We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Crown at Wells & Anton\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

503 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 496: English reviews
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Sunday lunch visit with friend's,great setting and lovely food with plenty of it with a fair price ,great selection of drinks . Only negative was the service greeted by the most unenthusiastic barman I have ever met ,ok it was 1430 on a Sunday afternoon and maybe the rush was over , maybe he had had a bad day or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank COJET
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Please accept our apologies over what is clearly unacceptable behaviour and be assured it will be dealt with. We appreciate your kind comments concerning your food, thank you.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited here on the 12th January for lunch at about half 3 on a rainy Thursday, we sat in front of the fire to dry out and ordered bread and olive oil to share, it was nice though the bread seemed more like soup rolls cut up than we've had else where. Our meals were the crown burger and lamb...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff H
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your meal with us and look forward to welcoming you again. If you're not happy with any element next time, please do let us know so we can rectify it there and then. Much appreciated.

Somerton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and i spend a night here 30th dec 17, the staff were very friendly and helpful, everything in the room was clean, the bathroom was nice (jet bath and shower), the 4 poster bed was a little noisy but they sometimes are. We both had a lovely sleep despite being at the front of the building, however the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Investigatorgreat3
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Super review, thank you; we're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Alicante, Spain
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a good lunch here. However on entering the premises and requesting a table we were told that they had some bookings. This was repeated in an attempt to prevent us entering a totally empty restaurant. We were reluctantly allowed to enter, but we were only one second away from walking out ! Once in the service was OK...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MLFDPF
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal with us. We are sorry, we were not trying to prevent anyone coming in, we just had one side of the restaurant blocked off that day. Apologies if that was not explained clearly to you. We take fair criticism on the chin where it is warranted...

Castlebar, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The building does date from the 1450's and you have to understand and accept that as you carry your bags up the stairs (there is no lift) and duck entering your room, however, on that understanding it is really excellent. The room we stayed in was excellently finished, and had some nice touches....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martin O
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Great to read you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Do hope you'll be back again before too long.

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We (2 adults and 2 children) visited for lunch on 2 January having heard good things about pub. We found a seat, ordered and then waited almost 40 minutes for the food to arrive. Being sat with two very hungry children, this wait wasn’t good and staff were unable to tell us when the food would be ready. When we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bathtraveller_01
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

We are very sorry. We had technical problems the lunchtime that you visited, hence the unacceptable wait. Completely understand your frustration, particularly adding hungry children into the mix. You did speak with the duty manager but asked to speak with the general manager too and were given a full refund. We can only apologise for the unfortunate errors made during...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

lovely old hotel with history and character, not suitable for disabled as no lift and lots of stairs but room spacious and clean with lovely mullioned windows, although the on suite was rather tiny and a bit of a squeeze, husband did not use shower due to his portly size! Very impressed with there dog policy and being allowed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barriper
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for such a great review. Apologies for the shower not being suitable for your husband - please ensure you mention needing a roomier en-suite should you book with us again, which we hope you do.

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The food was good. It was a shame that we had to wait 10 minutes for the chips that accompanied our steak to arrive! Service however was terrible. Rude barman and neither of the waitresses looked as though they wanted to be there. Couldn't open a tab either which was very inconvenient. Not sure if we would go there again....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andismrs
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

So sorry to read your review. Customer service should have been much better and apologies it wasn't. You should have been told you could have a tab - we just need to hold a credit card. We can only apologise and assure you the staff in question have been spoken with.

Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Took a short break in this hotel and it was delightful, the staff were friendly and very helpful, the food was excellent especially the freshly cooked breakfast. We had two rooms, one was a bit small but adequate, whilst the other was quite grand. The location, close to the cathedral, the Bishops Palace and the town centre was perfect. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DNorvill
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a terrific review. We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived slightly before the published check in time of 2pm and negotiated our way to the far end of the carpark - be prepared for a bit of reversing in or out of the carpark as it is very tight. We had booked a 4 poster room, as the room size is so much more that a double. Room1...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tommo2210
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Lovely review, thank you so much. We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and thanks for taking the time to write such a glowing review.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel
0.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wells
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
918 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 40 in Wells
287 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sherston Inn
The Sherston Inn
#23 of 40 in Wells
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Crown is a 15th century coaching inn overlooking the Market Place in the heart of Wells. The Crown offers affordable accommodation, great food and friendly service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot

Address: Market Place, Wells BA5 2RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Price Range: $95 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Wells & Anton`s Bistrot Hotel Wells
The Crown At Wells And Anton`s Bistrot
The Crown Hotel Wells
The Crown At Wells & Anton's Bistrot Somerset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms at the back will offer the best sleep”
 of 5 bubbles Investigatorgreat3, 1 week ago | Read review
“This is a hotel with a large modern restaurant in the city centre.”
 of 5 bubbles MLFDPF, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Room 1 has a four poster bed.”
 of 5 bubbles 847martino, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms at front overlook the Market Square which I guess could be noisy on a market morning although we've never suffered.”
 of 5 bubbles 363jacquelinem, Dec 14, 2016 | Read review
“We started on the top floor which was cold so asked to be moved. Ended up on the first floor which was a definite improvement.”
 of 5 bubbles AlisterC414, Dec 5, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay