We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

365 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 360: English reviews
Wales
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel itself is in an ideal situation and when we arrived thought all would be good. Our room was OKAY, have had better. The hotel is in need of refurbishment and definitely a more welcoming lobby area. With regards to the restaurant and eating there don't bother! A disastrous dinner with an invited friend turned out to be awful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank taffieann
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review, On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you consider staying with...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came on business, best holiday I have ever had. The in house entertainment was fantastic, the show which includes an in-resteraunt strip tease and a very realistic bar fight was top notch. 10/10, forget Malia, who needs it when you have the Dragonfly! Oioi

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olliee E
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post you review of your recent stay here. I will pass these comments onto the teams here as they always appreciate your feedback. Hopefully we will see you again. Kind regards

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice place bit dated starf very friendly food good would recommend it to anybody good place to stay and nice rooms everything you need to stay overnight will book again when up this way have recommended to friends

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francis W
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post you review of your recent stay here. I will pass these comments onto the teams here as they always appreciate your feedback. Hopefully we will see you again. Kind regards

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night as my son had an interview in the area. Staff were really welcoming and friendly and couldn't do enough to help. The room was basic, as you would expect for the price, but clean and comfortable with plenty of towels and lots of tea/coffee and milk . We requested an iron at reception and this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank April K
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay here with us at the Dragonfly. I would like to say a huge thank you for your kind words, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I booked this hotel As I was travelling to the area for work. There were a few hotels that. Caught my eye but if I am honest this stood out for the price! Before arrival I had to call the hotel as I needed to pay before I arrived. A young girl on the phone Daniela answered and helped me....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Giina15
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay here with us at the Dragonfly. It is always very refreshing to read a review where the hard work that the team puts into the hotel is noted and I am very grateful for your comments. We are always trying very hard to ensure the guest’s...

east sussex
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lots of parking at the hotel which is confidently located, but I did wonder if my car was safe. Check in ok but had to pay for room there on arrival. Can't charge anything to room , not even evening meal unless your company has approved it first. How ridiculous. The menu has very limited choice, but was actually better...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gsxrEastSussex
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review, On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you consider staying with...

Bugbrooke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On arrival I was led to believe this was a modern looking hotel. The entrance and bar area look superb. Nice owners/workers who make you feel at home. The room I was in (217) however, was not the case. You don't get a main light for the room, just a small light in the hall. There are two lights next...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank NathonFreezer1984
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your stay with us, and I'm sorry you were less than 100% satisfied. I hope you will stay with us again in the future to see the results of the changes we are making, Kind regards

Gloucester
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very helpful staff, room ok but not particularly clean. Free wifi. Evening meal poor and expensive, breakfast average at best. Definitely no more than 3* but also comparatively cheap. Apparently being updated this year, with disabled facilities becoming available - but I wouldn't go back to see if it was any better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank murray65minted
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay here with us. I'm very sorry you were less than satisfied with your stay with us and I hope you will consider using the hotel again in the future to allow us the opportunity of restoring your faith. Kind regards

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for one night. It's the cheapest hotel in Bury and it did what it said on the tin. On check out the two girls on reception were excellent, really friendly and a credit to the establishment. They booked me a taxi and let me help myself to a free coffee. Much appreciated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post you review of your recent stay here. I will pass these comments onto the teams here as they always appreciate your feedback. Hopefully we will see you again. Kind regards

Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 13, 2017

The duration of our stay was Friday 30th December 2016 - 2nd January 2017. On arrival we were greeted by a young boy in a wooly beanie hat, who we assume was a member of staff possibly the night porter. There is a lack of uniformed staff and all staff are unidentifiable as nobody wears a name badge. You asked...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank brionywaddell
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay here with us. I'm very sorry that you were less than satisfied with your stay with us and I hope you will consider using the hotel again in the future to allow us the opportunity of restoring your faith. I have personally contacted you regarding your...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St. Edmunds
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
328 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,085 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
164 reviews
23.7 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
3.3 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurston
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Formerly the Quality Hotel Bury St Edmunds, this is a modern hotel located close to the historic town of Bury St Edmunds. Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds is located on the edge of the delightful old town and is in close proximity to Cambridge, Ely and Newmarket, making it the ideal base from which to explore the charms of East Anglia. When choosing hotels in Bury St Edmunds, the comfortable surroundings and great service make Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds a great choice. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds

Address: Symonds Road, Bury St. Edmunds IP32 7DZ, England (Formerly Quality Hotel Bury St. Edmunds)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Price Range: $53 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bury St. Edmunds Hotel Bury St. Edmunds
Bury St. Edmunds Ramada
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for room towards back as A14 traffic might impinge!”
 of 5 bubbles taffieann, 4 days ago | Read review
“Ask for room(s) away from the main road, say, in the 300's.”
 of 5 bubbles Chrisray, Jan 8, 2017 | Read review
“Best away from the road - if you don't like traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles teresaj824, Dec 22, 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay there.”
 of 5 bubbles shazUnitedKingdom, Dec 12, 2016 | Read review
“Go elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles PennBound, Nov 2, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question