Brooks Guesthouse

Brooks Guesthouse

Traveler (364)
Panorama at the Brooks Guesthouse
360
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (299)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

$102
Easy and fast booking
Only 1 left at
$85
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 18 guest houses in Bath
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.6
Value
4.1
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Boutique Guesthouse in Bath city center, featuring 22 unique & individually styled en-suite rooms. Situated 2 mins from the Royal Crescent and a flat 7 min walk to town. Serving award winning breakfasts. Bronze winner of Avon Tourism awards 2022/23 . Cov-19 prepared with H&S risk assessment via Visit England Tourism board.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free internet
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Sofa
Wardrobe / closet
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Residential Neighborhood
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Polish

Location

1 Crescent Gardens Upper Bristol Road, Bath BA1 2NA England
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 88 out of 100
88
Bristol Airport
14.6 mi
See all flights
Cardiff-Wales Airport
42.1 mi
See all flights
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,482 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Brooks Guesthouse garners high praise for its exceptional service, with guests often noting the staff's warmth and efficiency, despite occasional slow breakfast service. The guesthouse's value is lauded by many travelers, who appreciate the reasonable pricing. Its prime location is consistently celebrated, offering easy access to local attractions. Guests revel in the charming atmosphere and cleanliness, with the spotless and well-appointed rooms receiving particular accolades. Additionally, the amenities, including delectable breakfast options, contribute to the guesthouse's appeal.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Charming
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
1,482Review15Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 846
  • 426
  • 140
  • 48
  • 22
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Barkerlo wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a small but perfectly run B&B, only ten minutes from the center of Bath, 3 minutes from the Royal Crescent and parking nearby, although you have to buy a permit but that is the same for everywhere in Bath. We had a small double on the first floor, clean and perfect with an eclectic mix of furniture, it was nice to have some character and the bed was amazing. But what sets this apart is the hospitality from Patricia and Magdalena they make you feel very welcome and like nothing would be too much trouble.
We had the afternoon tea, it was pretty much free with a bottle of prosecco as well. It was fine for what we wanted on arrival, yes it’s not the most luxurious afternoon tea but its Cake, its tasteful, well-presented and it was included in our deal. We had this in the lounge area and it was very pleasant after a long drive.
Breakfast was nice, help yourself to juices, cereal, yogurt and pastries as well as a choice of hot breakfasts. Staff were so friendly, and the honesty bar was a nice touch as well.
I cannot fault this hotel - takes peoples reviews on board but also take into account the price and location for what you are getting. It’s a cosy bed for the night whilst you explore beautiful Bath, with a friendly personable service.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel may avoid the road noise.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lee wrote a review Oct 2020
Swindon, United Kingdom1,018 contribution221 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked the Brooks Guesthouse hotel for one night on our recent wedding anniversary, choosing the special offer with Four Poster Superior King room, afternoon tea, Prosecco, breakfast and late checkout. Unfortunately there were no superior king rooms available so we accepted a twin room made into a double which was completely fine for our one night stay.

The guesthouse is about 10 minutes walk from the train station and really easy to find. The Royal Crescent is at the rear of the building just a couple of minutes walk up the hill.

Check-in was a simple affair following current Covid-19 guidelines, our room was ready and left unlocked so we didn’t need to touch anything at reception whilst we registered. Our double/twin was quite small but the bathroom was quite big running the whole length of the room and contained a good quality glass shower cubicle. The boutique decor of the room is charming and the antique furniture pieces compliments the style of the building well.

We booked our cream tea in the downstairs breakfast room for 14:30 and this was served promptly at that time, the food was nicely prepared and served with fresh tea/coffee. Once we finished this we wondered back to our room to drink our Prosecco via the well stocked honesty bar. The Guest living Room is a cosy and comfortable place to relax, the fire was lit during our stay so nice and toasty.

Next morning at 09:30 as requested after a brief tap on the door the amazing breakfast hamper was delivered and left outside. The hamper contained loads of goodies including bacon baguettes, finger rolls, cereals, fresh milk, orange & apple juice in reusable glass bottles. There was more than enough food for two and we didn’t finish everything. We really enjoyed our breakfast hamper it’s something a bit different and certainly something we’ve never experienced before.

Had a lovely stay at the Brooks Guesthouse, brilliant value for money, good location, polite and very well organised staff.

Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
Alison Cox wrote a review Jul 2022
9 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed one night whilst meeting up with friends. The room was spacious and clean and the bed was very comfortable. All the staff were very welcoming and helpful. The parking permit was very appreciated.
Breakfast was very good with a wide range of options on the menu.
The only downfall was that the breakfast room was very noisy with a lot of noise coming from the kitchen. At times we couldn't hear each other speak over the sounds of crockery and cutlery being washed stacked and sorted. Honestly it sounds trivial but it was really loud and we didn't need the piped music as well!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tilly C wrote a review Oct 2020
Brighton, United Kingdom124 contributions31 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for 2 nights stay over my birthday through the Wowcher deal with breakfast, prosecco and afternoon tea. Beds were comfy and the location was great only a 10 mins walk to the centre and you get a breakfast hamper delivered to your door due to COVID. But the room (room 9) smelt of bad drainage for 2 days. Theres a building site opposite, the afternoon tea had dry sandwiches and they charge £10 a night for parking. We did have a lovely time in bath though.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dmorgan202 wrote a review Sep 2020
Liverpool, United Kingdom187 contributions188 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for two nights. We managed to get a parking permit (I believe they are limited) for £10 per night which meant we could part on the side street otherwise parking would have been very expensive.

Rooms are tightly packed and we were on the top level up a number of steep stairs (be aware if you have any walking difficulties). Our room was ok - compact but with kettle, tv and chairs and everything seemed clean. Bed was not particularly comfortable but ok.

Shower was hot though not very powerful. Had some nice toiletries and towels were nice and fluffy and very clean.

Guesthouse is a 15 minute walk into the centre of town. We didn’t order breakfast as they are only doing continental hampers which we thought was expensive at over £10.

We did get 2 small bags of M&Ms from the ‘trust’ shop in the hotel only to find out at check out that these were charged at £2 EACH!! Given you can buy a big family bag for £1 in the shops we felt this was daylight robbery and we didn’t appreciate such a blatant rip off from a guesthouse.

If we returned to Bath it’s doubtful we’d go back here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Oceanwanderer61 wrote a review Sep 2020
Lynsted, United Kingdom233 contributions52 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The pros, pleasant and welcoming staff, lovely breakfast hamper, and ideally situated for exploring the city; also within 10 minutes walking distance of the Royal Crescent and surrounding parks, and botanical garden’s. Cons, parking difficult, limited to 15 parking permits, and car parking prices expensive @ £25/nt. We ended up parking our car in Weston rd, out of the restricted zone, about 10 minutes walk, from the guest house.

The outside of the building is architecturally in keeping with the city, beautiful and full of character. Not too impressed with our room, on the
housekeeping front, not cleaned thoroughly, need to work on their sanitising and general deep cleaning.

I am an Hotelier, so maybe a little too particular.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lauren wrote a review Oct 2020
7 contributions
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I am so disappointed with my stay here. We booked through wowcher for a friends birthday and we were told a cream tea and breakfast hamper and it was not what was advertised. The cream tea was not freshly baked it was clearly from a supermarket and the sandwiches were awful as you can see! The mattress was so hard and the walls are so thin we heard some else’s phone go off and stupid o’clock! The room was freezing, we used the blanket and we both had to sleep in our jeans and jumpers as it was so cold and there wasn’t a heating option. The breakfast was again so disappointing and my friend is a veggie and she got a cream cheese half roll the brioche was hard and old. Also we were shocked that the bowl was dirty and thought that because of covid it would be extra clean. I am shocked with how bad it was and it wasn’t worth it at all! I have emailed with wowcher and brooks guest house and they refuse to take any responsibility, they offered us a night for free fair enough but why would I want to go to a place that has already done this? Pay for fuel and parking to get there and be disappointed again? They refused a refund as we “ate their food and drink” and “use their light and heat”. They also said that they wouldn’t do anything because there staff were there. They were hardly there and wasn’t helpful in the slightest. Over all a awful experience and I would not recommend. DONT GO!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carla Brooks, Owner at Brooks Guesthouse
Responded Oct 15, 2020
Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay I know that you asked for a refund after you had stayed via email to wowcher customer service team But you are asking for a refund after you have slept in the bedroom and consumed all the food and beverage , Therefore you have consumed heat light power laundry and had benefit of staff serving you . It was during that time that you should have raised your issues so we can rectify it . Our shift patterns are 8am to 8pm so our staff were there for 12 hours and then another 12 hours so they were actually working .throughout your stay. We make our own scones sandwiches cake breakfast bars and fruit compote & fruit shots , We also make breakfast muffins . Our chef is experienced having worked with us since 2008 . We are genuinely sorry you did not enjoy your stay but asking for a refund for £99 when you have stayed and eaten everything & drank a bottle of prosecco .
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emma P wrote a review Aug 2020
Norwich, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is a great location for the city Centre - we parked our car and walked everywhere we needed to during our stay.

The room had a comfortable bed and decent shower but seemed a little more tired than we expected given it is at the pricier end of guest house accommodation. There were holes in both the bed cover and curtains and it felt not quite as sparkling clean as it could be. Also the room was very dark which made it a bit gloomy.

