We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Cathedral Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Cathedral Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

328 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 325: English reviews
Start your review of The Cathedral Hotel
 Click to rate
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Friendly welcoming staff. Hotel entrance and interior rather shabby but the room itself on 2nd floor was fine. Very comfortable bed! Two flights of narrow stairs not too easy with a suitcase! Breakfast promised to be great but was spoiled by painfully slow service despite it not being busy, and the 'full English' could have been hotter.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DingleLoopy
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have restricted mobility so this hotel is unable to provide accommodation for us. A pity as it's location us otherwise very convenient. Reception was courteous, but there is no indication on the hotel's website of any such restrictions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Haybarn2014
Nottingham
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellently situated close to the National Memorial Arboretum and Lichfield Town Centre.The staff were brilliant; friendly and helpful.Our room was comfortable, plenty of hot water and wifi was free. Plenty of choices for breakfast too. We will stay again. The Cathedral is worth a visit , as is Dr Johnson's house, A huge number of pubs and eateries are within...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anne W
Angela B, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely account of your visit to The Cathedral Hotel, Lichfield and for your fabulous 5* rating. Lichfield is Staffordshire's premier heritage city nestled in the heart of the country’s most creative county, just north of Birmingham. With a city that is steeped in heritage and a district that is alive with action and adventure, it is...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We decided to stay here at the last minute. You can see they are gradually making improvements. The decor was dated in the room we had, however, it was clean and the bed was comfy. The staff were very friendly and I could see them booking taxi's for people, so obviously they will pull out the stops for guests. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debby B
Angela B, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for booking The Cathedral Hotel for your last minute stay and for taking the time to post your review, your feedback is extremely important to us, and we take your comments very seriously, as this helps us improve our service to you and future guests. I am pleased that you found your room clean and comfortable and were...

Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have recently stayed at the cathedral hotel, I had booked this hotel via an online booking facility. I booked a double room from £50 to begin with however later on i changed my mind. I called to request a double room with a single with breakfast which was meant to be £55. They lady on the phone advised me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
Angela B, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

We receive many lovely reviews regarding our friendly and efficient team, and I am disappointed to learn that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. We have recently taken over the ownership of The Cathedral Hotel, and your feedback is extremely important, as this enables us to improve our service to you and future guests. I would like...

Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed in this hotel before with no problems. Unfortunately, this time we did have a few. The room we were allocated was 215, a nice big room. However, when we came to switch the TV on we found there was no remote, hence we couldn't watch it. Normally this wouldn't have been a problem because we would have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Althemusicman
Angela B, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

I am pleased that you have previously enjoyed your visits to The Cathedral Hotel, Lichfield. I am delighted that there were many positive aspects to your recent stay, including a large clean room, good beer, and an excellent breakfast. I am very disappointed that there was no remote control in your first room, but I am happy that we were...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a comfy homely place to stay and I had a very good night's sleep in a well equipped room, good shower, and wifi. Very well located for Lichfield. I made an error on my internet booking and it looked as though I was going to end up booking 2 rooms when I wanted 1. Phoned the hotel and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette W
Angela B, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

I am delighted that you consider our well located family owned hotel a comfy homely place to stay, and you slept well in your well equipped room. We always suggest that our guests call the hotel direct to achieve the best rate, and I am pleased that your telephone call with Peter had an extremely positive outcome. So pleased you...

Littleborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel staff were fantastic, booked a superior room as sharing bed with partner and 6 month old baby so had a large bed and bathroom.. the room was bigger than expected so great! Bad points room is far too hot with no radiators on, towel rail had no off switch and the plug socket blew the lamp and kettle 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vickiemason82
Angela B, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback regarding the fantastic level of service received from our supportive staff, who were more than happy to store your milk safely. I am delighted that you were impressed with your large superior room and you enjoyed a very tasty breakfast, and considered this good value for money. Your business is very important to us,...

lichfield
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am a member of the U3A Lichfield and a group of us meet up each month and have a meal together. I contacted the Hotel and they were so helpful and on the 19th January we had a fantastic evening and the food was excellent and very good value. The staff were a credit to the company and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrsjeanday
Angela B, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review. We are delighted that you chose our family owned hotel for your monthly get together, and your group enjoyed a fantastic evening with great value food and excellent service. Our friendly team are pleased that you are planning on a return visit, and look forward to welcoming you in...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed a couple of nights , room was really poor wallpaper falling old fashioned furniture , just really really tired Food in bar was good limited menu , drinks are extremely expensive so be aware Staff were very friendly and helpful No lifts at all so if your on the second floor beware of the stairs Would I come back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rd3audi
Angela B, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

We have recently taken over the ownership of this hotel, and I am sorry that there were aspects of your stay where we failed to meet your expectations. We have plans to enhance Cathedral Lodge, and I hope that you will consider a return visit later in the year to see the positive changes we have made. It is always...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lichfield hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Lichfield City Centre Hotel
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
292 reviews
0.7 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Lichfield North East (A38) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Now under new ownership, The Cathedral Hotel is an independant family run hotel comprising of 36 comfortable en suite rooms, excellent function & conference facilities, 24hr licensed bar and a restaurant. The hotel is set in the heart of the beautiful city of Lichfield,just a two minute walk from the city centre and the magnificent cathedral. Our friendly staff will ensure your stay with us is relaxing and comfortable ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cathedral Hotel

Address: 62 Beacon Street, Lichfield WS13 7AR, England (Formerly Cathedral Lodge Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Price Range: $61 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cathedral Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Cathedral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Hotel Lichfield
The Cathedral Hotel Lichfield, Staffordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Cathedral Hotel staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Havant, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Havant, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Cathedral Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms at the front of the hotel have a much nicer outlook than ones at the back.”
 of 5 bubbles DingleLoopy, yesterday | Read review
“No accessibility for people unable to cope with 19 steps”
 of 5 bubbles Haybarn2014, 5 days ago | Read review
“I had a room at the back - view was of the car park but it was really quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles JeanetteW707, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“rooms at the back are quieter!”
 of 5 bubbles sootyandsweep02, Jan 12, 2017 | Read review
“The Best room if poss!”
 of 5 bubbles Derbydean0, Jan 2, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question