We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport

Ponteland, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8DJ England
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (260)
Dining (8)
Room & Suite (6)


#65 of 89 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
The Britannia Newcastle Airport Hotel is situated next to Newcastle International Airport and is within easy walking distance of the terminal, only 7 miles from Newcastle City Centre.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Meeting rooms
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
VIP room facilities
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
1,470Reviews31Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 203
  • 359
  • 356
  • 262
  • 290
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
IAN F wrote a review Oct 2020
10 contributions18 helpful votes
Close to departures this is a fairly basic hotel but it is clean and comfortable. It provides parking on site either before or after travel. Having had dinner and breakfast there I was very happy with the quality and service. We booked direct and found the service very helpful. If flying from Newcastle we will noy hesitate to stay there
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1 Helpful vote
Wickhamhenboy wrote a review Sep 2020
Lockerbie164 contributions129 helpful votes
We had booked an executive room with dinner and a weeks parking. When we arrived in the car park my wife was extremely disappointed by the look of the hotel and asked if we had paid meaning let’s go somewhere else! We perceived. No one was on reception. Eventually a man appeared and said the receptionist was on the phone. He disappeared and eventually reappeared. Apparently the room we had booked wasn’t available. He quoted us a different price but as we were to find out was because we couldn’t use the dining room We could only have a bar meal. The room was strange and very dated. Metal framed single glazed windows. The corridor had a strong smell of insect killer. The bed stunk. Needless to say the food available in the bar was nothing much, burgers and such like. It turned out that the dining room was open, just not to us. I’m trying not to be judgemental but it appeared that it may have been open to the needy or homeless maybe on a test basis? Whilst we were in the bar various trades people were arriving in the car park. A large vehicle containing roofing materials parked right across the entrance to the hotel. I assumed he was there for an emergency roof repair. No, he just wanted to park right across the entrance and it was still there in the morning. There was noise throughout the night in the car park. We had paid for a weeks parking whilst we were away on holiday. When we arrived back to pick up our car I enquired if we needed a code to exit the car park. I was handed a slip of paper, no questions asked. Which I realised had a bar code which if you presented in a certain way the barrier lifted. So just be aware there is no effective security for the car park. I have tried using the email address supplied and the Britannia Hotel contact form to discuss the issues but no one responds.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Room Tip: In a different hotel
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
brenda higgins wrote a review Sep 2020
Durham, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Having used the hotel and parking previously for our holiday and having a great experience we decided to book again big mistake. As we had an early morning flight we decided to get an early night only to be awoken by very noisy guests arguing in the next room. We went down to reception to complain and this was sorted quickly. On returning from holiday we went to our car to find this damaged it had been hit by another car. I went to reception and reported this. At first the young girl on the desk was not going to come and have a look until another member of staff advised her she would need to take photographs. They advised they would review the CCTV footage and get back to us however after not hearing anything for 2 days I gave them a call to be told they were unable to identify the other car that was responsible. I explained as the car was in there care surely they would take some responsibility to be told no you park at your risk. Bit annoyed as you pay to park there and for them to take care of your vehicle. I even asked if they would be willing to cover the excess on insurance as a gesture, they are unable to this. My insurance company asked me to get there insurance company details to enable them to pursue a claim on our behalf which the manager provided. He also explained we signed a waiver before we left. Which I did not know anything about. It should have been made more clearer to us. Lesson learned will not be using hotel again and advised anyone using this hotel to read all terms and conditions.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Response from Dean Routledge, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
Responded Sep 23, 2020
Dear higgier, Thank you for your review, we are really disappointed with a 1 star review from a regular visitor to the hotel. We are very sorry that your car was damaged whilst on hotel premises, once this was reported I personally viewed footage to see if I could find the offending vehicle which could then be reported to the police and relevant footage handed over to the police. When checking into the hotel all guests are asked to complete a parking form, at the bottom of the form there is an important notice section which highlights that whilst we have security measures in place i.e. CCTV and barrier system we do not accept liability for damage. We also have signage around the car park advising this. I understand you are frustrated due to the damage by another vehicle however, we have thousands of vehicles use our car park each year and very few incidents resulting in damage that isnt reported by offending driver. We do hope that you would reconsider and stay in the future. Kind regards, Dean Routledge Cluster General Manager
Read more
Hayley W wrote a review Sep 2020
9 contributions2 helpful votes
A group of four of us came to The Brittania for the weekend to partake in a dance workshop in the ballroom. We were all feeling a tad apprehensive about staying overnight in these pre-covid times. But we shouldn't have. The rooms were super clean with everything from the remote to an added sweet gift bagged up with a sticker that stated everything was sanitised. At breakfast time we saw the normal shared juice and milk jugs have been replaced with individual cartons/bottles for everyone and the "lumpy bumpy fudge cake" was to die for. The staff were so friendly and helped with any questions I had. Plus I overheard them giving another guest some reassurance on their safety regulations that really helped put the guest at ease. Overall, I would happily stay here again. I read a comment saying the rooms were outdated but mine was just great with crisp white sheets and not a speck of dust to be found.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Response from Dean Routledge, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
Responded Sep 23, 2020
Dear Hayley W, Thanks so much for your lovely feedback. It was fantastic to welcome back an Awesome event having postponed earlier ones due to the COVID lockdown. We look forward to welcoming everyone back again soon. Kind regards, Dean Routlledge Cluster General Manager
Read more
Adam wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
Stayed here due to working in the local area. I was working night shifts so it was the night staff that I mainly interacted with. The hotel and rooms itself were average, dated and a bit uncomfortable. This average review was saved by how mega Ross and Liam the night staff were. They both were always on hand whatever time to help us with whatever i needed. Wether it be towels for when I got up cause i slept through house keeping or as little as sorting us a glass and ice when I’ve come back from the night shift with a couple of ciders to chill out with. Ross even got me a little heater for my room after just chatting to him after work one night, telling him I was gutted that the rain may have broken my drill and batteries and would cost me a lot to replace. Without asking he offered the heater to help. Both top guys and would be the thing that would bring me back here again
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
Response from Dean Routledge, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
Responded Sep 23, 2020
Dear victortcurry, Thank you so much for your great feedback, Ross and Liam will be so pleased with the special mention. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards, Dean Routledge Cluster General Manager
Read more
$48 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
britannia hotel newcastle upon tyne
United KingdomEnglandTyne and WearNewcastle upon Tyne
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
Which popular attractions are close to Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport?
Nearby attractions include Columbus Bar NCL (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fratello's, The Badger, and Greggs.
Does Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Heddon on the Wall (Hedrian's Wall) (4.1 miles) and Kirkley Hall (4.1 miles).
Is Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.