We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 79: English reviews
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 4, 2017 via mobile

Free parking outside on arrival. Extremely helpful staff- brought us extra teas and coffees to room within minutes of request. Good location for city touring. We walked in during the day but opted for taxi at night as it is a slightly quiet area. Heating issue- the room we were in used underground heating only- not sufficient. In addition, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Daniel H, Thank you for leaving some feedback. It is nice to hear that you found the hotel to be an ideal location for touring and that the staff were helpful. I'm sorry you experienced problems with the heating. The full hotel is underfloor heated, which takes 3 to 4 hours to start heating up and over 6 hours...

Reviewed January 2, 2017 via mobile

Spent a few days at this Best Western and wasn't very pleased with the result. Disabled access was difficult to find to the front door, it was hidden away behind the car that's always parked there to advertise the curry house next door. The only room with access was a twin, the wardrobes were too high to hang clothes up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz K
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Liz K, Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback. I am sorry to hear that you found problems with your room. The adapted room can be made as a double or twin bed, and could have been changed if mentioned to reception during your stay. We have a regular guest who is wheelchair bound and she...

Whitby, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 27, 2016

Stayed at the Ryokan Hotel for 2 nights at Christmas whilst visiting family. It was a very pleasant experience & very impressed with the standard of accommodation & choice at breakfast even though the hotel was very quiet . Would certainly use again. Only one small issue was we would have preferred a later breakfast on Boxing day (maybe 8-10...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gary D, Thank you for leaving some feedback. I am pleased to hear that you were impressed by the standard of accommodation. As you say the hotel was quiet over the Christmas period. I shall take on board your comment regarding the breakfast times and see about changing for next year. We look forward to welcoming you again to...

Reviewed December 12, 2016 via mobile

One night stay - figured I'd just check in at the Best Western Ryokan and was more than a little bit surprised. Checkin was quick, painless and welcoming. Room was very clean. Bed was clean, bathroom was spotless. I've stayed in Best Westerns in several countries and they have varied from grim to good. This one was excellent. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas M
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nicolas M, Thank you for leaving some feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We always like to hear from guests and their experience. It is lovely to hear you were a little surprised. We pride ourselves with being a small hotel and giving that home from home feel. With regards to the television size, these will be changing...

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 3, 2016

Had a great time here. Staff very helpful and friendly. Excellent room, comfortable bed & very clean. Have stayed at a few Best Western hotels now and have never been let down. Would recommend a stay here for a weekend.. Walking distance to city centre & St.James Park

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brain M, Thank you for leaving some feedback. It is always nice to hear from guests and their experience while staying with us. It is nice to hear that you have stayed in a few Best Western hotels and never been let down. We look forward to welcoming you again to the Best Western Ryokan hotel on your next...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 21, 2016

Stayed recently on business in the Newcastle region. Staff are always excellent, room very clean. Breakfast a bit basic, but otherwise I'd recommend this hotel. Better value than some I've used in the area.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank collegebankie
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear collegebankie, Thank you for leaving some feedback. It is lovely to hear that you found the staff excellent and your room clean. We look forward to welcoming you again to the Best Western Ryokan hotel on your next trip to Newcastle. Kind Regards Ian Nicholls General Manager

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 15, 2016 via mobile

Booked in here at the last minute due to business meetings in Newcastle. Parking is sufficient and free and the check in was smooth and attentive. My room was 110 and suitable for disabled guests with a walk in shower room, emergency cord and grab rails. There was plenty of room for a wheelchair, that said I only booked that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul E
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul E, Thank you for taking time to leave some feedback. I am sorry to heat that you had a problem with the heating, all rooms are underfloor heated and takes 5 to 6 hours to start cooling down, ads you say the windows open and if required we also have electric fans available. I shall speak to the...

Reviewed November 15, 2016 via mobile

When we entered the hotel we received a warm welcome from the receptionist. The room was immaculately clean and comfortable. I would say my only negative comment would be the breakfast. The food wasn't to my taste and could be improved upon. Mainly the eggs TBH they were just awful but it wouldn't put me off staying here because everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rebecca S, Thank you for your feedback. We always like to hear from guests and their experience while staying with us. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't find the omelettes to your taste. We have many regular guests that enjoy these. We look forward to welcoming you again to the Best Western Ryokan hotel on your next visit...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 14, 2016

We stayed one night and can't fault the hotel. Comfortable newly refurbished room, friendly staff, free car parking and just a short walk to the city centre. We had a meal in the restaurant which was busy but that's because it serves up a good curry, reasonably priced too. Breakfast was excellent, we'll be back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JMelvin2013
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JMelvin2013, Thank you for taking time to leave some feedback. We always like to hear from guests and their experience while staying with us. It's nice to hear that you had the opportunity to sample the delights of Luigikhan's. We look forward to welcoming you again to the Best Western Ryokan hotel on your next visit to Newcastle. Kind...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 13, 2016

My husband and I stayed at the Ryokan on 11th and 12th November. A very comfortable stay. Room was very hot on the first night but this was easily remedied the next night by turning down the thermostat and opening the window. About a 15 minute walk into the centre but remember it is uphill coming back, just get a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirley B
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shirley B, Firstly thank you for leaving some feedback. Its always nice to hear from guests and their experience while staying with us. I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay. The heating in the hotel can get rather warm as well insulated with the underfloor heating, glad you managed the second night with turning the heat...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (42)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel
BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel
#49 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
230 reviews
0.9 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
364 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#20 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
445 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#16 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
766 reviews
1.7 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#25 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Best Western Ryokan Hotel is just a stone's throw from St James Park. Within a short 10 minute walk to the City Centre, to the many shops, theatres, bars and sport venues. 4 Miles from the Metro centre. The hotel is a Grade II listed building dating back to 1840, opened in 2010 and has a modern design inside, offering underfloor heating, Wi-Fi throughout the hotel FREE to all hotel guests. We pride ourselves in offering a warm and friendly Newcastle welcome to all guests, and with being a small hotel that most personal of service. While staying at the hotel you might want to try our restaurant LuigiKhan's which offers a mouth watering selection of Punjabi cuisine which is Halal. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel

Address: 358 Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 6NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $74 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“try and keep away from front of hotel rooms”
 of 5 bubbles larryd455, Feb 17, 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles bahamc, Jan 13, 2017 | Read review
“I think they are all of the same standard”
 of 5 bubbles annebS9589OS, Sep 28, 2016 | Read review
“I was lucky to have a room overlooking the car park rather than the main road.”
 of 5 bubbles kintheuk, Sep 10, 2016 | Read review
“First floor”
 of 5 bubbles 278rachaelp, Sep 9, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question