We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport

Agoda.com$52*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$62*
$52*
Great Deal
$53*
$53*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,045 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,031: English reviews
Start your review of Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
 Click to rate
Leyland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

This was my base for one night whilst passing theough with work.The outside looks terrible and dated.The inside is probably worse.The room i had was grubby and looked like it had been decorated in the 60's.A dirty looking chair in the room was covered in stains as were the bed covers and carpets.I ate in the restaurant as it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IanPLancashire
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear IanPLancashire, thanks for your feedback, as your stay is recent you will have noticed our painters improving the tired looking facias on the outside of the building, we are also introducing garden furniture and plants to improve the external appearance. We will address your concerns with housekeeping however, all bed linen is laundered daily. We do hope you will...

Northumberland
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Arrived five minutes before lunch was to begin to be advised "not open yet" and although no one else in restaurant where we could have had a seat to wait we just had to stand around outside the entrance. After finally getting in the waitress said she would get the chef for the carvery. However after 10 mins no one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flyer699
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear Flyer699, Thank for your feedback, apologies the restaurant wasn't correctly prepared. I will address this with Chef to find out why the beef wasn't ready for opening at 12pm. We do hope to see you for lunch again regards, Dean Routledge Operations Manager

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Cheap cheap cheap !! (£82 for 2 midweek nights stay in December!) but now I know why. - Outdated furniture all round. The bar seats have been sat in that much that where was sponge is now just wood. Rock hard, worn, tatty and very very, nay...impossibly, low when trying to eat a bar meal! I had to actually move...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tazzer8
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear Tazzer8, thanks for your feedback, as its almost 6 months since your stay we have already changed quite a lot and some of the aspects you mention have already been dealt with as part of our on going plan to improve the hotel and service. kind regards, Dean Routledge Operations Manager

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in this hotel in the very early seventies and it was like stepping back in time. Very dated , staff don't look as if they are happy at their work. The rooms very very basic beds not very good. Choice on breakfast limited and the second morning the cooked mushrooms were burnt but still served!!! Linen was clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie M
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear Ronnie M, Thanks for your feedback, sorry you feel the team aren't happy in their work. We have a lot of long serving team members at the hotel and I think this gives an indication of how satisfied the team are working here. We are a purpose built airport hotel, as you rightly point out in the 1970's and...

stockton
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very basic room. Serves its purpose as a sleepover for an early flight but that's all. I stayed on the first Friday in May and was a bit disappointed ,my toilet had no lid and the broken fitting was very dirty. My rubbish bin looked like it had been beaten up and my information booklet had a big old coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kerry r
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear Kerry r, Thanks for your comments, we are disappointed that you weren't happy with your stay. We aim to ensure guests are happy and if housekeeping have overlooked something we'll happily have this rectified for you. We do hope you will stay with us again in the future. regards, Dean Routledge Operations Manager

Scotland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Overnight stay before early flight. We paid £39 for room only which was good value. Pros: Staff very good. Efficient and helpful. Free car parking overnight. Public areas generally quite comfortable. Our room was basic, but quiet and clean. Cons: Very hard, uncomfortable bed which destroyed sleep. This defeated the purpose of our stay. Minor: Want a dash of mixer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clivecannon
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear Clivecannon, Thanks for your honest feedback, we are sorry you found the bed too hard. We will discuss your comments with our team to see if we can make any changes. Our bar prices are inline with recommendations from our suppliers and checked regularly with our competitors. We do hope you will stay again in the future. Kindest regards,...

Hexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was our first time we have stayed at this hotel. I was surprised how pleasant it was. The staff were helpful. The room was of a good size. Tea & coffee was provided and plenty of hot water. The beds were comfortable but the room was rather cold as the radiator was not working. When booking this hotel look...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NewcastleRabbit
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear NewcastleRabbit, Thanks for your feedback, I'm so pleased you found the hotel met your needs, heating is monitored regularly and adjusted according to weather however, reception would be happy to send a heater upon request should you need one. Thanks once again for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you again soon Kind regards Dean routledge...

Seaham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night before our early morning flight to Spain, I can truthfully say this is one of the worst hotels we have ever stayed in, rooms very small and basic but clean, no toiletries apart from a old soap/shower dispenser on the wall, not even a show cap, so because I did not want to unpack had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank myleaf
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear myleaf, Thanks for taking the time to review, I am so disappointed that you weren't happy with your stay. Bathroom toiletries now include shower gel in dispensers, pleated soap and hand/body lotion unfortunately we don't provide shower caps. Our carveries include one roast joint and entree dishes, vegetables. Staff are on hand should there be any issues they'd be...

Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Granted the hotel is a very handy level walk to the airport terminal. However we had trouble getting off to sleep due to the number of guests slamming their bedroom doors We had a double room but there were only towels for 1 person laid out. When we complained, we were asked if we had looked in the drawers. Surely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Papadapa
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear Papadapa, Thanks for your comments, we are very sorry you were disturbed by other guests. We do have guests leaving at all times of the day and night, we have provided signage on corridors to remind guests others are sleeping. Our company standard is to have one set of towels within the bathroom and another set inside the bedroom...

Peebles, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is a very good place to stay if flying from the airport ample car parking and only a five minute walk to the airport . The staff are all excellent and will help you with any problems you have , the food is good but I would recommend the bar menu also you can get room service which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank deulas
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear deulas, Thank you for your lovely feedback. We appreciate the time taken and look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards, Dean Routledge Operations Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

206 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (170)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Other (18)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport Hotel
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
2.8 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Airport
#33 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#23 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
816 reviews
6.2 mi away
Euro Hostel Newcastle
Euro Hostel Newcastle
#55 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Britannia Newcastle Airport Hotel is situated next to Newcastle International Airport and is within easy walking distance of the terminal, only 7 miles from Newcastle City Centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport

Address: | Ponteland, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $55 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport staff and other travelers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Did not stay in hotel.”
Flyer699, 3 days ago | Read review
“Rooms were quiet even with the airport so close”
kerryr917, 1 week ago | Read review
“Go elsewhere”
myleaf, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“All rooms are very accessible .”
deulas, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“We were on the second floor and it was large, well equipped and clean”
PamBHull, Mar 20, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Agoda.com
$52* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com$53
TripAdvisor$53
HotelQuickly$62
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates