We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Show Prices
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,615 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,600: English reviews
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is okay but the rooms need a bit of TLC. The bathroom had a bit of mildew on the shower tiles and the Windows needed a bit of work. Having said that it is in a good location and fairly good value for money. Ask for a river view. Hotel was extremely quiet didn't seem to have many... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night for work, very nice reception and bar area, with the bar staff taking the time to tell me about the wine I chose. Rooms are very nice, very spacious with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Tyne. The bathroom could do with a revamp, and the wifi connection in the room was poor to non... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cloe S
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

My husband and myself stayed here for a night, such a lovely hotel, staff were very attentive, and restuarant food was amazing. Rooms are comfortable and we had a nice view of the river Tyne from our floor length wall width windows.Will definitely be returning.

Helpful?
Thank Wilma R
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service, the quality of food, the comfort of your bedroom and the hotel location. Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated, and I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Thanks... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On the good side, it is inexpensive and the rooms are large and comfortable as well as reasonably clean. The bathroom is a bit worn. Staff are nice and welcoming. It's near the Quayside, but a fair distance from any nightlife or restaurants. The Wi-Fi is free (good) but not available everywhere and poor performance. The restaurant is pretty restricted... More 

Helpful?
Thank ODonnell-Stephen
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Best regards, Ken Ellington, General Manager More 

Stokesley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were wanting to spend a couple of days up in the City without it costing an arm and a leg. We decided on the Copthorne near to the Quays. We were fairly impressed with the Hotel overall, although you could say it looked a little bit raggity about its edges, none the less it was clean, welcoming and very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael W W
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and appreciate your feedback. I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Best regards, Ken Ellington, General Manager More 

Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A big groups of us stayed there for a friends hen do,lovely hotel,comfortable beds,clean bathroom,lovely view of the water and the food was good,you do need to get a taxi up to the town and pubs cause you don't want to walk up a hall

Helpful?
Thank Debra M
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the comfort and cleanliness of the bedrooms, the hotel location and the quality of the food. Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated, and I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Thanks again. Best regards,... More 

Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Writing as I stay for a change, where to start? I think the whole night was determined at the reception desk. I booked this hotel through 'booking.com' jut a coupe of days before i stayed here, I then rang after to confirm my request of a double bed and a room at the end of corridor away from lift noise... More 

Helpful?
Thank get-around62
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sorry to read that you had been disappointed by the matter which arose during your stay with the reservation detail through the 3rd party booking agent. Although the information communicated has been correct, that is not to say that there may not have been options available through a more emphatic and flexible apporoach on our... More 

Travelers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Copthorne for a full week - I had no idea what to expect, the online booking had it looking like a bit of a fancy place, the Newcastle locals I new were all a quite impressed that we were staying there, and overall my experience quite simply was of no complaints and great times. The hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom-Davies
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Many thanks for your detailed positive review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service, the comfort and cleanliness of your bedroom, the hotel location, and the secure car parking facility. Our ongoing refurbishment programme continues shortly with an extensive upgrading of the public area carpets (which completes... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A great location on the harbour front. Staff could not be more helpful. At one side of the hotel [a few hundred metres to the left] is the main railway bridge and traffic bridge. This is not too noisy. On the other side [again by a few hundred metres] is the metro bridge and this does rather make a racket... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicholas O
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. I'm glad that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us, and hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Best regards, Ken Ellington, General Manager More 

Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the Copthorne last week for 3 nights in a heat wave, but they don't have A/C. The window only opens a few inches, so no relief there. Great view of the Quayside and river. Breakfast was OK, typical European style, would benefit by adding french toast or pancakes or waffles. Rooms spacious and the bathrooms were fine.

Helpful?
Thank Coachdoc
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. The hotel has a comfort cooling / heating system in place within the bedrooms, which is what is promoted. I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Best regards, Ken Ellington, General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

299 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (272)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (116)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 561 reviews
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,886 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,254 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#31 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#27 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel ... more   less 

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Address: The Close | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $84 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay