We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Swinfen Hall Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Swinfen Hall Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

267 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 267: English reviews
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What an aamazing place to stay!!! After one night there I was blown away by the grandeur of the place it's the most perfect Georgian manor house I think I've seen. Beautiful rooms luxurious throughout ! Great breakfast didn't get chance to try the restaurant though.the staff were very professional and friendly will definitely stay again when next in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank David P
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a gem of a hotel. Lots of history, beautiful grounds, would be an ideal location for a wedding. It is very conveniently located for the National memorial Arboretum (the primary reason for our visit), which is about 10 minutes drive. The staff were all very friendly, and the food fabulous. We had breakfast, afternoon tea, and an evening... More 

Helpful?
Thank monterey36
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Twelve family and friends treated me to a beautiful afternoon tea, the whole afternoon was great. The tea was very very tasty and plentiful, the staff were very polite and helpful. The weather was beautiful and we sat outside on the terrace after over looking the gardens. I would recommend Swinfen Hall to everyone.

Helpful?
1 Thank GillianSales
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thank you to Swinfen for hosting our son's wedding. An ideal place - grand and yet intimate. The staff were marvellous and ensured that our day passed off perfectly. Beautiful rooms, great food, superb location. We can't recommend this location enough.

Helpful?
Thank SueCSteveB
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were there as guests for a wedding and the venue is wonderful. The hotel is impressive, set in lovely well maintained grounds and the initial good vibes were maintained indoors. The food and drinks were very good and the staff were always helpful and attentive. The bedrooms were lovely, very comfortable and very clean.

Helpful?
Thank GEOFFREY S S
Coventry
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The epitome of afternoon tea, down to the actual tea not being very good 'cos they never use boiling water... Anyway, really nice event. Classic silver service by beautifully dressed staff in a lovely dining room. The hotel is untamed Georgian, and should be visited by all overseas visitors for an authentic flavour of country house chic. Grounds magnificent. Sandwiches,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Allan C
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

Our previous visit to Swinfen was with local freinds for lunch. We were in the area again with the GCCG classic car club so we decided to stay here overnight. And our friends joined us for dinner which was a nice way to rekindle both experiences. We were up on the top floor so well away from the wedding that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Classiccarguy
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

Wonderful find amd very special place. Gorgeous grand drive through woods and deer park leads to impressive Georgian house which has been newly renovated. Wifi still only intermittent but that is the only quibble. Fabulous 5 course tasting menu brilliantly executed for 16 people in a private room. The Patience Swinfen room is gorgeous with views over the fountain and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2016 via mobile

9 of us came here for Afternoon Tea to celebrate my 50th Birthday, What a disappointment, The place had no atmosphere, The staff were very disinterested, we had ordered in advance some plain sandwiches ( without dressings) this had been forgotten, So had to wait quite a while for more sandwiches to be made, which arrived looking drab, all white... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Tracey V
SwinfenHall, Manager at Swinfen Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tracey V Thank you for the review you posted following your visit to Swinfen Hall. I am sorry that your visit to Swinfen Hall on this occasion was not as it should have been. Your feedback has highlighted a number of issues and you have my assurances that I will address these with the team here. I can assure... More 

Measham
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2016

The hotel and its position is magnificent. The hotel's decor is clean and exciting. The rooms, including the bedrooms are large and well equipped. The staff were brilliant. They couldn't do enough for you. The food was perfectly presented and tasted lovely. I fully recommend this place for any occasion you may have.

Helpful?
Thank 750philiph
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (43)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lichfield
1.3 mi away
Best Western The George Hotel
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Lichfield City Centre Hotel
15.4 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#1 of 11 in Stafford
4.5 of 5 stars 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
13.0 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
4.5 of 5 stars 587 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cathedral Lodge Hotel
Cathedral Lodge Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lichfield
4.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Swinfen Hall Hotel is a beautiful Georgian manor house set in 100 acres of parkland incorporating formal gardens, a private deer park, wild hay meadows and woodland. Although the hotel has been described as 'an architectural gem' and is blessed with a wealth of historic features, we also embrace the creature comforts of the here and now. Flatscreen TVs, DVD players, IPOD docking stations and free wi-fi are standard in all our bedrooms alongside bathrobes, mineral water, a good selection of guest amenities and a well-stocked hospitality tray. In addition to our AA 2-rosette Four Seasons restaurant which is open for lunch and dinner, we have a Bar and Terrace menu for light snacks and offer a delicious traditional Afternoon Tea. We also have a magnificent oak-paneled Edwardian ballroom with a raised stage and fully-sprung dance floor, which is a wonderful venue for wedding receptions, presentations and private parties. We are proud to be an AA Inspectors Choice Red Star hotel - come and visit us and see what this means. Our little oasis of peace and calm lies on the A38, two miles south of the historic city of Lichfield, ½ a mile from the M6 toll road and only 20 minutes from the heart of Birmingham. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Swinfen Hall Hotel

Address: Swinfen, Lichfield WS14 9RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Price Range: $189 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swinfen Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Swinfen Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinfen Hall Lichfield
Swinfen Hall Hotel Lichfield, Staffordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay