We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bath Priory

Save
Share
Weston Road, Bath BA1 2XT England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$231
View deal
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (753)
Room & Suite (335)
Dining (168)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
Read more
Updated 06/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Bath Priory
Updated 06/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#14 of 36 hotels in Bath
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Nestled within four acres of mature award-winning gardens and spacious terraces, The Bath Priory sets itself apart as a peaceful haven in a bustling city. The Georgian house of honey-coloured Bath stone enjoys a tranquil location just a short walk through Royal Victoria Park to Bath’s city centre. The award-winning spa has a selection of luxurious treatments, an indoor pool, pool-side sauna, elliptical steam pod and shower. From the moment you enter The Garden Spa by L’OCCITANE, fragrances transport you to Provence; the escape begins with scent. Every gesture, every ingredient, every ritual is drawn from a page of the L’OCCITANE grand herbarium, a resource of hundreds of essential oils and natural ingredients. Steeped in Roman history, the city of Bath is a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Roman Baths, Pump Rooms and Theatre Royal are noteworthy highlights alongside the city’s architectural merits including the Royal Crescent and The Circus.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Banquet room
Spa
Baggage storage
Wifi
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian
1880Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,349
  • 311
  • 145
  • 47
  • 28
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sally S wrote a review Jun 11
35 contributions11 helpful votes
We chose to celebrate our wedding at the Bath Priory having visited many times over the years. Due to COVID we had to delay the date three times but Hannah (the events coordinator) remained flexible, supportive and calm. We started our celebrations with a drinks reception held in the stunningly beautiful gardens, accompanied by some extremely tasty canapés. A delicious lunch was served in the closed off Terrace section of the main dining room with chef accommodating numerous dietary requirements. We felt that we had been allocated specific members of staff for our party and everyone agreed that service was first class. Little touches such as keeping food warm whilst parents had to attend to young children, were greatly appreciated. After lunch we were given picnic blankets so that we could sit out on the lawn whilst the young and not so young, enjoyed a game of croquet. A wonderfully relaxed end to the day. When family left, we checked in for the night and were delighted to receive a complimentary room upgrade (Lobelia). What a fantastic room, beautifully and tastefully furnished, spotlessly clean and with fabulous views over the garden. We ordered room service which arrived promptly and was tasty. Breakfast was served in the main restaurant and again was delicious. Thank you to everyone for making our wedding day so memorable.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
FRN2013 wrote a review Jun 11
Bath, United Kingdom92 contributions56 helpful votes
Upon booking a table my husband was asked if it was for a special occasion (it was) but during our evening there we did not feel we were treated any differently, so why ask? In fact, we felt ignored most of the time, eg we had to seek out a waiter to order champagne on the terrace, ask for water when eating. When paying £19 for a glass of champagne we would have expected a complementary small bowl of olives or nuts but nothing accompanied our aperitif. In fact, we had to attract a waiter’s attention to order some nibbles and had almost finished the champagne by the time these arrived. We had several different waiters taking and bringing orders and think that assigning one or two waiters to each group of customers would provide better service. Overall, a beautiful setting, delicious food but poor service and not worth the high cost.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Go to a cheaper restaurant in town with better service and more ambience.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Gray Richard , Guest Services / Front Office at The Bath Priory
Responded 3 days ago
Dear FRN, It was a shame that we didn't deliver the service on the day you were with us, the restaurant team go a long way to make sure everyone is looked after and cared for. We are sorry for missing the importance of your special occasion. We will take your feedback in the spirit it is given and thank you for your lovely comments about the setting and food. Kind regards
Read more
matthewc6 wrote a review Jun 6
Willesden, United Kingdom7 contributions
+1
The hotel is perfectly situated to access all the main attractions in Bath via a short 15 minute walk through Victoria park. Equally, being a little outside the main city centre itself, you can properly relax if you want to away from the more touristy areas. The hotel itself is fantastic, the gardens are stunning with plenty of places to sit and enjoy. Their other facilities in terms of spa, 2 restaurants and bar are all great. We stayed in early June while there were still notable covid restrictions and limited capacity for most of the facilities. If this remains the case we would recommend calling ahead and booking. However, the staff were all amazing and accommodated us well while keeping within the covid rules. The very nice staff were one of the biggest pluses to this hotel. Highly recommend a visit
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Steph wrote a review May 2021
Leeds, United Kingdom1 contribution
We paid £350 to stay at the hotel for a night and weren’t able to have a drink out in the sunshine. We were asked to find a waiter to see if there was a table outside to have a drink at. Nobody seemed to be responsible and when we finally did find the person in charge, were told that the tables were all booked by people having afternoon tea but we could sit on the floor on the grass if we liked. I understand that the hotel is a business and wants to cater for everyone but I think it’s pretty poor when you are a resident spending that kind of money to use a room and can’t even sit at a table outside. We ventured into the centre of town and spent our money there instead. Not the kind of set up I’d expect from a place charging premium prices. The experience was less than premium for guests.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Ryan wrote a review May 2021
Esher, United Kingdom1 contribution
This is definitely NOT a 5-star hotel. Whilst it is in lovely settings, the grounds are amazing and the venue is super clean, it does lack many things. Firstly, at an effective £600/night it is way too expensive for what it offers. No guaranteed parking, no separate shower in the bathroom, no double vanity, etc. When we arrived our room wasn’t ready, we waited for 45mins and no one even attended to us with a drink or anything. We constantly had to press them for updates so we would be in time for an afternoon appointment - not good! In the rooms, we constantly had to ask to replace coffees, waters, etc. The f&b service generally is very slow and even though they are friendly, it felt to us they constantly ran out of items (like salmon at breakfast!) and various wines on the menu. Overall it was nice to visit but I think you can get much better value for money elsewhere. For us, it’s probably a case of ‘been there, tried that, won’t come back’
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$192 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSomersetBath
NUMBER OF ROOMS
33
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Bath Priory
Which popular attractions are close to The Bath Priory?
Nearby attractions include Escape4Fun (0.5 miles), No. 1 Royal Crescent (0.7 miles), and Royal Victoria Park (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Bath Priory?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Bath Priory?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Bath Priory?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Bath Priory?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rooted Cafe & Supper Room, MeatBusters Burger Bar, and The Green Bird Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Bath Priory?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a sauna during their stay.
Is The Bath Priory located near the city center?
Yes, it is 1.0 miles away from the center of Bath.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Bath Priory?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Bath Priory?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Bath Priory?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Roman Baths (1.2 miles), Bath Abbey (1.2 miles), and Bath Street (1.1 miles).
Does The Bath Priory have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.