We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gatton Manor

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for: 1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Gatton Manor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

157 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 155: English reviews
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

we booked a weekend golf trip for 21 of us. we all arrived Friday morning and had a round of golf on the lovely course , the greens are amazing and very fast , some of the best Ive played on in this country. we stayed the night and had an evening meal ,lovely steak dinner and desert. the drinks... More 

Helpful?
Thank paul w
Mellieha, Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Looks like the owners have stopped caring.. Silly simple repairs go unnoticed. TV not working due to aerial lead (3 days and still u/s) Carpets with stains everywhere No chance if basics missed... Breakfast... Nice but how about a toaster that your bread can actually fit into? Coffee out of a machine? As I say bit of love needed

Helpful?
Thank Bonairemedia

Travelers are raving about these Dorking hotels

Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

Four work colleagues played golf twice over two days (14th / 15th July) in a package that included two rounds, the overnight stay, dinner and breakfast. It was excellent value. The course really is terrific - interesting throughout, spectacular in places, a great test of golf and in superb condition. When out on the course it's as peaceful as anywhere... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wheezychilli
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

Tough review to write coherently as there are positives and negatives. I really needed a rating of good as average is a bit harsh but very good is too far! I was part of a group of 16 for an overnight golf stay and play dinner b and b package. It was reasonably priced in comparison to similar deals out... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mosside
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016

We stayed for one night on our way home from Goodwood. The location is lovely and quiet. Check in was quick and we were upgraded to a room in the old part of the hotel. The room was comfortable and well equipped and had a view of the lake and fountain. The bar has a nice outside area. The restaurant... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vanessa H
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016 via mobile

First we went to check out the Gym first, was ok, but noticeably the carpet all around the gym area looked like it hadn't been hoovered in a while, was a mess. Stayed for lunch in clubhouse, my full english breakfast came out cold and missing an ingredient. Sent it back and then got it how it should have been... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
Redhill, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016 via mobile

Had a warm welcome from the gentleman who was sitting at reception on the day we arrived. The staff in the bar were very polite and the food was delicious. The only problem we had was it rained heavily over night and in the bathroom the water was getting in from the ceiling. Had a terrible night sleep as it... More 

Helpful?
Thank up090982
Joanna N, Manager at Gatton Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post. I am aware that you stayed with us during the recent very heavy thunder storm. Our Hotel Manager recalls discussing the event with you as she too had had a disturbed evening, however she would never have meant to have been discourteous and I can only apologise if you have any reason... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

After an absolutely horrendous 7 hr car trip from Manchester we followed the satnav to the hotel only to find the road was closed. After a quick turn around (not easy in a small lane) back to the pub we had just passed where we were given directions to reach the hotel by an alternative route. From the moment we... More 

Helpful?
Thank chiefsusannah
Joanna N, Manager at Gatton Manor, responded to this review

What a lovely review - thank you so much. I will pass your nice words on to the team and to our members. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Essex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016 via mobile

Staff were excellent, food you could not fault, bar prices on par with West End of London, maybe dearer. Room was at the top of the building (11). Floorboards creaky, shower took a while to get going. TV kept losing signal so did not bother in the end. Looked like something chewed on the bottom of the door from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dodgie-one
Joanna N, Manager at Gatton Manor, responded to this review

Thanks for your review - following your post I asked the housekeeping team to look at Room 11 and we have addressed the issues you highlighted. We hope to be able to show you when you return to play again. More 

Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016

We stayed and play 26th & 27th May 2016 the golf course was in good condition, the green just slightly on the slow side but in good nick. Weather was nice and hot over the 2 days which brought the course to life. The only disappointing thing on the golf side was that the half way house has closed and... More 

Helpful?
Thank alan s
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorking
5.1 mi away
Wotton House Hotel
Wotton House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dorking
3.5 of 5 stars 1,054 reviews
8.5 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
3.8 mi away
No photo provided
Surrey Hills Hotel
#7 of 8 in Dorking
3.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Barnett Hill, A Sundial Group Venue
4.9 mi away
Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant
7.0 mi away
Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf course
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gatton Manor is a 18 bedroom hotel and golf club, set in 200 acres of tranquil woodlands, gardens, rivers and lakes, which form a championship length 18 hole golf course. The house dates back to 1728 and was the original Dowager's House of the Abinger Estate. Standards are high - we are AA 3* rated and our customers frequently comment on the first class food and friendly service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gatton Manor

Address: Standon Lane | Ockley, Dorking RH5 5PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Price Range: $52 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gatton Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Gatton Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatton Manor Dorking, Surrey, UK
Gatton Manor Hotel Dorking
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay