We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,121: English reviews
Start your review of Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
 Click to rate
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We have visited the Swan twice for afternoon tea and it was excellent both times. It's a little piece of old school charm and service and the food is also excellent ! The tea is unhurried, very well presented and very tasty. We mixed savoury and sweet which worked well when you share ! Very good value when you consider...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nathan N
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea experiences and we look forward to seeing you again soon. If I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know. Kind regards Jane Jane Larcombe Business Development Manager E: jane.larcombe@theswanatlavenham.co.uk

London
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just had a delightful four days at the Swan, service was excellent and staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Very comfortable surroundings in a very pretty interesting village. Looking forward to another visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank POTTERS-LONDON
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. If I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know. Kind regards Jane Jane Larcombe Business Development Manager E: jane.larcombe@theswanatlavenham.co.uk

Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We were greeted by a beaming Pete who took our bags to our room. His huge smile and warm welcome set the tone for the weekend. The room was lovely. Huge comfortable bed. We didn't use the spa facilities but had a bit of a giggle when Pete was told off by his colleague for calling the hot tub a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lickle_Explorer_
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We're delighted to hear about your warm welcome from Pete and that you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again soon. If I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know. Kind regards Jane Jane Larcombe Business Development Manager E: jane.larcombe@theswanatlavenham.co.uk

Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed for one night at this hotel and had a great time. The architecture is simply amazing, I have never stayed anywhere like it, beautiful beams everywhere. We stayed in a Gainsborough Bedroom. There is only photo of such room type on the Swan's website and our room looked very different to the one on the website. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emma H
JaneLarcombe, BDM at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I will pass your feedback on to my colleagues about the room types. We have 45 bedrooms and they're all different (different layout, upholstery, furniture, ornaments etc.), so it is a bit difficult to show them all on...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited the Swan for lunch one weekend, helping break up a long drive home to the Midlands from the Suffolk coast. Our impressions, though restricted to the bar and casual dining areas, were very favourable. Service was prompt and the duty manager was very accommodating. The surroundings, needless to say, are exquisite. The Swan is a real piece of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteveSargasso
JaneLarcombe, BDM at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We value customer feedback and appreciate your comments - thank you. If I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know. Kind regards Jane Jane Larcombe Business Development Manager E: jane.larcombe@theswanatlavenham.co.uk

Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our fifth visit to the Swan, and a wonderful weekend! We arrived early so our room was not ready but they took our cases and put them in the room for us later.After a lovely stroll around Lavenham and a lovely lunch we went back to be shown to our room by Eleanor, who was very cheery and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesleyhearts
JaneLarcombe, BDM at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We value customer feedback and appreciate your comments - thank you. We will look in to the points you have raised and we look forward to seeing you again, when you're able to return. If I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me...

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

On arrival we were met by a lovely receptionist called Eleanor, who was efficient, professional and friendly. A good start. We were then shown to our room, it was very small, this was not the overall problem and could be managed as we were only there too nights. The room was also extremely dated and the decor did not complement...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shanmac118
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. I am really sorry to hear about the issues you experienced during your stay. We pride ourselves on our customer service levels, so I am disappointed to hear that they were not of an excellent standard during your visit. Could you please send me an email with your Trip Advisor (TA) alias, TA...

Lavenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Swan has an international reputation and we wanted to stay there. The location and Tudor style in the public rooms, especially the dining room, are special. But there indulgence and style ends. I know it's an old building but that is no excuse for dated and worn bedrooms needing investment. The carpet in the bedroom corridor (by Water Street?)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevebeedle
JaneLarcombe, BDM at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay, which is our aim. So that we can look in to your concerns, could you please send me an email with your Trip Advisor (TA) alias, TA review title, date of your stay...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very quirky old characterful hotel with lovely staff, beautiful room, fabulous food & wine. They made us feel very special even though we were there for only one night. But the quality of service ensures we'll be back, and soon. The village has numerous interesting shops & the whole place is like an unspoilt gem of historic architecture.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauleve51
JaneLarcombe, BDM at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. It's great to hear that you enjoyed Lavenham's charming shops and your stay at The Swan. Thank you for visiting and we look forward to seeing you again. If I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know. Kind regards Jane Jane Larcombe...

Caistor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arrival we were shown to the wrong room. Once in the right room we found there was no kettle and the first replacement kettle failed. Inter room phone service was not working. The extractor fan in the en suite wasn't working. The basin and bath wastes wouldn't close. At dinner there was a 45 minute delay between courses. No...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jandd832
JaneLarcombe, BDM at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is disappointing to read these comments on Trip Advisor and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Could you please send me an email with your Trip Advisor (TA) alias, TA review title, date of your stay and telephone number. Once we have received your email with these details, we will...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

302 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (275)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (127)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
16.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.9 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
945 reviews
8.2 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
952 reviews
18.9 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
843 reviews
18.0 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestling in the Suffolk countryside, between Bury St. Edmunds and Sudbury, is The Swan Hotel & Spa in Lavenham, perhaps one of England's most iconic hotels. The Swan dates back to the 15th century when it played a key role in Lavenham's wool trade. Today it is a quintessential English country hotel and restaurant, proud of its achievement of AA 4 Red star, two AA Rosettes & Visit England Large Hotel of the Year 2013. Ancient oak beams and inglenook fireplaces blend beautifully with rich furnishings and fabrics to create the perfect ambiance for rest and relaxation. The historic old bar boasts a wonderful collection of memorabilia, including a wall signed by British and American airmen stationed at Lavenham Airfield during World War II. The Swan is a wonderful place in which to celebrate a variety of special occasions, including romantic weddings, christenings and family get-togethers. It is also a unique venue for seminars, meetings and conferences, where 15th century inspiration combines with 21st century innovation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Address: High Street, Lavenham, Babergh District CO10 9QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Price Range: $137 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavenham Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham Suffolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Norwich, United Kingdom
Alicante, Spain
over a year ago
Hinckley, United Kingdom
9 months ago
2 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Your room may not look like the website photos.”
 of 5 bubbles EmmaH439, 1 week ago | Read review
“If you want a larger room go for the superior room”
 of 5 bubbles Lesleyhearts, 1 week ago | Read review
“Call & ask, so much easier to talk to the hotel direct.”
 of 5 bubbles Pauleve51, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Avoid rooms near fire escapes which are noisy and used by staff very early in the morning and late at night”
 of 5 bubbles jandd832, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“As The Swan is a 15th Century hotel, if you are tall just mention as some doorways are low. However they are padded.”
 of 5 bubbles LindaF205, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question