We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Windsor

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Windsor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

694 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 673: English reviews
Plymouth
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was pleasant, overlooking a surprisingly quiet street. The hotel is behind on it's maintenance and the staircase is a liability - stair-rods loos and holes in the carpet on the stair nosings. All because someone has been too lazy t move the carpet every year. The continental breakfast was goo and the staff very friendly. The local Alistair Sawday... More 

Helpful?
Thank MajorMitchell
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stumbled upon the Windsor late on a rainy night thanks to Bookings.com. We were so pleased to have a change from the cold, sterile environment of the large chain hotels, and the Windsor did not disappoint. The hotel staff is just lovely, very helpful and accommodating. The location is wonderful! It was a short walk to the Boater for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roxylg
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here with my Mum for 2 nights recently. I called to make the reservation and was greeted by a very helpful man, Michael. We were lucky enough to meet him in person too. :) Just before the break, an email came through confirming the stay and saying they were looking forward to meeting us - what a lovely,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vikki W
TheWindsor, General Manager at The Windsor, responded to this review

Well we are all just delighted with your review! It was our pleasure to meet you and we are so pleased you had such a fantastic time staying at The Windsor. Nothing is ever too much trouble we are all only too happy to help our guests with anything they may need to ensure they get the best out of... More 

Kingston upon Hull
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sorry to say that at £200.50 per night for two The Windsor was a disappointment even if that included cooked breakfast (parking was an additional £12 per day - even from as late as 3.30pm on the Friday). Whilst the location could hardly be bettered – it’s a five minute walk into the centre of Bath, I’m afraid other aspects... More 

Helpful?
Thank AHabergham
TheWindsor, General Manager at The Windsor, responded to this review

I am sorry you were disapointed with your stay. I would just like to clarify a few points. As you mention we are right in the city centre there is therefore no free parking for being situated in this very convenient location. We offer Parking Permits for £12 per night which are valid from check in until check out the... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful, traditional, Georgian hotel. Very comfortable, cosy, super clean, just like being at home. Hotel staff were excellent, polite, kind and very accommodating. Our room was right on the top floor, a lot of steps to climb but the views were incredible, we were very fortunate to have the sun shining through our window each morning. It was very pleasant.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kaps D
TheWindsor, General Manager at The Windsor, responded to this review

What a fabulous review - we are all so thrilled you had a great time! The views as you point out are stunning from the top floor rooms and makes the climb up the stairs so worth it! Really pleased you enjoyed your breakfast we source our ingredients from local butchers and bakery, our breakfasts also feature delicious Burford Brown... More 

hopkins67
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked a last minute getaway to bath What a great find,from checkin to check out Staff ere very friendly and took an interest in your stay Room cosy very clean and warm Only moan really picky would have been nice to have had bottled water in rooms Parking no problem and permit suited us cheaper than prev hotel parking Great... More 

Helpful?
Thank hopkins67
TheWindsor, General Manager at The Windsor, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review we are so pleased you had a fantastic break and enjoyed the service. More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was imacculate, the staff were polite efficient and interested. The room I had was at the top of the building , a bit of a climb but I liked the fact you felt part of the building and could appreciate some of its history. The breakfast included was a very good continental with the option of a cooked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sally1234512345
TheWindsor, General Manager at The Windsor, responded to this review

So pleased you had a good time and found the hotel to be immaculate! There are quite a few stairs to the top floor but these rooms have some lovely views of Bath and the surrounding hills! Hope to see you again. More 

Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely hotel, beautifully decorated rooms with everything and more I needed for a very comfortable, all be it last minute stay over in Bath. Room, including shower room was beautifully decorated, clean and warm. Breakfast was a continental style but was exactly all I needed, while other options were available. Fantastic location too and only a 5 minute walk from... More 

Helpful?
Thank tjc334
TheWindsor, General Manager at The Windsor, responded to this review

Delighted that you enjoyed the location of the hotel - we are on the stunning Great Pulteney street - a beautiful boulevard of Georgian Terraced Town houses (The Windsor being included) so nice and peaceful yet the buzz of Bath's main attractions all within each walking distance. Do come back again! More 

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

All the staff were wonderful, very helpful and made us feel special, the accommodation including our room (Laura),was spotless and comfortable.our continental breakfast was adequate with the option of having a choice from the hot menue at a small charge,I can recommend the eggs floret inevitable it was delicious, we were worried about the parking but the staff were very... More 

Helpful?
Thank marytturner
TheWindsor, General Manager at The Windsor, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing The Windsor to celebrate your anniversary. Bath is such a beautiful romantic city just perfect for celebrating those special occasions. I am very pleased the staff looked after you well! More 

Dunkeswell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Booked the Windsor and it stated there was parking and breakfast was included. On arriving we couldn't see where to park so we parked our car in the circle at the top of the road whilst we checked in and paid £5 only to find out we had to pay another £12 for a parking permit! I wouldn't mind if... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carol M
TheWindsor, General Manager at The Windsor, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed the four poster room and the pillows (all new just this summer - they are lovely). Sorry the charges for breakfast and parking were not clear to you when you booked. We do display the information on confirmations and online but I understand it is easy to overlook this. Parking permits are £12 per night and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

136 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (121)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 33 in Bath
1,235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#3 of 33 in Bath
1,121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#42 of 194 in Bath
255 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 194 in Bath
1,000 reviews
0.0 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#15 of 194 in Bath
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Location, Location, Location. The Windsor, a truly superb Grade 1 listed Georgian Townhouse on Great Pulteney Street, arguably one of the best streets in Bath and one of the finest boulevards in Europe.Just two minutes level walk to the city centre and tourist attractions such as the famous Roman Baths, Abbey and Thermae Spa. Two minutes to the huge variety of shops and diverse range of restaurants Bath has to offer, we are the perfect choice for both leisure and business guests.The Windsor houses 15 individually styled ensuite bedrooms. Period features, free wifi, air conditioning, flatscreen TV, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, mini safe and ironing board come as standard. The addition of thick soft fluffy towels, cosy dorma duvets, pillows and luxury Gilchrist and Soames toiletries complete tha package and add to the guest experience. Acclaimed for our warm and friendly staff, we are always ready with a smile and happy to help with anything from restaurant suggestions to planning your onward journey. We pride ourselves in our customer service and along with our award winning breakfasts, our aim is to send you home with a desire to return. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Windsor

Address: 69 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Price Range: $121 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windsor Hotel Bath
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Windsor staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Windsor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We were on 2nd floor front. Sash windows open so you can dump the escess heat”
 of 5 bubbles MajorMitchell, 1 week ago | Read review
“Ask if you like a bath - not all rooms have one. Our room was under the kitchen so we heard early breakfast preparation.”
 of 5 bubbles AHabergham, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Higher floors have great views, especially back of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles , 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Check where the room is ,it is a climb to the top rooms with a narrow and steep stair. No lift. Georgian building! Very elegant”
 of 5 bubbles Sally1234512345, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for a south facing room...... much more natural light and less noise too.”
 of 5 bubbles tjc334, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay