We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Tordown Bed and Breakfast

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glastonbury
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Tordown Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 69: English reviews
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Comfortable quaint room ,very quiet , friendly owners , only the TV coming on in the night disturbed my sleep. This was easily fixed by unplugging it. Great breakfast good price , would come again. It's near the Centre by car or short walk . The house is big and lovely views from the front. A nice place to stay.

Helpful?
Thank alanflow
AngelsCalling, Owner at Tordown Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Alan. Glad we sorted out the TV problem while you were here, the energies of Glastonbury do funny things! Irrespective of this we are glad you enjoyed your stay and would come again. Love Cheryl More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Tordown is well placed near Chalice Wells and the bottom of the Tor and a ten minute walk into the town. The B&B is so very peaceful and tranquil, has a really great vibe. We slept exceptionally well, didn't hear a thing. The rooms were clean, spacious and bright and easy to get the right temperature to suit with the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katie B
AngelsCalling, Owner at Tordown Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello Katie Michael and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Tordown . We try to ensure we can meet as many needs as possible. Thank you for taking the time to do the review More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I couldn't have picked a better place to stay for my first visit to Glastonbury. About half a a mile or so from the High Street, it is easy to park and very well located for walks up the Tor and visits to Glastonbury itself. The Chalice Well is just a little way down the hill from Tordown. I had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lesley S
AngelsCalling, Owner at Tordown Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello Lesley Michael and I are pleased that you enjoyed Glastonbury and that you feel Tordown help make your stay More 

Peterborough & the Kawarthas, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2016

Lovely view of the countryside,quiet,clean.Cheryl and Michael excellent attention to all needs of their visitors...I look forward to my next visit to Glastonbury...and would love to stay at Tordown B&B

Helpful?
Thank Sylvia H
AngelsCalling, Owner at Tordown Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello Sylvia Michael and I are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and felt it worked well with your challenges . We look forward to seeing you again More 

Fredensborg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016

We have stayed several times at Tordown that is so cosy and lovely. The room was very clean, beautifully furnished, peaceful and very quiet. The beds are wonderful The breakfast is very good and we enjoy the peaceful music There are so many great places to visit in the area Felt at home and will highly recommend this comfortable B&B.... More 

Helpful?
Thank SteenFredensborg
AngelsCalling, Owner at Tordown Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello Steen , it was good to see you again , perhaps next time you can stay a little longer . I hope you had a great time during the rest of your hoiliday in the southwest More 

virgina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

I was so lucky to have found the perfect lodging for my first trip to Glastonbury. Cheryl and Michael are the perfect hosts for a b&b. Great cooks, non-intrusive and the creators of a peaceful and beautiful atmosphere surrounded by the sacred landscape of the Tor. My room was not ensuite but the shared bath had an enormous tub that... More 

Helpful?
Thank vickivet
AngelsCalling, Owner at Tordown Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your reviw. We are always glad that people enjoy sharing Tordown with us. Sorry you forgot your packed lunch More 

Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

Tordown b & b is very comfortable , clean, and wonderful! My friend and I stayed 3 lovely nights . The atmosphere is quiet and nurturing with a great location to easily walk up to the Tor and into the village to the Abbey and shops and restaurants . Cheryl and Michael were great hosts --giving directions and recommendations. And... More 

Helpful?
Thank ncthomps
AngelsCalling, Owner at Tordown Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. we are so glad that you enjoyed being here .I am sorry the weather forcast was rather incorrect it has been quite chilly since you left . Thank you for the invaluable advice about the family, everyone is home now More 

Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2015

Wow what can I say, a true lovely place to stay. The rooms were warm, very comfortable & 1st class. Cheryl & Michael were very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was organically awesome and we look forward to visiting them again.

Helpful?
Thank TheOrganicMan
AngelsCalling, Owner at Tordown Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you Organic Man for your appreciative comments. It was really delightful to have you both stay with us, people who really understand the benefits of organic produce, long may you organically farm in Australia. Look forward to seeing you when you both come over for the wedding next year and to hear how your new organic B&B enterprise goes... More 

Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015

Much enjoyed our brief stay and Cheryl and Michael's hospitality. Tordown is about a 15 minute walk from the town of Glastonbury which has a limited range of restaurants but diverse, alternative lifestyle, shops. Thank you for your kindness. Naomi & Richard

Helpful?
Thank Kyloer
AngelsCalling, Owner at Tordown Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello Naomi and Richard Thank you for taking the time to make a review it is appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Tordown and liked the ride in our latest green investment, our fabulous electric only Tesla car. It’s a great shame you did not think Tordown is 100% excellent value for money, of course it is... More 

Sussex
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015

Back to Tordown for our yearly visit. The weather was awful but the birds were happy to visit and munch all the seeds provided by Cheryl. We were lucky enough to see a long tailed tit this time along with the usual crowd of tits and finches. Tordown is unique in being the only place I have ever visited to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Girlbabar
AngelsCalling, Owner at Tordown Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you GirlBabar for your glowing words, it was truely a wet week, however the warmth of the winter, so far, has made up for it a little. The wildlife at Tordown is always something that brings Michael and I great pleasure and we are pleased our guests enjoy the birds and animals, with the rain you had a good... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glastonbury hotels
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
4.3 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
4.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
0.9 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
3.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St Anne's B&B
St Anne's B&B
#17 of 57 in Glastonbury
5.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
0.6 mi away
No. 51 Bed & Breakfast
No. 51 Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 57 in Glastonbury
5.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.7 mi away
Haydn House
Haydn House
#5 of 57 in Glastonbury
5.0 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersSilver level
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled on the southern slopes of Glastonbury Tor, we welcome you to our home to relax, unwind and take time to explore Glastonbury and the surrounding areas. Rest in our luxury ensuite rooms with comfortable beds. Simply while away the time watching the stunning views over the Somerset levels from our lounge or outside in the garden on sunny evenings. And before you leave, enjoy our sumptuous organic, fair-trade, local breakfast with fresh homemade bread. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tordown Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5 Ashwell Lane, Glastonbury BA6 8BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Glastonbury
Price Range: $52 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tordown Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Tordown Bed And Breakfast Glastonbury, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing