We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Castle Garth, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1RQ England
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
$168
$151
View deal
SAVE $17
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Hurb$168
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (816)
Room & Suite (223)
Dining (138)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#30 of 89 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Few hotels can boast a more enviable city centre postcode than the Vermont Hotel, for this imposing structure is located in the heart of the City of Newcastle-upon-Tyne, not only next to the Castle Keep and opposite the historic Moot Hall, but also just two minutes from Newcastle's Central Station. Combining old character in the form of 1930s grandeur with contemporary elegance and four-star luxury, the landmark building is your base from which to discover the many bars, shops and attractions of the town centre and wider area. Look outside your window and you might see such sights as the River Tyne, Millennium Bridge or stunning cathedral, and it's not the only mark of the sheer inspiration of the Vermont Hotel experience. That's because the reasons for the hotel's reputation become clear with a stay in any one of its sophisticated bedrooms, which are finished in soft relaxing colours while also coming with a wealth of facilities for your pleasure and comfort, including - among others - private en-suite bathrooms, a mini bar and free Internet access.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Nightclub / DJ
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Valet parking
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Rooftop bar
Meeting rooms
Solarium
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Iron
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish, Lithuanian
2863Reviews29Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,297
  • 782
  • 381
  • 209
  • 194
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
mallan_12 wrote a review Mar 2021
Sunderland, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
I was hoping not to have to write this review as I have not yet stayed, however due to Covid 19 this must be the only Hotel that has not been flexible to applicable booking conditions. We originally booked in Feb 2020 (pre Covid) for a weeding in May. I booked under Advanced Booking, I am an adult with full understanding of an Advanced Booking and conditions attached to this. Along came lockdown which meant the wedding was sadly cancelled and rearranged for Feb 2021. Again this was cancelled and we contacted the Hotel and explained that we as customers did not forsee Covid 19 cancelling a wedding we cant attend' yet the hotel will not refund. DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Tinks499 wrote a review Mar 2021
Gateshead, United Kingdom80 contributions36 helpful votes
I have put off writing this review as I was hoping to put a more positive rating than this. As other reviews below, The Vermont have also failed to refund my money for cancelled Christmas lunch and it is now March! Unlike others, my emails have been responded to, sometimes late but always pleasant and apologetic, however I do find it unacceptable that they are holding on to money that doesn’t belong to them. The Vermont is a beautiful hotel but I will not book there again nor would I recommend to anyone
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at The Vermont Hotel
Responded Mar 30, 2021
Thank you for comments this has now been resolved.
Read more
DWils83 wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
Without a doubt the worst company I have ever had the displeasure with dealing with. Due to the initial lockdown last year, afternoon tea was cancelled. Despite many emails and phone calls and promises from the company to refund money owed I'm still waiting. This debacle is going on a year now and no inkling I'm due to receive my refund. I'm going to have to try and go through my credit card company for the return of my money due to the terrible customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at The Vermont Hotel
Responded Feb 16, 2021
Thank you for your review we have conversed directly as refund has been processed. Kind regards
Read more
Jonathan wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
Like the last two reviews I’m waiting for my refund from Dec for a cancelled Christmas event. I have phoned many times and emailed. I have noticed that many other people are complaining too on social media yet the Vermont are deleting all the comments. I notice also how they respond to the positive reviews on here but stay silent when these issues are raised. Action needs to be taken to provide your customers with their refunds. Awful simply awful
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at The Vermont Hotel
Responded Feb 14, 2021
Thank you for your review and totally understand your frustration, however, we did not expect to still be in lockdown at this time. we have received your messages directly and we now have someone ready to work on these this week so we have sent across as urgent. Apologies for the delay as I say circumstances have just prevailed at this time.
Read more
Linny wrote a review Feb 2021
4 contributions3 helpful votes
Despite originally being told a refund would be organised and then contacting the hotel a number of times to be promised that someone would contact us back- we are still waiting for a refund for breakfast with Santa back in a December. Why should we have to chase our refund? Terrible customer service. We would like our money back please.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at The Vermont Hotel
Responded Feb 8, 2021
Thank you for your review and totally understand your frustration, however, we did not expect to still be in lockdown at this time. Linda we have received your messages already on social media and we now have someone ready to work on these this week so we have sent across as urgent. Apologies for the delay as I say circumstances have just prevailed at this time.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$87 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
vermont hotel newcastle upon tyne, vermont newcastle upon tyne
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandTyne and WearNewcastle upon Tyne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
101
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Vermont Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Vermont Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Glamorous Owl (0.2 miles), Crown Posada (0.05 miles), and The Quayside (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Vermont Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Vermont Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Vermont Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Vermont Hotel?
Yes, free parking, paid public parking nearby, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Vermont Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Simla Restaurant, The French Quarter, and Pizza Punks.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Vermont Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center and a sauna during their stay.
Is The Vermont Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Newcastle upon Tyne.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Vermont Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Vermont Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Vermont Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Russian, and Lithuanian.