We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bath Priory

Save
Share
Weston Road, Bath BA1 2XT England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (748)
Room & Suite (333)
Dining (164)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
Read more
Updated 06/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Bath Priory
Updated 06/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#11 of 37 hotels in Bath
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Nestled within four acres of mature award-winning gardens and spacious terraces, The Bath Priory sets itself apart as a peaceful haven in a bustling city. The Georgian house of honey-coloured Bath stone enjoys a tranquil location just a short walk through Royal Victoria Park to Bath’s city centre. The award-winning spa has a selection of luxurious treatments, an indoor pool, pool-side sauna, elliptical steam pod and shower. From the moment you enter The Garden Spa by L’OCCITANE, fragrances transport you to Provence; the escape begins with scent. Every gesture, every ingredient, every ritual is drawn from a page of the L’OCCITANE grand herbarium, a resource of hundreds of essential oils and natural ingredients. Steeped in Roman history, the city of Bath is a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Roman Baths, Pump Rooms and Theatre Royal are noteworthy highlights alongside the city’s architectural merits including the Royal Crescent and The Circus.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Banquet room
Spa
Baggage storage
Wifi
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian
1,865Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,341
  • 310
  • 140
  • 46
  • 28
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
mmssabri wrote a review Nov 2020
London1 contribution1 helpful vote
Not as luxurious as advertised, entrance is dark and gloomy, lounge area is tiny! Outdoor pool not open! Housekeeping service not helpful Overall felt a place for older people to sit and have a drink then go home! The rooms are very old style and old furniture which doesn’t feel clean. No offer of late check outs and have to leave by 11 sharp! Bed very comfi,you have all toiletries you may need, tea and tasteful coffee available
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Severino Loi, Guest Services / Front Office at The Bath Priory
Responded 1 week ago
Dear mmssabri, thank you very much for providing us with your valuable review and feedback. The Bath Priory is a listed building, it reflects the era of when it was built and tries to replicate and maintain that original character. We appreciate that it may not appeal to all and we are aware that improvements need to be carefully planned and implemented. I am very sorry to learn that you did not find the housekeeping service to be helpful and that the outdoor pool was not open. We were operating on strict time slots for its use due to the government restrictions currently in place. The government regulations have also impacted on the times required to turn rooms around for the next arrivals which makes late check outs requests always very difficult to be met. However I am glad that you have found the quality of our bed to be comfortable and that the toiletries and the tea and coffee making facilities met with your expectations. Warmest regards
Read more
Jo R wrote a review Oct 2020
London, United Kingdom17 contributions1 helpful vote
I’ve never been so impressed with the subtle yet immaculate attention to detail. I am lactose intolerant but never like to make a “thing” of it. My partner asked me if I’d remembered to bring my lactose pills, which I hadn’t. When I ordered the onion soup with cheese scones I thought I’d just not eat the cheese, yet when they arrived the waiter quietly informed me it was made with vegan cheese. I couldn’t believe it, I hadn’t even said anything yet he’d heard and amended the dish so I could enjoy it. When it came to dessert he told me the chef had offered some poached pear with vegan chocolate ice cream. I was blown away by the service and the subtlety and so thankful that he made it seamless and not a “thing” at all. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Severino Loi, Guest Services / Front Office at The Bath Priory
Responded Oct 26, 2020
Dear JoRen90, Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that the team was able to deliver on your dietary requirements. We always strive to meet effortlessly with our gusts expectations and preferences, this is our privilege and prerogative. I sincerely hope that you will be visiting again and I am looking forward to welcoming you back. Warmest regards.
Read more
Ngarraud wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
Awful experience. We booked a room at the Bath Priory as we wanted to enjoy their famous Spa for the day. After driving 5 hours, we were exhausted and really looking forward to enjoying the spa, how disappointed we were. They were fully booked. We understand there are some capacity limit due to social distancing, but when you pay a very expensive hotel with Spa, you expect they keep at least some space for their customers. Or the minimum they can do is to make a call to check they dont want to use the spa, before accepting more booking. Or they keep it open later. But nothing, no call, no email. We are regular customers of Relais&Chateaux, but never the service was so poor. We went to other 5* hotels with Spa in the UK, and they always keep some time slots for their hotel customers.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Severino Loi, Guest Services / Front Office at The Bath Priory
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear ngarraud36, Thank you very much for posting your review. We would have indeed preferred that you had enjoyed all of our facilities. Your booking was made on an online platform (Expedia) on the same day of your arrival. We received your booking at around Midday and you did arrive few hours later. You are right with regard to some aspects of your visit, however, as you can appreciate, Spa treatments and Dining Room bookings have to be made in advance to avoid disappointment. Access to the Spa facilities have been restricted, to comply with the Government’s guidelines and measures to guarantee everybody’s safety. This has had an impact on the overall availability of spaces. It is very disappointing not to be able to offer all of our facilities and amenities during those very difficult and unprecedented times. Generally, not all of our residents choose to dine or use the Spa or book treatments but sometimes the opposite happens and then we have to deal with an increased demand. We do try our best to accommodate everyone’s preferences and requests. The team works relentlessly hard to achieve this objective and meet with all the guests’ requests. I am very sad that on this occasion we were unable to accommodate yours at such a short notice. Warmest regards.
Read more
goduts82 wrote a review Oct 2020
7 contributions3 helpful votes
You couldn't fault the food or service at this restaurant/hotel which is in beautiful surroundings . However it wasnt anything out of this world or special at all . Had better meals elsewhere for a fraction of the price and the portion sizes were very small . Nice place but well overpriced for what it is.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Severino Loi, Guest Services / Front Office at The Bath Priory
Responded Oct 5, 2020
Dear goduts82, Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay but very sad that you have found the Priory overpriced. I would like to reassure you that our pricing is in line with current market demands and with our competitors. I hope that you will be visiting again and I am looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest regards
Read more
TPF51 wrote a review Sep 2020
Sherborne, United Kingdom1 contribution
Beautiful historic building. Excellently maintained inside and externally. Fine gardens. Nice spa. Food excellent. Restaurant staff very professional and charming. Not far from Bath centre. Parling facilities at the hotel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Severino Loi, Guest Services / Front Office at The Bath Priory
Responded Oct 5, 2020
Dear TPF51, thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your visit, eloquently detailed by your much appreciated comments. I am looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest regards
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$192 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSomersetBath
NUMBER OF ROOMS
33
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Bath Priory
Which popular attractions are close to The Bath Priory?
Nearby attractions include Escape4Fun (0.5 miles), No. 1 Royal Crescent (0.7 miles), and Royal Victoria Park (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Bath Priory?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Bath Priory?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Bath Priory?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Bath Priory?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rooted Cafe & Supper Room, MeatBusters Burger Bar, and The Green Bird Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Bath Priory?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a sauna during their stay.
Is The Bath Priory located near the city center?
Yes, it is 1.0 miles away from the center of Bath.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Bath Priory?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Bath Priory?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Bath Priory?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Roman Baths (1.2 miles), Bath Abbey (1.2 miles), and Bath Street (1.1 miles).
Does The Bath Priory have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.