We were given a breakfast hamper instead of breakfast in the dining room which we understood due to Covid measures, however no trays were provided so we ate our breakfast sat on our bed off our laps. There was a dressing table which we could have sat at to eat but only one chair was left in room

Overall not a bad stay but it didn’t quite live up to the rest of our visit to Bath which is a beautiful city to visit.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alison wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at the Brooks guest house in Bath for two nights with family we had a twin room on the top floor I was glad of the fan as the room got quite hot.The room was very clean and had all the facilities needed.The receptionist was very friendly and explained everything to us on arrival, we were able to purchase a parking permit for the two nights which was very good value for money. The breakfast hamper was very nice with a good variety of food,(bacon sandwiches, croissants, cereal, yogurt with granola,apples, orange juice, apple juice, tea & Coffee) I was not really impressed with the afternoon tea sandwiches They could have had a better choice as not all a fan of the fillings but the cake and scones were very nice. The guest house is 10min walk into bath city which good. Would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rockydime wrote a review Sep 2021
Norwich, United Kingdom6 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Recently stayed here for a four night stay and for what we paid ( £115 per night ) i was reasonably satisfied but this is not a boutique hotel and also the breakfast is not a breakfast for foodies which they advertise on there web site. The good points are that they are top notch staff and nothing is too much trouble. Comfy big beds ( we stayed in four poster room) and comfy pillows . good shower with plenty of hot water. I just feel the parts we see of the hotel needs some money spent on re decoration and general maintenance, just seems a but tired. In our bedroom some furniture was marked and tatty and the bathroom pretty basic, also please change the curtains , we had the same curtain in our bathroom as the bedroom and had to wedge it behind the window latch for a bit of privacy. Now to the breakfast which is OK but not up to" foodie " standards which they advertise , when ever you serve hot food it should always be served on a hot plate ( not cold ) but we found ourselves rushing our food as it went cold quickly. Also was offered two types of bacon , either smoked streaky or unsmoked basic bacon ( strange) .......and i mean basic ... please get a better quality of bacon , they also offered toast every morning with breakfast but every time it was brought to the table it was cold and it was the really thin cheap cut bread , please get some thick bread and serve it warm. The buffet was ok and enough choice ( just) , the yogurt with a fruit base was nice but full greek yogurt would be nicer and not the cheap alternative greek style yogurt. Not enough pastries on offer either , only some cheap buns which could of come out of a multi pack from Aldi ! Apples and tangerines on offer but apples had seen better days. Dont want to be too harsh on this place as the staff are lovely but just needs to up its game.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
laurs40 asked a question Oct 2023
Gillingham, United Kingdom25 contributions17 helpful votes
Do you supply towels ?
Answer from dwilliamson044
3 contributions
Yes they do supply towels.
chris1SG asked a question Jan 2023
London, United Kingdom82 contributions12 helpful votes
Is this dog friendly?
Answer from Carla B
Bath, United Kingdom2 contributions
hi Chris we only allow guide dogs sorry
Dawn M asked a question Jun 2022
1 contribution
Are there fridges in the rooms?
Answer from Royzee
Suffield, Connecticut205 contributions283 helpful votes
We didn’t have one. There’s a self-service honor bar in the breakfast room. I ended up filling a glass with ice from that fridge; bringing the ice filled glass to my room for my beverages.
aleashaT13 asked a question Sep 2020
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
I have emailed twice if you could call thanks
Answer from Brooks G
4 contributions
We do reply to all e-mails. Please e-mail us and we will get back to you ASAP.
aleashaT13 asked a question Sep 2020
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
I cannot get through, have called over 30 times, is there a reason?
Answer from Carla B
Bath, United Kingdom2 contributions
we have a technical problem with the phones can you email me your number and i can call you
silverfoxes1 wrote a tip May 11
Bristol, England66 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book with hotel direct and breakfast is included "
Read full review
Rob Corder wrote a tip Mar 2024
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"***BEWARE*** - MISSING PERSONAL BELONGINGS"
Read full review
Liz W wrote a tip Feb 2024
5 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The park and ride is well priced but not very tourist friendly, there is a bit of a walk from the nearest stop, need a suitcase with wheels."
Read full review
kevin d wrote a tip Dec 2023
Cardiff, United Kingdom24 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking in nearest car park was £18.00 for 24 hours. "
Read full review
Wendolla wrote a tip Dec 2023
Guildford, United Kingdom49 contributions29 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking in Charlotte Street carpark far end Recommend short cut through path to the hotel."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bath area.
PRICE RANGE
$105 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
brooks guesthouse hotel bath
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSomersetBath
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BROOKS GUESTHOUSE - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Brooks Guesthouse
Which popular attractions are close to Brooks Guesthouse?
Nearby attractions include Royal Victoria Park (0.1 miles), Herschel Museum of Astronomy (0.2 miles), and No. 1 Royal Crescent (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Brooks Guesthouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a lounge, breakfast buffet, and free internet access.
Which room amenities are available at Brooks Guesthouse?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Brooks Guesthouse?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Brooks Guesthouse?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Brooks Guesthouse?
Conveniently located restaurants include Crescent Restaurant & Bar, The Green Bird Cafe, and The Scallop Shell.
Is Brooks Guesthouse located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Bath.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Brooks Guesthouse?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Brooks Guesthouse?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Roman Baths (0.5 miles), Bath's Old Orchard Street Theatre (0.6 miles), and Bath Abbey (0.6 miles).
All Bath HotelsBath Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BathHotels near Brooks Guesthouse
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars