We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cathedral Lodge Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cathedral Lodge Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

315 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 312: English reviews
Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Another stay for us 16th December for 1 night, shocked to find the hotel had been taken over, missed seeing Eva who has always been such a joy to speak to, still nice to see some of the other lovely friendly staff, hopefully someone will do something with this hotel as it has always been such a friendly place to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sue w
Angela B, Owner at Cathedral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to return to Cathedral Lodge Hotel, I am pleased that you have always found the hotel so friendly and enjoyed a delicious breakfast. You are very welcome to enjoy a glass of champagne with your breakfast the next time you visit, priced per glass. I am disappointed that you didn’t achieve a restful night’s sleep during...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hi we stopped at this Hotel on 31st Dec 2016 for 1 night and the staff were very polite and helpful. We booked a double room with Breakfast. The Hotel is nice but could do with re-decorating and the room was a good size with bathroom and Tea / coffee Kettle etc! The room itself needs a bit of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derbydean0
Angela B, Owner at Cathedral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, following your recent stay in our well situated family owned hotel. Your kind feedback relating to our courteous staff and tasty breakfast is really appreciated. We have recently taken over the ownership of Cathedral Lodge, and we are planning improvements for 2017. It is always our policy to encourage feedback,...

Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dull and drab hotel needs updating glad we only stayed one night.Breakfast seemed to be pre cooked then warmed up in microwave.We were reminded when we returned to hotel after Xmas party that we hadn't paid the bill yet! I said it was customary to pay on checkout.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth A
Angela B, Owner at Cathedral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

We have recently taken over the ownership of this hotel, and I am sorry that there were aspects of your stay where we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. We have plans to enhance Cathedral Lodge, and I hope that you will consider a return visit later in the year to see the positive changes we have made....

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 21, 2016

Booked as a short break while visiting the area. The hotel was clean, comfortable and staff were cheerful, attentive and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble, even though the hotel was busy as there was also a wedding on that weekend. Breakfast was very good, plenty of choice and we'll prepared, cooked and presented. Enjoyed it and would happily return...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ex_RN2014
Angela B, Owner at Cathedral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Cathedral Lodge for your short break while visiting the area. I am delighted that you were offered delicious food and attentive service throughout your stay. Our helpful team look forward to welcoming when you visit the area again.

Derby
Reviewed November 18, 2016

Stayed 12th and 13th November. Staff really friendly and welcoming. Rooms were always nice and warm and also, very clean. There were complimentary bottles of water in the room with biscuits, and tea and coffee making facilities. Lots of hangers too which was a bonus and the spotless bed was very comfortable. Parking was free and the Hotel is within...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brijill2
Angela B, Owner at Cathedral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your fabulous review, I am delighted that we met your expectations in all aspects of your stay. Our dedicated team really appreciate your lovely comments and kind recommendation, and look forward to welcoming you the next time you visit the area.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed November 2, 2016

This hotel is clean and friendly. The staff were very helpful. Tthe rooms were small but comfortable. The breakfasr was great with a good selection of delicious food. I was with a group of friends and the bar lounge provided us with an area to gather and socialise.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vfisher2016
Angela B, Owner at Cathedral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

I am pleased that your stay at Cathedral Lodge was comfortable, and that the lounge bar area provided you and your friends with a great area to chat. Our friendly team really appreciate your great feedback, and they look forward to looking after you the next time you choose to visit us. Thank you for taking the time to post...

Corby, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 1, 2016

Staff on arrival were very friendly. Our room was clean and tidy although was in need of updating. We had a problem with the shower head which wouldn't stay where we wanted it to but it was something we could live with. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order but what we had was worth the wait. Close by there are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank irig01
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 25, 2016

We stayed here for two nights, weekend 21 to 22 October 2016. The place is really easy to find with ample car parking space. It really does need investment in terms of decoration and modernisation. A couple of issues we experienced was the noise from the extraction fans or air conditioning units located near our bedroom window and then general...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteveBiker19
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 11, 2016 via mobile

Perfect budget hotel with lovely friendly staff and superb home cooked food. Great location, easy parking, ticks all the boxes and will definitely return again. Only consideration you should make is no lift so bear that in mind.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
Chester
Reviewed October 10, 2016

This hotel was clean, which is the main thing I worry about when I book a last minute place to stay. I suspect Management know that it is screaming out for an update but either don't have the funds to do it or it is scheduled for the near future. We were given a room on the 2nd floor and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HalfTermers
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lichfield hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Lichfield City Centre Hotel
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
289 reviews
0.7 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Lichfield North East (A38) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Now under new ownership, The Cathedral Hotel is an independant family run hotel comprising of 36 comfortable en suite rooms, excellent function & conference facilities, 24hr licensed bar and a restaurant. The hotel is set in the heart of the beautiful city of Lichfield,just a two minute walk from the city centre and the magnificent cathedral. Our friendly staff will ensure your stay with us is relaxing and comfortable ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cathedral Lodge Hotel

Address: 62 Beacon Street, Lichfield WS13 7AR, England (Formerly Little Barrow Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Price Range: $66 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cathedral Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Cathedral Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Hotel Lichfield
Cathedral Lodge Hotel Lichfield, Staffordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Cathedral Lodge Hotel staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
11 days ago
Havant, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Havant, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Cathedral Lodge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“rooms at the back are quieter!”
 of 5 bubbles sootyandsweep02, 6 days ago | Read review
“The Best room if poss!”
 of 5 bubbles Derbydean0, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“No lift so could be an issue if mobility is poor.”
 of 5 bubbles Ex_RN2014, Nov 21, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on top floor (3rd) are quieter and it is better to face the parking lot than the main street.”
 of 5 bubbles vfisher2016, Nov 2, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back would be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles irig01, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay