We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Crown at Woodbridge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Crown at Woodbridge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

304 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 304: English reviews
Start your review of The Crown at Woodbridge
 Click to rate
UK
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Newly refurbished, a very stylish gastro pub. Food however a little disappointing. Half chicken seemed very much the flattened pre-prepared variety and was quite plasticky in texture. Chicken pie was over creamy and left a cloying aftertaste. Rosemary chips and seasonal veg were good though, other than extra portion of fine green beans which were undercooked. Excellent Addams on draft....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulm2101
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Booked the crown as I am getting married at a local venue in the morning. Looked elegant etc. was told on check in that there would be a house music DJ here til midnight, had we been informed? No we hadn't.. I said that due to wedding in the morning I didn't want to be kept up. Was told that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Took my friend here for a special birthday. We both had steak, which was cooked to perfection. The waitress was attentive. The place was lovely decorated. Lovely fire and seating area. Overall lovely.I would recommend this place

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynnegorrara
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. If I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know. Kind regards Jane Jane Larcombe Business Development Manager

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There has been a recent review that only gave this place two stars. Something about a birthday cake!!! I was at the same meal and my view was that the place, food and service was jolly good. I will not hesitate to go back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kevins1950
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review – it's great to hear that you have enjoyed your recent visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Crown at Woodbridge soon. Best regards Jane Jane Larcombe Business Development Manager E: jane@tahotelcollection.co.uk

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ensuite room wi fit tea and coffee available , warm and clean , Staff extremely helpful , but limited parking , however plenty of parking a minutes walk away at a public Car park. Good location foe exploring Suffork and the coast , Southwild etc . Resturant had a good choice of fresh local products , breakfast excellant

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bryn1949
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We value customer feedback and appreciate your comments - thank you. If I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know. Kind regards Jane Jane Larcombe Business Development Manager E: jane@tahotelcollection.co.uk

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was our first time here and to be honest the food was good but we wouldn't bother again. We came in the entrance that backs onto the car park, walking in we were met with a packed out bar, people shoulder to shoulder very loud (not music) and we just stood on the two steps up to the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lay-mark2015
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us, due to the noise and number of people in our bar area on that night. Unfortunately establishments can not always predict how busy the bar area might become on a given evening,...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The crown has never failed myself or my family before, in fact it was one of the places where we'd be guaranteed excellent service, a brilliant meal and a lovely atmosphere. Unfortunately, this was not the case. Being my mums birthday, i brought in a cake hoping that they would bring it out and surprise her with it, and after...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Megan S
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review

Dear Megan - Thank you for your review and we are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed. Dear Trip Advisor Readers - Please also read the review above entitled 'Be careful with specific reviews'. Kind regards Jane Jane Larcombe Business Development Manager E: jane@tahotelcollection.co.uk

Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 15, 2017

The crown is a real find. The bedrooms are amazing, modern and luxurious - much more than I expected. We also had a wonderful dinner. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, I would definitely recommend a visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrsreb
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Crown. We look forward to welcoming you, when you are able to visit us again. If I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know. Kind regards Jane Jane Larcombe Business Development Manager E: jane@tahotelcollection.co.uk

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 11, 2017 via mobile

Easy parking. Lovely staff. Well cooked food.Comfortable rooms with little extras like flannels and two varieties of water. All this in the center of a delightful town. We could not find anything to fault.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger N
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back, when you're able to visit next time. If I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know. Kind regards Jane Jane Larcombe Business Development Manager E: jane@tahotelcollection.co.uk

Loughton, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 3, 2017 via mobile

Right guys this place is awesome. The food was really tasty and the staff we really helpful. I'd come back here any day. Try the battered haddock :). Very cool place to go with your family and friends. Thanks guys for a great afternoon :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tommyh80
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We value customer feedback and appreciate your lovely comments - thank you so much. We look forward to seeing you again soon. If I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know. Kind regards Jane Jane Larcombe Business Development Manager E: jane@tahotelcollection.co.uk

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
1.4 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
930 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
7.3 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
941 reviews
3.0 mi away
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
#1 of 1 in Kesgrave
475 reviews
22.3 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Crown in Woodbridge offers all that is great about escaping to the country, with all that is good about staying in a wonderful market town. With old fashioned inn keeping in a modern setting, we boast ten magnificent boutique bedrooms, a bustling bar and a real Suffolk food experience. Situated at the end of the thoroughfare in the heart Woodbridge, we are ideally situated for all of the great things that the town, surrounding countryside and Suffolk coast have to offer. If your passion is walking, sailing, horse riding or you simply have a love of good food and drink, you will find it all at The Crown and nearby area. We are open for breakfast, brunch, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner. Head chef Luke Bailey showcases all that is great about Suffolk's local produce, reflected in our food offering that includes a mix of rustic and refined dishes, with simple, high-quality ingredients coming alive on the plate. Our bustling cocktail bar serves everything from local beers and ciders to the latest trend cocktails. We also have an extensive and well-balanced wine list that appeals to all tastes and preferences, reflecting our passion for high-quality wine. Long or short, sharp or smooth, there is sure to be a drink to suit your mood. The upstairs of our historic building has been transformed into luxurious yet affordable bedroom retreats, created by award-winning London based designers, Bentheim. With goose-down pillows, crisp cotton bed linen and underfloor heating with high-quality toiletries and personal touches to match, staying at The Crown is a enchantingly relaxing and satisfying experience. With a laidback and often thriving atmosphere, where traditional meets modern and rural meets cosmopolitan, you are sure to have a unique and highly memorable experience, whatever the occasion. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Crown at Woodbridge

Address: Thoroughfare, Woodbridge IP12 1AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Price Range: $151 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown at Woodbridge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Crown at Woodbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Woodbridge Hotel Woodbridge
Crown Hotel Woodbridge
The Crown At Woodbridge Suffolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Crown at Woodbridge staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
8 months ago
London
10 months ago
London

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Crown at Woodbridge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Most rooms I saw seem to be ok .”
 of 5 bubbles bryn1949, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Deluxe room was lovely”
 of 5 bubbles TezEssex, Dec 18, 2016 | Read review
“Book early”
 of 5 bubbles 389hughg, Nov 30, 2016 | Read review
“Avoid Number One”
 of 5 bubbles JoseyFlanagan, Oct 31, 2016 | Read review
“room one very small and overlooked bath awkward other rooms larger”
 of 5 bubbles Elizasummers, Oct 24, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question