We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Albany

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Albany
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 52: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We called in for lunch and were amazed at how stunning it was inside. The staff were really welcoming, the lady serving behind the bar was so friendly. The food was incredible, one of the best platters We have had and beautifully presented. Can't wait for our next visit.

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn S
DaveyH2, Owner at The Albany, responded to this review

Hi Kathryn thank you for your kind review not just about the food but also about Sasha and her team behind the bar. This means a lot to us. Hope to see you very soon again. Dave More 

Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a long review, but I am trying to paint a fair picture for my fellow travellers. This really is a Jekyll and Hyde place. The pub was lovely, the accommodation? Not so much. I did not book this hotel, it was booked for me by my employer. On arrival at about 3pm I struggled to find some on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bapswinger
DaveyH2, Owner at The Albany, responded to this review

Thank you for your very thorough review - which is important to us and helps us to improve. You make some good points on some maintenance issues which we will get cracking on. Thank you also for being balanced and praising the pub. Can I respond to a few of the points that you have raised please. For parking, we... More 

Travelers are raving about these Guildford hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2016

I needed a bed for the night, without breaking the bank, and decided on the Albany. It is basic, needs a bit of TLC - BUT...my room was squeaky clean, the water's hot, the radiators work, there's tea/coffee/milk and the toiletries, I found were rather nice, and wonderful white fluffy towels! The bed, that's another story, absolute comfort! I had... More 

Helpful?
Thank thomassa
DaveyH2, Owner at The Albany, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Very kind of you. We are doing some painting and touching up of the rooms this week as well. Hope to see you soon More 

Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2016 via mobile

Was born in Guildford and was shopping locally so popped in out of curiosity Friendly pub with a nice vibe ...a lot of locals I'm guessing as bar staff knew a lot of the customers -also outside seating but parking difficult as you have to feed the meter Had a drink then decided to stay for food ....reasonable price for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hollands2000
DaveyH2, Owner at The Albany, responded to this review

Thank you for popping in and staying for food. For parking, I recommend G Live car park rather than the meters on the street. G Live's car park is only just round the corner and means you don't need to meter-feed. Please come again when you return to Guildford. More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2016

We have stayed twice before so are very aware this is basic but this time everything seemed much poorer. It is in need of a repainting and carpets need a good clean but it is a low price for the area, what had changed was the service. On arrival we were taken to our room. I asked about the usual... More 

Helpful?
Thank SasW
DaveyH2, Owner at The Albany, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are actually doing some painting and touching up this week. Apologies that it wasn't clear about not doing the usual juice and cereals. We've now updated the web-site to clearly state this and give recommendations on great places to get a breakfast bite. In addition we are highlighting the benefit of staying with us... More 

Guildford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2016 via mobile

Visited this pub for a Friday lunchtime drink and some food. A 25 min wait led to having to change food order. No apology offered. Had to bolt down food when it eventually arrived resulting in indigestion for the rest of the day. Told that it was always busy on Fridays, told that we had been warned, but we were... More 

Helpful?
Thank ce_fait_rien
DaveyH2, Guest Relations Manager at The Albany, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and very sorry that you had a disappointing experience with us. We were busy, but this is not an excuse. We really do hope that you try us again, as your experience is not representative of the vast majority eating with us. More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2016

Spent a night at The Albany pub accommodation. The pub & gardens are fine, but the rooms are almost an afterthought because the cleanliness is not great. Hall, stairs & room carpets need a thorough clean. Some bathroom tiles were broken & the shower was efficient but there was black mould in the grouting. The bed was clean & very... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bob w
DaveyH2, Guest Relations Manager at The Albany, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Very sorry that you had issues with the cleanliness of the room and thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have now remedied this. For parking, although we do not have a car park, there is a public covered car park just around the corner that serves G Live, where it is possible... More 

London
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2016

My g/f and I came here for lazy sunny afternoon beers and some food. The outside seating area was perfect for what we wanted and even though there was little on the menu to cater for vegetarians, the chef wrangled up the most fantastic veggie burger - we were really impressed. Great place to come !

Helpful?
Thank ThomasViaggiatore
DaveyH2, Guest Relations Manager at The Albany, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us and delighted you enjoyed the garden. We hope to see you again very soon. By the way, if you are not already a VIP customer (it is free to join and you can do so at your next visit) we run offers all the time for VIP club members. For example... More 

Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2016

Just what I needed at the end of a long day and at a great price. Well kept pint and food in the pub, then retired to a warm, clean room and slept like a log. One of the most comfy beds I have slept in for a long time with crisp linen. I guess I could have paid £100... More 

Helpful?
Thank robertnunn65
DaveyH2, Owner at The Albany, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review. Hope to see you very soon. More 

England
Level Contributor
166 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife for a Saturday night out in Guildford. Positives are it's a great location, clean and tidy room, comfortable bed, and friendly/helpful staff. Our room was a bit tired and it was a bit noisy in the bar below, but not enough to keep us awake. Overall it was a good stay and I would return.

Helpful?
Thank patglynn
DaveyH2, Owner at The Albany, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, this is really appreciated. Hope to see you soon More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guildford hotels
0.3 mi away
Angel Posting House and Livery
0.2 mi away
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
515 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#2 of 11 in Guildford
640 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms

Additional Information about The Albany

Address: 80 Sydenham Road, Guildford GU1 3SA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Price Range: $77 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Albany staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Albany staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Stay elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles Bapswinger, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Would not stay again”
 of 5 bubbles bobw385, Jul 11, 2016 | Read review
“Room 4 was very quiet and warm”
 of 5 bubbles jeleanorkate, Feb 23, 2016 | Read review
“Unplug the fridge.”
 of 5 bubbles Ellie523, Nov 6, 2015 | Read review
“We were on a high floor away from the road so it wasn't noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles SasW, Oct 26, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay