We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The White Horse Hotel, Dorking

Expedia.com$116*
View Deal
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The White Horse Hotel, Dorking
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

510 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 496: English reviews
Start your review of The White Horse Hotel, Dorking
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Room with breakfast was £138. Positives - breakfast was good, staff were friendly, wifi included, right in the heart of Dorking. Things to work on - hotel needs an update. Having been given the Dickens suite the main bedroom was ok but let down by single glass windows so road noise came straight into the room - it's a main...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mcg999
Chichester
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Reading the other reviews gives you a taste for what the White Horse represents. It's an old coaching inn with lots of character. There are a lot of rooms judging by the room numbers. Well over a 100. They are scattered through the main building and connected and converted stable blocks and extensions. It all looks good and the outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Global104
Reviewed April 21, 2017 via mobile

This is an old coaching inn that is quirky and full of character. The rooms are little dated (and the bathrooms VERY dated) but it's all clean and well maintained. The beds are extremely comfortable. As to be expected with any old building, the floorboards creak no matter how carefully either you or your fellow guests tread so, if you're...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David J
Management response:

Dear David J Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit to the White Horse Hotel Dorking. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, I have shared your feedback with the team. We have exciting plans to refurbish and enhance the hotel over the coming months and look...

london, UK
Reviewed April 18, 2017

I'd stayed here before and was a bit worried when it changed hands from Mercure to Bespoke Hotels after I'd booked, but all went well. As always, we enjoyed the lovely old building - the bar and lobby have a great historic atmosphere and the back patio is a great place to sit in the sunshine. This time we had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank deeboy
Management response:

Dear deeboy Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit to the White Horse Hotel Dorking. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, I have shared your feedback with the team. We have exciting plans to refurbish and enhance the hotel over the coming months and look forward...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 17, 2017

I travel for business and what I look for in a hotel is very different to if I was on holiday. This hotel has a fabulous history but I need a decent nights sleep, due to the age of the hotel it can be very noisy (creaking floorboards), variable temperatures (I have had a freezing cold room and a boiling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte R
Management response:

Dear Charlotte R Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit to the White Horse Hotel Dorking. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff to be very friendly & helpful, I have shared your feedback with the team. Thank you for your comments relating...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 7, 2017

This is a very old coaching hotel on the high street. This gives in an appealing feel and appearance but has its down sides - notably the plumbing (hot tap did not work in the wash basin) and noise levels. Anyone moving around the creaking floors at night is going to disturb you and the shower next door sounded like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank asimpleman51
Management response:

Dear asimpleman51 Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit to the White Horse Hotel Dorking. I have noted your comments regarding the water temparature, the noise due to the age of the building and the availability of real ales, rest assured that all appropriate measures will be taken to address the issues you...

Manchester
Reviewed April 4, 2017

I stayed here for two nights in February 2017. Trying to get through on the phone at 10pm to advise my late arrival due to a huge traffic jam on the M1 was difficult. This is a very old 'creaky' hotel which has character in abundance so guests should make allowances for low headroom, uneven floors, irregular shaped rooms and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taro8
Management response:

Dear Taro8 Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit to the White Horse Hotel Dorking. We have exciting plans to refurbish and enhance the hotel over the coming months and look forward to welcoming you back to see the changes Yours sincerely Sami Amor General Manager

Madison, New Jersey
Reviewed April 1, 2017

Was visiting a company in a nearby town, and this hotel was suggested because of its in-town location being convenient to shops and restaurants. The hotel is very old (some parts back to 17th century) and is very quaint and interesting. The sections of the hotel are sort of patched together, so there are lots of stairs and different room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosecity M
Management response:

Dear Rosecity M Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit to the White Horse Hotel Dorking. We have exciting plans to refurbish and enhance the hotel over the coming months and look forward to welcoming you back to see the changes Yours sincerely Sami Amor General Manager

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed March 19, 2017

I booked a room for a few nights last year for a short solo trip to Dorking, and the White Horse proved a cozy spot centrally located for my stay. It's within a mile's walk of the main Dorking train station, and right on the High Street, so easy access to restaurants and shops, as well as the local footpaths...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JaninedeBric
Management response:

Dear JaninedeBric Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit to the White Horse Hotel Dorking. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, I have shared your feedback with the team. We have exciting plans to refurbish and enhance the hotel over the coming months and look forward...

Uckfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 10, 2017

We called by for drinks which we found, upon paying, were expensive. No toilets on ground floor - you had to go up a number of stairs to find toilets which is no good for the disabled person like my wife.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 455Douglas1948
Management response:

Dear 455Douglas1948 Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit to the White Horse Hotel Dorking. We have exciting plans to refurbish and enhance the hotel over the coming months and look forward to welcoming you back to see the changes Yours sincerely Sami Amor General Manager https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g186389-d192576-r466062398-The_White_Horse_Hotel_Dorking-Dorking_Surrey_England.html#

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorking
1.6 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
3.2 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#2 of 8 in Dorking
83 reviews
6.9 mi away
Gatton Manor
Gatton Manor
#4 of 8 in Dorking
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Running Horses
The Running Horses
#1 of 1 in Mickleham
286 reviews
4.8 mi away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
526 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hartsfield Manor Betchworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This beautiful old coaching inn with its old oak beams, open log fires and inviting lounge has 41 en suite rooms and is located in Dorking. Ideal for visiting Dorking and the surrounding picturesque villages and Chessington World of Adventures. Easily accessible via the M25, Dorking train station is 5 minutes away. The hotel also features the Coach House Restaurant, Bar and Lounge. Room service and parking available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The White Horse Hotel, Dorking

Address: High Street, Dorking RH4 1BE, England (Formerly Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Price Range: $93 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Horse Hotel, Dorking 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White Horse Hotel, Dorking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure White Horse Dorking Hotel Dorking
Mercure Dorking
The White Horse Hotel, Dorking Surrey, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The White Horse Hotel, Dorking staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
2 months ago
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The White Horse Hotel, Dorking staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Try to get a room at the end of the corridor or it'll be very noisy when people walk past.”
charlotterL6624LE, Apr 17, 2017 | Read review
“A room at the back was quiet and had a view of the car park.”
Taro8, Apr 4, 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the newer wing in the rear will be quieter than those closer to the high street.”
JaninedeBric, Mar 19, 2017 | Read review
“If you like atmosphere, room 16 at the front overlooks the main road. Quieter rooms in the courtyard at the rear.”
martiandcolin, Mar 1, 2017 | Read review
“none, small beds bad pillows”
NAZARLondon, Jan 4, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Expedia.com
$116* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.com$116
Priceline$115
Hotels.com$117
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates