We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 64: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed recently on business in the Newcastle region. Staff are always excellent, room very clean. Breakfast a bit basic, but otherwise I'd recommend this hotel. Better value than some I've used in the area.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank collegebankie
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked in here at the last minute due to business meetings in Newcastle. Parking is sufficient and free and the check in was smooth and attentive. My room was 110 and suitable for disabled guests with a walk in shower room, emergency cord and grab rails. There was plenty of room for a wheelchair, that said I only booked that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul E
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

When we entered the hotel we received a warm welcome from the receptionist. The room was immaculately clean and comfortable. I would say my only negative comment would be the breakfast. The food wasn't to my taste and could be improved upon. Mainly the eggs TBH they were just awful but it wouldn't put me off staying here because everything... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed one night and can't fault the hotel. Comfortable newly refurbished room, friendly staff, free car parking and just a short walk to the city centre. We had a meal in the restaurant which was busy but that's because it serves up a good curry, reasonably priced too. Breakfast was excellent, we'll be back again.

Helpful?
Thank JMelvin2013
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JMelvin2013, Thank you for taking time to leave some feedback. We always like to hear from guests and their experience while staying with us. It's nice to hear that you had the opportunity to sample the delights of Luigikhan's. We look forward to welcoming you again to the Best Western Ryokan hotel on your next visit to Newcastle. Kind... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at the Ryokan on 11th and 12th November. A very comfortable stay. Room was very hot on the first night but this was easily remedied the next night by turning down the thermostat and opening the window. About a 15 minute walk into the centre but remember it is uphill coming back, just get a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shirley B
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shirley B, Firstly thank you for leaving some feedback. Its always nice to hear from guests and their experience while staying with us. I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay. The heating in the hotel can get rather warm as well insulated with the underfloor heating, glad you managed the second night with turning the heat... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in this hotel with my partner for a weekend away, he's a newcastle fan so we regularly stay for a weekend to watch a match and go out for a meal, we have stayed in a few hotels now and in all honesty we would not stay in this one again. The bed was so uncomfortable, the mattress was... More 

Helpful?
Thank melissa9383
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear melissa9383, Thank you for leaving some feedback. I am sorry to hear on this occasion that you didn't enjoy your stay. The bed possibly is firmer than you are used to? We have many guests that comment on how comfortable a sleep they have had. I shall have the room next door checked regarding the water noise. On a... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel on Saturday afternoon for one nights stay with a friend..... Check in was so simple and staff are very friendly and very welcoming..... Room was immaculate until we unpacked.... I really can't fault any of it.... Had a great night out in town which was only a 10 minute walk from the hotel.......... Breakfast was great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cathk35
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cathk35, Firstly may I take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback, we always like to hear from guests and their experience while staying with us. It is nice to hear you found check-in was simple and all staff friendly and welcoming. I can imagine the room once a couple of girls unpack. Glad to hear you had... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2016 via mobile

V disappointed with stay. Room too hot, bed and pillows uncomfortable, loud traffic all night long on the adjacent street, worst night sleep in a hotel ever...... Sorry for the honesty.... don't like leaving bad reviews.

Helpful?
Thank Leona S
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Leona S, Thank you for taking time to leave some feedback. I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. We do have electric fans available if you had found the room to warm, the pillows we could have replaced if you found them uncomfortable, possibly the bed is firmer than your own as many other guests... More 

Cumbria, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2016

We stayed here about a month ago and had a lovely time. Ian, the manager was lovely, really knowledgable about the city, he also changed our room for us so we could have a walk in shower, nothing seemed a problem. It was nice to stay in a hotel where the manager was so visible, he really gives this hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel81
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lovetotravel81, Firstly thank you for taking time to leave some feedback. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed yourselves while staying with us. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding myself, I always try to make everyone welcome and give the service I would expect myself. Glad you had time to enjoy the delights of Luigikhan's. We look... More 

Oakham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2016

Excellent stay with excellent food, everything perfect, short walk from city centre, plus lots of places to visit just outside of the city, the best indian food I have ever had, would highly recommend this place you will not be disappointed, also a lovely english breakfast

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Mark B
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark B, Firstly may I take this opportunity to thank you for taking time to leave some feedback. We always like to hear from guests and their experience while staying with us. Glad to hear that you found everything perfect with your stay, and you managed to sample the delights of Luigikhan's restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (42)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
1.8 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#12 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
375 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel
BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel
#49 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
219 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#23 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel
BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel
#32 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#25 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,782 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#26 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Best Western Ryokan Hotel is just a stone's throw from St James Park. Within a short 10 minute walk to the City Centre, to the many shops, theatres, bars and sport venues. 4 Miles from the Metro centre. The hotel is a Grade II listed building dating back to 1840, opened in 2010 and has a modern design inside, offering underfloor heating, Wi-Fi throughout the hotel FREE to all hotel guests. We pride ourselves in offering a warm and friendly Newcastle welcome to all guests, and with being a small hotel that most personal of service. While staying at the hotel you might want to try our restaurant LuigiKhan's which offers a mouth watering selection of Punjabi cuisine which is Halal. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel

Address: 358 Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 6NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $75 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia and HotelTravel.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I think they are all of the same standard”
 of 5 bubbles annebS9589OS, Sep 28, 2016 | Read review
“I was lucky to have a room overlooking the car park rather than the main road.”
 of 5 bubbles kintheuk, Sep 10, 2016 | Read review
“First floor”
 of 5 bubbles 278rachaelp, Sep 9, 2016 | Read review
“Have breakfast elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles PHEL56, Aug 29, 2016 | Read review
“Not very wheelchair friendly.”
 of 5 bubbles CrazeeChik67, Aug 29, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay