, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UKPeteGraham
Joy B, Manager at BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your kind comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. We will check out the shower before your return. Kind regards Joy

Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with family for a lunchtime treat The food was good and value for money the Sphinx Restrauant had a cozy feel and nice atmosphere and good views across the Tyne valley The bar staff were friendly and helpful with the menu and nothing was a problem the young blond girl (Lauren I think ) even replaced the cutlery when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jbz4616
Joy B, Manager at BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal and found our staff both friendly and helpful We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Joy

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
12 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

My friends and I have always visited Pacos for Sunday Lunch at least 3 times a year ( Birthday s or bank holiday ) and the food has never disappointed ! Paco was always there to greet you and always made the afternoon special with his bubbly personality and he made sure everything was perfect ! This was our first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Joy B, Manager at BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. I am pleased that you enjoyed your food but am sorry that you were disappointed in other aspects of our Restaurant. We will be addressing this matter and do hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Joy

Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 27, 2016 via mobile

I had king room which was very nice. About 20 miles out of Newcastle. Car park at hotel is pay/display but was free overnight as I arrived late afternoon! Room (see photos) was comfortable but shower could have been cleaner and shower pressure poor! The staff were great and are aware of poor shower pressure 2nd floor due to work...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RV_MS_12
Joy B, Manager at BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are in the process of changing all of the showers on the 2nd floor but we also have Deluxe rooms on the opposite side of the building for £10 extra per night. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Joy

Bath
Reviewed October 27, 2016

This hotel proved a good choice for visiting relatives. The bed was very large and the room a reasonable size, with all the usual facilities. There is a limited amount of free parking, but the adjacent Council car park is only £1.50 per day. The hotel has a restaurant and lounge bar, and there are several restaurants and pubs nearby,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mendiprambler
Joy B, Manager at BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Joy

Reviewed October 26, 2016

From roadside looks average. Round the back you have a great view across Newcastle - even got the Fog on the Tyne in the morning. Rooms very good all facilities worked well Breakfast very good - scrambled eggs very well done. All staff very helpful and friendly Next time in Newcastle I will stay here

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 391colinm
Joy B, Manager at BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your extremely kind comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Joy

County Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 25, 2016

My boyfriend & I have stayed at this hotel multiple times but our most recent stay was definitely the best. We treated ourselves to the Junior Suite this time as the price difference isn't much different and the room is a lot bigger with bonuses such as a bath in the bathroom and a lounge area with sofas. We arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eliseclarkson
Joy B, Manager at BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and for your extremely kind comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your satisfaction. We all look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Joy

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel
BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel
#38 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
65 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
333 reviews
8.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#23 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#18 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
633 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ryton Country  House
Ryton Country House
#49 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
160 reviews
0.9 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Paco's Restaurant
Paco's Restaurant
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel, in the center of wonderful Whickham Village, has the location, location, location you are looking for - whether you are here on business or staying at your leisure. Built in 1982 and extended in 1990, the hotel has a reputation for relaxation. In a historic village setting, it is little wonder that many television productions have been filmed in the area. Our friendly staff, many of whom have been at The BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel for over 25 years, will give you a true home-away-from-home experience. Friendly and caring, they will make your comfort their top priority from the moment you check in. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel

Address: Gibside Arms Hotel Front Street | Whickham, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 4JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $74 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Portrush, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms at the car-park side are quieter as they are away from the parade of shops, pubs etc”
 of 5 bubbles 254callumc, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Choose a room overlooking the Tyne Valley”
 of 5 bubbles mendiprambler, Oct 27, 2016 | Read review
“I'd definitely recommend the Junior Suite, for not much of a price difference this room was a lot bigger!”
 of 5 bubbles eliseclarkson, Oct 25, 2016 | Read review
“Might be worth paying the extra for a superior room”
 of 5 bubbles izzypreston, Jul 31, 2016 | Read review
“Excellent view, more parking?”
 of 5 bubbles 941anniet, Jun 5, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay