We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Swinfen Hall Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Swinfen Hall Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

262 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 262: English reviews
Coventry
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The epitome of afternoon tea, down to the actual tea not being very good 'cos they never use boiling water... Anyway, really nice event. Classic silver service by beautifully dressed staff in a lovely dining room. The hotel is untamed Georgian, and should be visited by all overseas visitors for an authentic flavour of country house chic. Grounds magnificent. Sandwiches,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Allan C
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our previous visit to Swinfen was with local freinds for lunch. We were in the area again with the GCCG classic car club so we decided to stay here overnight. And our friends joined us for dinner which was a nice way to rekindle both experiences. We were up on the top floor so well away from the wedding that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Classiccarguy
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful find amd very special place. Gorgeous grand drive through woods and deer park leads to impressive Georgian house which has been newly renovated. Wifi still only intermittent but that is the only quibble. Fabulous 5 course tasting menu brilliantly executed for 16 people in a private room. The Patience Swinfen room is gorgeous with views over the fountain and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

9 of us came here for Afternoon Tea to celebrate my 50th Birthday, What a disappointment, The place had no atmosphere, The staff were very disinterested, we had ordered in advance some plain sandwiches ( without dressings) this had been forgotten, So had to wait quite a while for more sandwiches to be made, which arrived looking drab, all white... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Tracey V
SwinfenHall, Manager at Swinfen Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tracey V Thank you for the review you posted following your visit to Swinfen Hall. I am sorry that your visit to Swinfen Hall on this occasion was not as it should have been. Your feedback has highlighted a number of issues and you have my assurances that I will address these with the team here. I can assure... More 

Measham
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel and its position is magnificent. The hotel's decor is clean and exciting. The rooms, including the bedrooms are large and well equipped. The staff were brilliant. They couldn't do enough for you. The food was perfectly presented and tasted lovely. I fully recommend this place for any occasion you may have.

Helpful?
Thank 750philiph
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a lovely room looking out onto the impressive drive. We arrived mid afternoon and spent some time looking round the house and grounds, including the walled vegetable garden. This is part of a fascinating project moving towards self sufficiency including herds of sheep and deer. A relaxing drink in the bar gave us a chance to read about... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris F
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
317 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a small hotel in a traditional building on the A38 outside Lichfield. The room for the reception was set out in banquet style so that mourners could sit and eat. The staff were courteous and sensitive to the occasion.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie M
SwinfenHall, Manager at Swinfen Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jackie M Thank you so much for the review you posted following the recent funeral reception. I do appreciate your kind comments and am glad everything went as well as could be expected. I hope to welcome you back to Swinfen Hall on another occasion. Kind Regards Stuart Kennedy Operations Manager More 

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed as part of a Secret Escapes offer of an overnight stay with a five course tasting menu evening meal and breakfast. We stayed on a Thursday night. The hotel was not that busy which contributed to the laid-back and relaxing atmosphere. Our room (The Frederick Room) was off the first floor gallery at the back of the hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank SuefromCarlisle
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked Swinfen Hall for my daughter's wedding. We had exclusive use of the hotel. It couldn't have been any better. From our first visit, to assess the suitability of the hotel, some 18 months ago, we were impressed by the staff. Clearly well accomplished at running a top wedding service, they were charming and had a calm professionalism that reassured... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank andrewf118
SwinfenHall, Manager at Swinfen Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear andrewf118 Thank you so much for the review you posted on Tripadvisor following your daughter's wedding. It was a pleasure to read your very kind comments - something I can assure you we don't take for granted. It is particularly satisfying to have our staff and service acknowledged. This is an area that we work very hard at. I... More 

Birmingham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016

I have never stayed at the Hotel but have eaten here on a number of occasions. I quite enjoy it for an austere dinning experience. The building is a classic mid 18th Century Queen Anne Hall and is rather spoilt in my view by enormous yew tree hedges that have remained untouched for generations. They dominate the house and spoil... More 

Helpful?
Thank Checkingoutroom101
SwinfenHall, Manager at Swinfen Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Checkingoutroom101 Thank you for the feedback following your recent visit to Swinfen Hall in May. I really appreciate your very positive comments in relation to the food but especially the staff. We have worked very hard over the years to put together a team that are passionate, enthusiastic and who enjoy what they do. So it is really great... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lichfield
1.3 mi away
Best Western The George Hotel
15.4 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#1 of 11 in Stafford
4.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Lichfield City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cathedral Lodge Hotel
Cathedral Lodge Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lichfield
4.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Swinfen Hall Hotel is a beautiful Georgian manor house set in 100 acres of parkland incorporating formal gardens, a private deer park, wild hay meadows and woodland. Although the hotel has been described as 'an architectural gem' and is blessed with a wealth of historic features, we also embrace the creature comforts of the here and now. Flatscreen TVs, DVD players, IPOD docking stations and free wi-fi are standard in all our bedrooms alongside bathrobes, mineral water, a good selection of guest amenities and a well-stocked hospitality tray. In addition to our AA 2-rosette Four Seasons restaurant which is open for lunch and dinner, we have a Bar and Terrace menu for light snacks and offer a delicious traditional Afternoon Tea. We also have a magnificent oak-paneled Edwardian ballroom with a raised stage and fully-sprung dance floor, which is a wonderful venue for wedding receptions, presentations and private parties. We are proud to be an AA Inspectors Choice Red Star hotel - come and visit us and see what this means. Our little oasis of peace and calm lies on the A38, two miles south of the historic city of Lichfield, ½ a mile from the M6 toll road and only 20 minutes from the heart of Birmingham. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Swinfen Hall Hotel

Address: Swinfen, Lichfield WS14 9RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Price Range: $198 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swinfen Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Swinfen Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinfen Hall Lichfield
Swinfen Hall Hotel Lichfield, Staffordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay