We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

972 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 931: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The hotel is extremely hard to get to down scarily steep and narrow roads. On arrival on the 16th August we were told our booking was for the 13th September and that they only had one room left ( a double room) which meant my mum had to sleep on the floor. Our room was the smallest room I've ever... More 

Helpful?
Thank Millyk123
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Lovely location, comfortable room although the décor is tired. Trains at the bottom of the hill can be disturbing but are not too frequent or late at night. We did not anticipate a Friday wedding with disco but that is a risk anywhere. Good service and good breakfast, although more choice for the continental would be good. We had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank DAVIDWARD2013
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DAVIDWARD2013 Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay at the Limpley Stoke Hotel.Your kind comments are appreciated and I will pass them on to the chef and restaurant staff. Thank you for choosing the Limpley SToke hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards Sabrina Cox Guest Relations Manager More 

Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

When I read all the adverse reviews on tripadvisor, I was a wee bit apprehensive about my stay here. However, as my nephew had chosen this venue for his wedding, I had to book in. I needn't have worried! My sister and brother-in-law met me at Bath Spa railway station so my journey there was simple. On arrival, I was... More 

Helpful?
Thank 640crispin
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 640crispin Thank you very much for your kind review following your stay at the Limpley Stoke Hotel for your nephew's wedding. I was delighted to read that our staff were friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed both the wedding your sightseeing in Bath and the trip to the theatre. The Limpley Stoke hotel is in an amazing rural... More 

Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

So disappointing. Staff are brilliant - friendly, helpful, hardworking, but not backed up by the management. What a shambles. A wedding party in the hotel as we arrived, numerous people wanting to check in - one poor soul handling them all. Bags very kindly carried to our 3rd floor room as lift out of order (has been for two months... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravellersWarning
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TravellersWarning Thank you for posting your review and for your kind comments regarding our team of staff who are as you so rightly say friendly helpful and hardworking. I was however disappointed to read of your disappointment with other aspects of your stay and for this I would sincerely apologise. We are in the process of installing a new... More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The lift is still broken, and there are a lot of stairs and uneven floors in this old building. On the plus side, our room had everything we required... a very well stocked tea/coffee tray, shower, very large and comfortable bed, shower room and view. On the negative side, the breakfast was a disappointment. The buffet items looked a bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank anorthernlight
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear anorthernlight, Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at the Limpley Stoke Hotel. Although I was pleased to read that your room had everything that you required I was very disappointed to read that overall we did not meet or exceed your expectations and for this I apologise. We are a very... More 

Redding, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel can only be truly appreciated with a visit. The photos posted hooked me but it's even better in person. Recommend executive room on top floor corner very spacious and nearly 180 degree views. Cost is only a slight increase from standard room and was the biggest room I stayed in while in the UK. Could have sat for... More 

Helpful?
Thank cme410s
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear cme410s Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay here at the Limpley Stoke. It is always gratifying when we hear that someone has really enjoyed their visit. We are extremely lucky to have such a beautiful Georgian hotel in such an amazing setting. The Limpley Stoke valley is truly stunning and many of... More 

Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived here Sunday July 3rd the day after we got married until Wednesday 6th for a mini moon and what an amazing place to have gone too! After going up the steep hill to the hotel it looked beautiful. We checked in and found out we were in the older part of the hotel, on the left side on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sykes9
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sykes9 Than you very much for your kind review following your recent stay with us. I was so very pleased to read that you enjoyed your "Mini Moon" . Our hotel is a beautiful old Georgian building with amazing views of the Limpley Stoke valley and is a perfect place to unwind and relax yet still within easy access... More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

stayed for 2 nights in a executive room, cant fault the room it was lovely with an amazing view. checking in took for ever and it was very old fashioned. The lift was broken which we were not told about until we got there! we were on the 3rd floor so we had to walk, which sometimes was a little... More 

Helpful?
Thank michelle w
LatonaLeisureGroup, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear michelle w Thank you for your recent review I was glad to read that your allocated room was satisfactory and that you enjoyed both the breakfast and the views. However I would like to apologise for any other issues that you encountered which did not meet our usual high level of standards or customer service. We are awaiting delivery... More 

Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Thank you for making our wedding day so special! We had a meal in the restaurant the night before. The food was excellent and the staff very accommodating. The setting is stunning and the wedding planner (Karen) was great. We had a perfect day. The table decorations were laid out exactly as requested with some added touches which were lovely.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michelle D Thank you very much for your recent review. I was delighted to read that your wedding day went so well. We consider it an honour and a privilege to be the hotel chosen to host such an important occasion and strive to ensure that the days goes as smoothly as possible and that both the bride and... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was quite the place to see, and it has its own story to tell (the staff can provide a pleasant little paper on the history). Staff somewhat fairly friendly, and the room comfortable (despite a little bit of difficulty getting up the stairs). There was quite a bit of difficulty with regards to reaching the hotel, however. Twice we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Randy M
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Randy M Thank you for your recent review. The Limpley Stoke is a magnificent Georgian house set in the beautiful Limpley Stoke valley and has had a very interesting past being both a family home a Spa treatment Hospital and now a hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, found our staff to be friendly... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

281 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (258)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (86)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
6.8 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#29 of 32 in Bath
3.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Bath Waterside
3.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#3 of 32 in Bath
5.0 of 5 stars 1,060 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 32 in Bath
3.5 of 5 stars 2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel is a stunning hotel near Bath which is just a ten minute drive away, the hotel occupies a delightful village setting in an area of outstanding natural beauty.Overlooking the spectacular Limpley Stoke Valley the hotel is a stunning property with extensive gardens and elegant spacious public rooms. It offers the opportunity to relax in the peaceful Georgian lounge in front of the roaring log fires during the winter months. A Unique facility is the hotels own ‘Hop Pole Inn’ at the bottom of the drive. Formerly a Monks retreat, this traditional 16th century coaching inn has character and charm together with a range of real ales and superb food in a relaxed atmosphere.Privately owned and managed, The Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel combines quality accommodation, offering friendly attentive service with a warm West Country welcome. The Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel is set in a prime location on the edge of the Georgian city of Bath, and is ideal for exploring the South West. In addition attractions such as Longleat, Wells Cathedral, Glastonbury, Stonehenge, The Cotswolds and the many architectural sights of the city of Bath itself are within easy reach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel

Address: Woods Hill, Bath BA2 7FZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Price Range: $86 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bath
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay