We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travelodge Newcastle Central

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Travelodge Newcastle Central
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

903 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 899: English reviews
Start your review of Travelodge Newcastle Central
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Furniture falling apart, dirty, poor quality, sheets itchy. 0/10. Food is better and cheaper at McDonald's. poor location. Central to what exactly? Not a central location at all. Highly advise against.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liam M
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Newcastle Central, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Newcastle Central Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting your...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have stayed at this Travelodge quite a few times; it is a good price, great location and a comfy stay. This time though, there could have been more attention to detail. 1. there was no soap or shower gel in my room - I was moved, at midnight, next door to where there was some 2. at breakfast there...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank EileenEdwards
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Right on the quayside and a very large room. I was in the hotel bar from 12.30 till 3.30 being entertained by the barman who is an amazing magician. He did this in between serving. What an amazing night talking to all the other customers.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jojo165
Yorkshire
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had a two night stay here, the check in was easy, lovely reception staff, the room was clean, comfy bed, couldn't ask for more! The carpark underneath is perfect at £6 for 24 hours saved us looking around for a car park, and a taxi firm were in reception each evening for a cab up to the town centre,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank missmiller
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Newcastle Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us, such as the service from our staff and the cleanliness and comfort of your room. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests and we are thrilled that we succeeded in...

united kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Booked for daughters hen weekend , lovely polite staff on check on desk very friendly & welcoming , our room was just perfect for what we wanted & very clean which is always a bonus :) as we're all the other rooms that we had booked . Happy to find " bud light " on tap . The all you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank willie-wong
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Excellent professional staff Well maintained hotel Good value for money Excellent English breakfast with fruits and coffee Location is great as easily accessible and along the waterfront Would highly recommend

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank drbrajesh
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Not given much information at desk on arrival. Given one key between us. Friends who arrived after recieved information on food and drink available, and what to do if staff is needed etc, and given a room key each. Room had a weird smell when arriving with stayed throughout our weekend stay (3 days, 2 nights), Bathroom: Dirty toilet seat,...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank shand52
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Newcastle Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to learn you were happy with the Hotel’s location, however we would like to apologise that your room was not cleaned to our usual high standard. Your feedback is very important as it allow us to improve the service we offer and we would like to thank...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Location down on Quayside is borderline for walking and not really far enough for a taxi. However, as all TravelLodges ' it does what is says on the tin" and at at an acceptable price. Poor quality of beer at the bar though....

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jotkam
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Newcastle Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to learn that you were happy with the good value of your room, although we would like to apologise that your experience was impacted by the beer in our bar cafe. Please rest assured we will pass on your feedback to the Hotel, so it may...

Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Comfortable stay but it was really the friendliness of the staff that really stood out. So helpful and happy! Kim was especially wonderful. The location was good, just a short walk to the Baltic. A good stay.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank L8305FBjennifers
Cypress, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was standard. Clean and functional but still standard. I guess what really bothered me was the internet arrangement. The advertising said free internet and it was what the ad failed to mention that was important - the free internet is ONLY for 30 minutes. After that time period, you must pay for service. I do know that if I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kimestes
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Newcastle Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're sorry to learn of your disappointment with our WiFi extra. We can kindly confirm this information is clearly displayed on our website and inside our hotels. However we do apologise and we hope you will decide to choose Travelodge again in the near future and give us the opportunity to restore your faith in...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (46)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
0:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#22 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
482 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#4 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
#26 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#25 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,976 reviews
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#38 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel recently gone through major refurbishment programme, get up and go and enjoy the new Travelodge look. The hotel is located just off the Quayside and a 10 minute walk from the city centre / train station. As well as the new look in our rooms - we have a funky fresh new look Bar Cafe where you can enjoy a relaxing food & beverage experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Travelodge Newcastle Central

Address: Forster Street Quayside | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 2NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $56 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Newcastle Central 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, LateRooms and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Newcastle Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Newcastle Central Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Travel Lodge
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle Central
Travel Lodge Newcastle Upon Tyne
Travelodge Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Travelodge
Newcastle Upon Tyne Travel Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Newcastle Central staff and other travelers.
13 questions
Ask a question
uk
5 months ago
uk
over a year ago
Preston, United Kingdom
3 months ago
uk
5 months ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Newcastle Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“rooms on the upper floors are better”
 of 5 bubbles kimestes, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Ground floor is the quiet area.”
 of 5 bubbles L9960SOjohnm, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“All the same I think”
 of 5 bubbles Pat-wab1, Feb 4, 2017 | Read review
“Room 35 on ground floor doesn't have the best view ( buildings and a bit of shrubbery) but it was quiet”
 of 5 bubbles GlynyB, Dec 7, 2016 | Read review
“Room 100 was a big airy room with a view of the bridge and the river”
 of 5 bubbles AnneW186, Nov 9, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question