We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The New Northumbria Hotel

Save
Traveler (37)
Room & Suite (157)
Dining (102)
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good34%
  • Average12%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“superior room”(36 reviews)
“osbornes bar”(7 reviews)
“osborne road”(19 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (534)
Filter reviews
520 results
Traveler rating
237
179
65
28
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
237
179
65
28
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior roomosbornes barosborne roadan italian restaurantwest jesmond metro stationcity centrejesmond arealimited parkingfreeman hospitalon arrivallovely hotelstayed here for nightshotel restaurantgood sizevisiting newcastlebars and restaurantsfull english
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 520 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

Hotel was newly renevated. It was modern and clean. My room was large with a large and well equipped bathroom. Although the hotel is located above a very busy pub, my room was quiet. It offered breakfast in the next door resturant too. Staff were...More

Thank Zara I
Response from The Malhotra G, Senior Receptionist at The New Northumbria HotelResponded yesterday

Dear Zara, Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with great feedback. We are glad to hear you were impressed with the hotel and amenities the hotel has to offer. We also agree that we are in the perfect location! We have good...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

Room was clean and warm. Hotel is close to the town centre. Bars and restaurants close to the hotel.A very pleasant stay, will definitely go back.next time it will be a leisure weekend.I would recommend this hotel for everyone. The bar is massive and serves...More

Thank Mark G
Response from The Malhotra G, Senior Receptionist at The New Northumbria HotelResponded yesterday

Good Afternoon Mark, Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We are glad to hear you had an overall pleasant stay with us. We apologise if you feel parking was difficult on this occasion. We have 55 bedrooms and 25 car...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is located in the lovely area of Jesmond. The area is close the Jesmond Metro station, amenities and a short Metro journey to central Newcastle. The staff are excellent and are very friendly and accommodating, a real asset to this hotel which would...More

Thank Leerow
Response from The Malhotra G, Owner at The New Northumbria HotelResponded 1 week ago

Dear Lee, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay. We are thrilled that you loved the location of the hotel, and our spotless rooms. We pride ourselves in our customer service, so I’ll make sure the team...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went here for 3 nights in standard room. Room 126 not a bad room but does need a bit decorating etc, wall paper coming off in places and the bin was broken and one morning I went to get a shower and the bottom fixing...More

Thank Wrights125
Response from The Malhotra G, Senior Receptionist at The New Northumbria HotelResponded 1 week ago

Good Afternoon, Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with great feedback. We apologise for the issue regarding the shower and smokey room but pleased to know you were offered a room move at the time of reporting the issue with Kasha. Thank...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed here a few times, unfortunately the stays have been vastly different. I have stayed in standard, delux and junior suite. The delux and suite have been to a great standard however I cannot say the same about the standard rooms. Some of...More

Thank Pech020
Response from The Malhotra G, Senior Receptionist at The New Northumbria HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We appreciate all types of feedback, good or bad in order to help us improve. We have a wide range of hotel rooms to offer from singles to standard doubles/twins to superior...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Business Center with Internet Access
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Room amenities
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
$62 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
$62 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (37)
Room & Suite (157)
Dining (102)
Amenities (4)
Business Center & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
jakee94
September 18, 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from LizCully | Reviewed this property |
no ....
0
Votes
kal3idoscope
September 4, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from LizCully | Reviewed this property |
it's on a main road x
1
Vote
emmajanemc
January 8, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from The Malhotra G | Property representative |
Hi there, We our located on the outskirts of the city centre in Jesmond. Jesmond is a lovely residential area with a park, bars, restaurants and boutique shops. We have a metro train that takes you straight into the city... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"rear of building"
Read review
"If they were all as good as ours any room will do !!"
Read review
"Rooms at front may have some noise from bar at front, but it didn't disturb me"
Read review
"Just ask at Reception, where the staff are most polite and helpful."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing