We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

858 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 852: English reviews
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Like other Hotels Du Vin, this one follows the group's approach of converting an old 'industrial' building to hotel use, making the surroundings interesting and different. The Newcastle is a little out of the City Centre but is actually only a 10 minute walk along the river to the Quayside restaurants and just round the corner from the increasingly tend... More 

Helpful?
Thank MichaelEdinburgh
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

So, number one child off to University in Newcastle so we took the chance to stay over. Fabulous city and the Hotel du Vin is in an excellent location. Check-in staff are friendly and helpful and the room was excellent with great views of all the Tyne bridges and great architecture. Went for a (long) walk by the Tyne and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simon D
Tynemouth
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights after our wedding and it was fantastic. We arrived in the early hours of Sunday morning with a lot of bags. The staff on the desk couldn't have been more helpful, they checked us in quickly and helped us to our room with all of our bags. The room itself was really... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chloe H
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed on Thursday night as we had some colleagues coming up from Manchester and the hotel was dog friendly so we could bring our dog too. Lovely room we had with a terrace where you could sit and read a book or enjoy a glass of wine or something. Our dog was welcome in the room and the lounge and... More 

Helpful?
Thank JohnnyGandLynne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just had the most amazing wedding anniversary at the hotel du vin ! We booked on a deal were we got our room on a lower rate if we dined in the bistro and it really was fantastic value for money .The room was exceptionally clean and had a beautiful roll top bath in the bedroom .The staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kelly J
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this hotel for The Great North Run. I Had booked the hotel 8 months in advance for two nights stay but not direct with the hotel but with Expedia. On our arrival it was mentioned that they could not find our booking and would look into it. I give the receptionist my booking form to prove our... More 

Helpful?
Thank jeanleecy
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really enjoyed staying in the hotel. The rooms were enormous and very nice. It quite a quirky place with it being a renovated industrial building, and has loads of character. The food was great too. Carpark's not massive, and on an uneven surface,so if you're driving there you may want to arrive early. Also the small bottle of wine left... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steveh78
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for a couple of nights on 2 separate occasions during a business trip. This is one small chain of hotels I am fond of and which usually offer consistently good service. Check in: Very efficient, yet informative with nice helpful staff. Rooms: This is where you know you are staying in a quality hotel from the fixtures... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scubamania
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

seriously this was the worst meal i have had oin a long time ....awful !!! I was with a friend for lunch . He had fish and chips which hje left >>> they were not at all appetising .....it wasnt that cheap ...so doubly disappointed ....... sorry guys ....... has no one ever complained ?

Helpful?
Thank Ian S
HDVAdamGreen, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Ian S Please could you contact me directly on Adam.green@hotelduvin.com in reference to the above review. We are perplexed as we don't have fish and chips on any of our current menus? Perhaps this review was meant for another establishment? I look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards Adam Green General Manager More 

Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Could not recommend this hotel enough. Clean comfortable and luxurious rooms. Gorgeous breakfast with lots of choice. 20 minute walk from centre. Nice walk at side of river on a nice day otherwise its a short & cheap taxi ride. Would 100% return.

Helpful?
Thank lizzydrippin1412
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

275 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (265)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (86)
Viewed
Bathroom (40)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (104)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,887 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,896 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,254 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
5.0 of 5 stars 380 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle

Address: Allan House City Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 2BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $116 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro Newcastle
Du Vin Hotel
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#5 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay